Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge and San Francisco

Excellent for short break visit to Scarborough.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
We wanted a really nice hotel for a trip down memory lane i.e. A visit to Scarborough about 50 years since the last visit. It worked perfectly with a good view from our room. We would have liked a larger bed and better heating in the bay window area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stratfod on Avon

Family Room

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Very friendly staff and plenty of them
Cons: A lift
Location: Located on cliff with plenty of trams to beach and promanade. Lots to do on sea front, very sandy beach. Boat rides and harbour area
Stayed here with 2 granddaughters, in the quadruple family room, did not need to move the car as trams available to beach, breakfast was great with plenty of choice, even with 2 fussy eaters. Would recommend to others
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Great holiday

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Parking but it is not the fault of the hotel.
Location: Beach. Sea. Steam trains. TV locations. Dracula. Fish and chips. Doughnuts. Open air concerts.
Good base to see places up and down the coast from Whitby to Hornsea (and beyond!) The Mansion House is very comfortable and the friendly staff make sure you have everything you want. No lift but get fit climbing the stairs to a great view of South Bay.Their breakfasts have won awards and deservedly so. Would choose to return there if in the area.
4 out of 5
by Terence from Yorkshire

Comfy and good views

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
We were on the top floor (60 or so stairs)and there is no lift. Fine for us, but others may not appreciate. Staff very helpful - we needed an early breakfast one day which was organised with no fuss. A fair stroll to the town centre and beaches, but again no problem for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Telford

Nice hotel with lovely views of sea.

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: The furniture and decoration ,position and lovely food.
Cons: Maybe airconditioning and a presence of the owners.
Location: Wonderful views of the sea with gardens and walks opposite.Plenty of seats for relaxing and taking in views.Cliff railway to take you to seafront.
Hotel is about 10minutes walk from town centre of Scarborough set above town, there is a cliff top railway to take you down to seafront.We were met by young man who carried our cases to room which was top floor.The room was lovely but as it was a hot week we found it very warm in there even though there was a fan which we had to have on all the while.Maybe airconditioning would be better to reflect the price you pay.The lounge is a comfortable room to read papers or get a drink.Breakfast was very good with various options and served by young people.We were doing a week of touring and having travelled from Blackpool staying in small b@b we were spoiled by their hospitality so it was noticeable to us that we never met the owners of the Mansion House in the three days we were there to say hello or goodbye.This was our first visit to Scarborough and we enjoyed it and hope to be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, Devon

Lovely hotel. Great setting. Recommended!

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Lovely hotel. Great setting in Scarborough with ample parking outside. Breakfast was great with various choices available. Room was clean, spatious and well-equipped. Very relaxed ambiance inside the hotel with polite and courteous staff. I particularly liked the lounge with a wide-range of local reading material and Travel books of Yorkshire available. Well worthy of the 5 star rating and highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by Martyn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Mary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel but mind the stairs

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here for three nights in top floor sea view room which was well furnished with a comfortable bed and of a reasonable size. Wi-Fi was good and there were lots of nice touches all round, with friendly welcoming staff. The breakfast was very good and there were daily specials cooked fresh to order. The view overlooking the bay is stunning, and worth the price and the climb. That's my only caveat, that there's no lift, so if mobility is an issue make sure you are on a lower floor as there's 62 stairs to the top! I'd certainly stay again if I return to Scarborough as its very convenient for the Spa and its a lovely walk into town and parking is not a problem
5 out of 5
by jenny

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels