Ratings based on 411 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to York, plenty of parking

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Easy location, plenty of parking, warm welcome and room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Lincolnshire

The Hotel was very convenient for the City

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Easy to get to and conveniently situated with a Park and Ride situated nearby. Spacious lounges and bar area. Quiet and comfortable rooms.
Cons: A couple of biscuits for the morning cup of tea
We were attending a Birthday Party at The Sidings and visiting relatives in York so we found The Mercure ideally situated for our stay. We found the hotel quiet and very comfortable and the staff were very helpful and pleasant. We were only there for two nights and the Saturday was quite busy but did not detract from a very relaxed stay,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Lovely hotel for a special birthday celebration

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Enjoyed our stay here, all facilities good, staff friendly and efficient. Evening meal- excellent food, breakfast good too, bar a bit pricey though!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Everything about the hotel was fantastic apart from the pillows!! Small thing but they were so big and hard we all had to use chair cushions as couldn't sleep on them. Also £2.80 for a bottle of water expensive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Convenient for York.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Large clean room, lovely bathroom. Nice bar and reading area.
Cons: Better heating in bathroom, provide tea and coffee makings in the room.
Location: York and North Yorkshire.
On A19 v convenient for York. Swish entrance, pleasant bar area. Provided iron and board when asked. V clean and v nice bathroom. Avoid rooms at the frontside which are next to the A19, very noisy till late and traffic began again early!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Needed a hotel close to family, we have used this hotel before and will use it again, friendly staff clean and warm
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Great parking and spacious bedroom

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: It was very quiet where our room was. Very spacious and comfortable.
Location: Not too far from York and a good alternative to a city centre hotel.
I chose this hotel rather than stay in York centre. It was great to park with just a short taxi ride into the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel - really good place when working away

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Everythin
Cons: I will let you know next time I stay
Location: Perfect for those not wanting to be in the centre of York.
Great room, great food and very clean. Good range of bar facilities etc and close to local amenities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Glad we got a discount

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel clean and welcoming. Our bathroom looked a little tired. We had a fair amount of walking and stairs to climb to get to the room. No lifts in our part of the building. Food in the bar was good and staff very friendly and helpful. Our battered fish fingers were a bit soggy. The breakfast could have been better, cold plates, cold food, queue for drinks machine and queue for toaster...one lady from a coach party took over the toaster to do everyone in the party toast.!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
Large bed