Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet with a touch of class

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: everything
Location: Centrally located in the small town of Helmsley. Ideal for Duncombe Park and the National Centre for Birds of Prey
This was a last second booking as our previous plans had fallen apart. we had to be close to an event we were attending in Helmsley. The staff were professional and friendly from the moment we arrived until the second we left. We were so happy that we will be re-booking for The Falconry Fair we are attending.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Great destination but disappointing hotel

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: location and appearance , the thought of staying somewhere 'special'
Cons: value for money, dinner menu, repair to shower screen
Location: Walking; Helmsley shops (2 superb delis !) Castle, Abbeys, Duncombe Park. Castle Howard. Coast.
Helmsley & NYM area is simply great for a weekend away- we have been many many many times. Walking/ castles/ abbeys/coast/ Moors/wildlife. We chose Black Swan hotel as a special treat for our wedding anniversary. Hotel is undeniably nice, clean, characterful and comfortable which was what attracted us to book in the first place, we had a good size 'classic' room but sadly also some disappointments. The biggest was the evening dinner menu which was very limited (just 2 steaks, braised beef, 1 plain fish, 1 curried fish and 1 vegetarian as main courses, just 3 desserts)- a problem when you've booked DBB and diet and expectation require a wider choice. Breakfast service (to us?) was non existent; we had to ask to be served several times -although the quality of the food at both evening and breakfast was good and we did not go away hungry. Perhaps not unsurprisingly the bar is expensive too. In our room our shower screen was ineffective and water ponded all over the bathroom floor. This won't have just happened, the seal must have been worn for some time. Arguably when you've chosen somewhere 'special' to celebrate a milestone event the cost is not the concern, but we started to feel that we were paying over the odds for what we were actually getting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Amazing Hotel, Food and Staff

Posted Apr 14, 2017
From arrival to departure it was a great weekend. The room was clean and had all ameneties required. The staff couldn't do enough for you and were very friendly. The food was perfect, we had the taster meal the first night with wine pairing and the steak the following night with one of the wines we'd tasted on the pairing menu the previous night. Lovely atmosphere in the bar when they had a live singer on. Drinks selection was vast, especially the gin options :) Location is right on market square which has plenty of pubs, restaurants and shops to peruse.
5 out of 5
by jean storr

lovely hotel old and full of character

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
very relaxing, brilliant staff,food excellant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

Great hotel worth a visit.

Posted Feb 10, 2017
This hotel takes you back in time with a modern touch. Friendly staff, good food and drink although a little pricey.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Good value on DBB package . Comfortable room , pretty gardens, tasty steak, breakfast service wanting
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Generally fine hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was generally very good, though the room was extremely hot and difficult to regulate. Reception suggested a change from duvet to sheet and blanket, done immediately, which helped a little. Dining room was first class, though the excellent dinner was definitely expensive, and breakfast was most enjoyable. Bar prices, a bugbear of mine, were ludicrously high. The staff were universally helpful and professional. Overall, the hotel is worth its high rating and I would consider visiting again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Black Swan at Helmsley

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: For us - access to the rooms although this would not be possible in a hotel of such antiquity
Location: Old market town with lots of little side streets and pretty shops and tea rooms - lots of other things to do for those with mobility. There is a Cast
Lovely hotel, situated in a very nice part of the world. Helmsley delightful market town. Hotel staff helpful and charming. We had an excellent room with every amenity. Cosy lounge with a typical olde worlde feel. Very very pretty garden in which to relax and enjoy a cup of tea or coffee - or whatever!! Lots and lots of stairs though so anyone with a walking problem would be advised to approach reception and ask for a downstairs room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in a good position in Helmsley.

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely quaint hotel and Helmsley is a beautiful village. Dinner was good, the service was excellent. Breakfast wasn't so good, I actually left some (this never happens!). The full English breakfast had been left to keep warm for too long in the kitchen and the sausage wasn't very nice. The first pot of coffee was warm, not hot, the second pot was fine.