Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chester

Good base for short breaks

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Clean comfortable room, good food, good hospitality, would happily return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for York

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Plenty of space in the family room. Really nicely set out room. During the winter the pub has reduced opening hours - which was fine for us - but if you are thinking that there will be food available every night and the bar open then it is worth double checking if that's the case.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Cons: Wish I would have been informed that the pub was closed as we were looking forward to eating there
Location: We went to flamingo land then York dugeons kids had a ball
Great family room very comfortable great location. Good family run business very friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gisbourne, NZ

Excellent Host and Great Food

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Generally good all round.
Cons: How can you improve on perfection?
Location: We stayed for work so didn't get a chance to explore.
We had a week with Claire and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, breakfast was superb and the evening meals we ate there fantastic, a great pint of Theakstones too. The place overall is thoroughly recommended.
5 out of 5
by Nigel Perkins from halesowen

Friendly place

Posted Apr 4, 2013 on Hotels
The blacksmith arms is a warm and welcoming place to stay and I would recommend it to all. Clair and her staff made us feel very welcome. We would most definatley go back.
5 out of 5
by Hugh & Val Young

Very convenient for York and Castle Howard.

Posted Jul 15, 2012 on Hotels
Very enjoyable, friendly and helpful hosts. No need to eat out, after all it is a Pub with a great cook ! We would thoroughly recommend.
4 out of 5
by D.R.Woodcock

weekend away

Posted Jul 4, 2012 on Hotels
friendly hosts and comfortable room.although only one towel in room.Reviews on trip advisor suggested that this was an outstanding BandB which was a bit of an exaggeration.It compared with other B and Bs within the same price bands.This is not a complaint and maybe these reviews exaggerated our expectations unfairly.However enjoyed the stay overall
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marilyn from Herts

Blackmiths Arms

Posted May 14, 2012
A Great little Inn with really friendkly people. We had a really good meal in the evening at the Bar and then breakfast was super
5 out of 5
by David and Mary

close to gahering

Posted May 9, 2012 on Hotels
Genial hosts, good clean room with very comfortable bed. Very good location for York visit and Castke Howard and other beauty spots.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Best. Dinner bed and breakfast in York

Posted Nov 21, 2011
Location: York city centre and for shopping the Outlets
This delightful pub b&b is not only really clean, comfortable and friendly. But with the 3 course home cooked meal and tasty breakfast included, it is the BEST VALUE b&b you'll ever find. We stayed in the deluxe room with a double and a single bed. The shower was good and included shampoo which I forgot. The food is as good as the service from every member of staff. We had as a main the homemade pie. OMG it was just outstanding!!! It is near York about 10 min drive and is easy enough to find. The real fire was very welcome in the bar, which was well priced. My only slight dissatisfaction was the tiny tv in the bedroom. But other than that I give it 10/10. I travel for business regularly and stay in 5 star hotels but I would rather stay here as it's comfort, friendliness and shear value for money make it a must