Ratings based on 852 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Good hotel excellent location

Posted Apr 23, 2017
We stayed for a night to go to the Barbican. It was in an excellent position. We arrived quite late for the show but the hotel was brilliant at getting us a meal before we went.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing for a so called 4* hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Location great, SOME members of staff great, SOME awful!! Got basics wrong here had to keep ringing reception just to get towels tea/coffee and bedding for room!!! Let itself down for a 4 *!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from middlesbrough

Excellent location

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Excellent location as we were going to concert at the Barbican . Literally a 5 minute walk. Comfortable room with everything we needed. Staff signposted to very good Italian restaurant just opppisite venue -Toto's. Would definitely stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Nice comfortable hotel, short walk to city centre

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Comfortable hotel, clean room, helpful staff, good breakfast and just a short walk to York city centre, the only negative is having to pay for the hotel car park!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good Location

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Location and front of house staff.
Cons: Housekeeping
Location: Castle, castle museum, river etc. Everything is within 25 minutes walk, including the station.
Front of house staff were good, the housekeeping was very lacking. Our room was not cleaned properly,the bed was 'made' by pulling the top sheet, over the crumpled bottom one! Toilet not cleaned in the two days we were there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from South wales

Stylish modern hotel in great location.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Location and easy going atmosphere.
Cons: Restaurant menu was limited and overprices for what was on offer. Heating in the rooms.
Location: Easy walk in to the city centre (if you're reasonably fit)and all its amenities and places of historical interest.
This was a family trip for my daughter who was attending an open day at York University and Dad celebrating his 60th birthday. The overall hotel is experience was very good and we would stay again when coming back to York. The staff were very professional friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The Superior Family room was adequate and clean but perhaps the term "superior" was exaggerated . Swimming pool facility looked clean. Great lounge, reception and bar areas. Restaurant also quite pleasant. The hotel did not feel warm at any time and was quite cold in places particularly the bedrooms which were heated with an air conditioning system that was not adequate for this time of year (cold March). Parking fees at £12 per night were "a bit mean" on top of the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall good Hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Nice staff, clean well proportioned rooms. Good food in the restraunt. Convenient for city centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Esssex

Stylish, clean and welcoming

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Clean, efficient, welcoming and quiet
Location: Handy for University and city centre, situated right between
I always stay at the Novotel when in York. In walking distance of the University and the city centre. Stylish, contemporary and spotless with friendly and helpful staff, it reflects high values. Lovely room with separate WC and bathroom. Unlike some other brands, they still provide personal toiletries. Everything functions perfectly, no sign or wear and tear anywhere. Nice small swimming pool. Breakfast room well laid out, staff smiley and welcoming. They let you park all day on your check out day. Novotel is a consistent brand which put others in the same grade to shame.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel but not what you want when visiting York

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Food at the hotel was great.
Cons: toilet room, lighting in rooms
Location: quite far from town (12-18 min walk depending on where you want to go). No restaurants/shop nearby.
Stayed there because family friends chose the hotel. Overall the Hotel was OK but this is not what you are looking for at this price point (£150 per night). Lobby was nice but rooms below par with small window. Location is somewhat outside of the town centre - 12 min walk to old town and 18min walk to the minster. room was noisy as just next to the lift.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good handy location with short walk to city centre

Posted Mar 3, 2017
We enjoyed a our short stay and found the staff polite and helpful only one little thing was that I had to go to the reception twice to obtain some tea bags as the cleaner hadn't topped up.