Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pickering, North Yorkshire

Nice hotel in the centre of Pickering

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: The fact that it is the "Old Manse" as I was brought up in a manse.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The main attraction of the town is the North Yorks Railway - our purpose for going. Plenty of walking and other attractions nearby.
Easy access to Pickering and no need to use the car for immediate attraction. Plenty of places to eat in the evenings with good menu choices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leeds

nice hotel close to shops and restaurants

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Owner, position in pickering and breakfast.
Cons: Shower
Location: Excellent location, Pickering town with restaurants, pubs, North Yorkshire railway, museum, flamingo land, go ape in the Dalby forest and so much more
We stayed in garden room, which was very nice, only complaint was the shower it was abysmal. The owner was lovely, the breakfast was excellent, so we would definitely return but would ask for a different room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

happy traveller

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: all as it should be
Cons: Black out blinds for front windows a good idea - the security lights at the front a bit disturbing for me
Location: nice place Pickering for the weekend & lots to see in the area for all tastes. pubs, restaurants Ok too. Nth York Railway station
Great spot, friendly & helpful. Breakfast very good & parking excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from suffolk

Lovely overnight stay

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: lovely evening meal available
We wanted somewhere to stay overnight and meet up with friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Great hotel in village

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Our overnight stay - met by friendly owner, complimentary tea, cold lager when needed, delicious evening meal on request, friendly staff and very clean with hot shower. No complaints. We left after scrumptious breakfast. Fellow visitors had similar comments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to railway

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Enjoyed our short stay. Railway within easy reach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E, Auckland New Zealand

Lovely old home, lovely breakfast

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Some exquisite watercolours adorn the walls of this large manse, and help to give a sense of history and place. The fittings snd fixtures though a little tired, were saved by clean linen, lovely views and very pleasant and helpful staff. A generous breakfast completed a very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable family run hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Very convenient for North York Moors
We had two rooms both of which were comfortable. Dinner and breakfast were generous portions with plenty of variety on the breakfast buffet..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Frienldy hotel close to attractions in north yorks

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Friendly welcome and good breakfast. Rooms very good but quite a number of stairs to top floor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mature Couple from Northampton

Near centre of Pickering

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: The staff, our welcome and the food.
Cons: The shower in our room
Location: Within easy walking distance of the centre of Pickering. Easy to reach the N. Yorks Moors, The N. Yorks Railway and Whitby.
An Edwardian house run by the owner as a small hotel. Lovely warm people who did their best to make our stay memorable. The food is absolutely fabulous and is locally sourced. Do not stay here if you do not like good food. We only stayed two nights but if we had stayed longer we would have piled on the pounds. If you are a gourmet trencherman then this hotel is the holy grail!