Ratings based on 968 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Only complaint is room size and position.the lift shaft took up a large proportion of the room therefore reduced floor area and causing noise
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 京都府

駅近,城壁も見えます

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: 駅から近くて便利.
Cons: 特にありません.
Location: 夏だったので,川を渡ったところの河原?のテーブルでエールビールを飲みました.楽しかったです.
ちょっとわかりにくいですが,駅から近く便利です.城壁内はあまり広くないので,ホテルからどこにでも歩いてアクセス可能です.部屋は清潔ですが,日本のビジネスホテル並みの狭さでビックリしました.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

On the river. Close to attractions and town

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Excellent staff. Very attentive and helpful. Good breakfast buffet. Very quiet
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincoln

A first class Hotel in every respect

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, Courtesy, Comfort, Location.
Cons: No
Location: We enjoyed our first visit to York, and visited the Minster, the Shambles, many other places of interest, and a trip on the River.
We have stayed in many Hotels in all parts of the world, but seldom better anywhere
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Godmanchester

Good breakfast

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: The friendliness of the staff and the buffet breakfast
Cons: Having evening snacks rather than or in addition to evening meals
Location: So much to see and so close: Minster, the Bar Convent, bookshops, the Shambles, the National Railway Museum, the city walls, the Army Museum.
The staff were friendly and helpful, but they never managed to fix the lack of working extractor fan in the bathroom. The food was good, breakfast excellent except marmalade disappeared off the menu for some reason. It was replaced with honey and marmite offerings instead. I like marmalade for breakfast so was a bit disappointed but the English breakfast and fresh fruit salad made up for it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Posted Jul 9, 2016
A nice hotel, location quite good and easy to find. Not expensive either.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good price, updated

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Cons: My room was not on the water, it faced the street and there was noise occasionally but loud enough to wake me up in the middle of the night.
Its just across the bridge from the tourist section.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: Close to the city, river and very clean with good facilities.
Cons: More choice of food in the bar would have helped.
Location: Close to city centre restaurants and sights of York.
Good hotel which had good facilities and a great view of the river. When's we checked in they had us down as a twin room but when I explained we had booked a double, housekeeping were contacted and the bed was converted to a double as there were no spare double rooms. Otherwise thre room was excellent as was the service and facilities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great shower

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: The room was small but had what I needed. The shower was especially welcome. It worked well -- did not flood floor, water temp OK etc. This is imp
Location: Walking distance to Minster. at the river with access to river side walks.
Chose hotel because of location. but got more than I bargained for.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice location

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Hotel is conveniently situated between the city and the railway station, walkable to both and near to plenty of bars & restaurants. The hotel also has its own bar serving food & also a restaurant. Can't comment on the food as we ate out. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice from the buffet. We had a standard room which was a good size with a double bed, hairdryer & safe, tea & coffee, tv. Bathroom was clean with lovely big shower and soap & shower gel. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. Would recommend a stay here.