Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lancaster

Will definitely be going back

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Beautiful room, friendly staff, good food and fantastic location. Couldn't ask for more. Staff were brilliant with my little boy (3) and nothing was too much trouble. He didn't want to come home.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Amazing location. Yummy breakfast.

Posted Sep 5, 2016
The hotel is in a great location. We had a mix up with the size of room required but it was Expedias fault, not the hotels and the hotel staff dealt with it brilliantly. The breakfast was yummy, you could order anything off the standard breakfast menu and the courtyard and setting was beautiful. Had a sneaky peak at the top loft room which looked stunning so next time we go back we'll pay the extra and request that room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Lovely location below the Abbey.

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, great location, good food. Handy for the Abbey, 199 steps and more traditional side of Whitby with cobbled streets and eclectic shops.
Cons: A bit noisy on the morning with the seagulls on the rooftops and street cleaning, but nothing too surprising given its seaside location!
Lovely location, in a peaceful yard just off Church Street. We stayed in the attic room, which is full of character, but watch the low beam when you walk in! The private bathroom is adjacent to the room, but very luxurious with a roll top bath. Great touches in the room including fresh flowers, mints on the pillows and biscuits! Very friendly staff and a great breakfast In the morning, large choice and freshly cooked to order. Only sorry we didn't get to try the amazing selection of cakes on display in the cake cabinet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Just a B&B

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Very central
Cons: The staff could be more informed about parking options and aware that guests have luggage. I noted several guests similarly struggling.
Location: Right in the middle of the town with easy access to the port and shops
I would not recommend staying at this B&B when traveling with a car. There is no parking close to the place and the B&B is located in a tiny, crowded pedestrian street so dropping off cases was out of the question. On a busy day there was no parking within a mile of the B&B and the staff could only suggest parking overnight up the famous "199 steps" near the Whitby Abby, which was impossible with heavy luggage. Otherwise the facilities and service were overpriced and mediocre at best
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nothamptonshire

Nice B & B but difficult for mobility impaired

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Friendly pleasant staff and very clean and well presented room
Cons: The addition of a shower
Friendly, helpful staff and very clean room. The room was well presented with nice touches of mints and excellent selection of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and spring water. The on suite room, which although lovely, only had a bath with no shower facility.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Good location

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Excellent location right in the centre of Whitby, but this is a Coffee shop with rooms. Check in was slow as had to wait for staff serving in the cafe,as no actual check in place...Our room was large, bathroom lovely & clean but no shower. Also noisy outside bathroom window & laundry room next door which started about 7.30am..Breakfast service was slow, but plenty choice. Don't think we'll be going back here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Nice b'n'b city center location.....

Posted Jul 20, 2016
We were so happy to get a room here but infortunatly...did not get the sleep.....due to the floors being so creaky.. .it would have be nice if others staying at the b'n'b had a lot more consideration...we were kept awake as the guests above us were very unconsiderate as when moving about it was like a heard of cattle moving and when going to thier bathroom all doors were banged shut.... this went on till 1:20 am then started again at 3:05 til breakfast time. Soundproiofing needs doing.
5 out of 5
by Jack

Two Nights at Sanders Yard.

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
We chose Sanders Yard primarily for its location and we were not disappointed. In my opinion, it is located on the prettiest little street in town with lots of character and interesting shops to explore. It is also just down from the steps up to the Abbey and all those breathtaking views. We stayed two nights, the breakfast was excellent and the staff friendly. The only negative might be parking as there is none there. The street in front carries car traffic but mostly feels completely pedestrian. However there is parking available in the public lots. One Car Park is very convenient. We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Leigh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by l from doncaster

tired legs

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
we have stayed before in the main building, this time we were upgraded to the Chocolate Cottage, although it had a beautful lounge and a good kitchen whitch we did'nt use as we were out and about all the time, the second floor bedroom ensuite was fine, but the third floor attic bedroom was much to be desired, no mirror or hanging space,plus we had to go down a floor to our bathroom,(not good when you're in your mid 70s.other than that we would stay again, but only in the main building.l must add all the staff were very good and helpful, and apart for all the stair climbing we did enjoy our stay.