Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leeds

nice hotel close to shops and restaurants

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Owner, position in pickering and breakfast.
Cons: Shower
Location: Excellent location, Pickering town with restaurants, pubs, North Yorkshire railway, museum, flamingo land, go ape in the Dalby forest and so much more
We stayed in garden room, which was very nice, only complaint was the shower it was abysmal. The owner was lovely, the breakfast was excellent, so we would definitely return but would ask for a different room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

happy traveller

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: all as it should be
Cons: Black out blinds for front windows a good idea - the security lights at the front a bit disturbing for me
Location: nice place Pickering for the weekend & lots to see in the area for all tastes. pubs, restaurants Ok too. Nth York Railway station
Great spot, friendly & helpful. Breakfast very good & parking excellent
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from suffolk

Lovely overnight stay

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: lovely evening meal available
We wanted somewhere to stay overnight and meet up with friends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from surrey

Great hotel in village

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Our overnight stay - met by friendly owner, complimentary tea, cold lager when needed, delicious evening meal on request, friendly staff and very clean with hot shower. No complaints. We left after scrumptious breakfast. Fellow visitors had similar comments.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to railway

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Enjoyed our short stay. Railway within easy reach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from E, Auckland New Zealand

Lovely old home, lovely breakfast

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Some exquisite watercolours adorn the walls of this large manse, and help to give a sense of history and place. The fittings snd fixtures though a little tired, were saved by clean linen, lovely views and very pleasant and helpful staff. A generous breakfast completed a very pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by Mark from Leeds

Sort your showers out!

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
Apart from the shower being a trickle, taking ages to get hot, the bedroom being cold, the bed was comfy.. Location was a nice walk into town..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable family run hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Very convenient for North York Moors
We had two rooms both of which were comfortable. Dinner and breakfast were generous portions with plenty of variety on the breakfast buffet..
5 out of 5
by David from Eastwood, Nottingham

Great place to stay !

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel location was ideal for us as we were visiting the North Yorks Moors Railway which was only 5 minutes walk away. Hotel was lovely as was the welcome and the following service. Would happily stay again.
5 out of 5
by Andrew from London

Superbly welcoming

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
We have stayed in the Old Manse before, and Val and her team never let you down....superbly welcoming, excellent breakfasts, hearty evening meals and comfortable beds. Just a short stroll to the heart of Pickering on a quiet road, with an award-winning fish and chip shop 100 yards away!!! All round excellence.