Ratings based on 375 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockton on Tees

Great hotel close to York centre

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Lovely hotel the staff were very helpful and extremely professional while very approachable. The hotel has lots of character beautiful dining room and library setting. Nice garden to sit in at front of hotel. Within walking distance of York City, the Minster and city centre. I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincs

Fabulous hotel close to the centre

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Staff were friendly and happy to help, rooms are lovely, clean and comfortable. Close to the centre of York, all that we needed for a girls break away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Lovely little hotel with great staff and well located. Great breakfast and clean rooms
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Honest, helpful hotel

Posted May 19, 2016
My wife Left some items at the hotel & did not realize it until Wendy from the Churchill sent us an email. She promptly mailed these items to our next hotel. We are very thankful. The hotel was in walking distance to everything we wanted to see in York.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Good hotel easy walk to centre of york.

Posted May 4, 2016
The hotel decor was well presented. Double bed Room size was good. major problem is constant noise from boiler/air con? unbearable. Light sleepers will get no sleep.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stourbridge

Very classy comfortably hotel perfect location

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Bedroom was lovely
We were spending the weekend with our son and his family who live in york and decided to spend the last night in a bit of luxury and the churchill ticked all the boxes this was not our first stay and when we go to york again we shall certainly book again most enjoyable
4 out of 5
by Laura

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by jeremy from cleveland

highly recomended.

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
great location, a short walk into the old town, York minster, and the wall.
4 out of 5
by keith from radcliffe

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
the hotel was very good the restaurant was very disappointing poor evening meal
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Classy and Characterful

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: The unique room we were given. Service was excellent in all respects and the food was superb, good menu using local produce. Tremendously good value.
Cons: Better ventilation of 'bunker' room.
Location: 10 minutes walk to the centre of York and good parking.
Very classy hotel with distinct character, would certainly stay again. We were given a lower ground floor room, known as the 'Bunker' which was tastefully decorated and furnished in a unique modern style, no windows and a curved ceiling in a Nissen hut shape. It was a bit warm during the night but I loved it.