Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Yorkist

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Position. Free parking permit. Breakfast.
Cons: See above. Better response to a complaint about cold water would be an improvement.
Location: Walking distance from York city centre.
Room was up 6 flights of stairs, last pair quite narrow. Receptionist apologetic but noone to help with case. Had to leave main case in car and bring items in as needed. Would have hesitated to book if known as I am a pensioner. No summer bedding available. Breakfast good. No hot water in taps either morning. Spoke to staff. Did not seem to think it mattered. Told me the plumber was coming & noone else had mentioned.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice Hotel close to CityCentre

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Great Breakfast, good bed, nice large tub!
Cons: Dining room was a little crowded, but very formal and nice.
Location: Located near the city centre. We arrived on train and used the bus tours to see the town. Everything we needed to do was in walking distance.
The owners were very friendly with a great breakfast every morning. They had information about many attractions in the city and took the time when we first arrived to point out some of the major highlights! The view was amazing and the beds were comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from japan

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Comfort accommodation in York! It is close to the city center and station. Staffs are friendly and kind.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nordrhein-Westfalen

Angenehmer Aufenthalt

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Das Frühstück!
Location: Befindet sich am Rande der Yorker Innenstadt und man kann fußläufig alle wichtigen Orte in York erreichen.
Freundlicher Empfang, nettes kleines Zimmer, ruhig.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oslo, Norway

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Nothing to complain about. Good breakfast, good bed, good value.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WDC

Very pleasant

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Owners and breakfast room staff. Location.
Cons: Nothing
Location: See above.
Family-run. Easy walk to the Minster, etc. Most obliging about keeping our heavy luggage for a couple nights while we went backpacking elsewhere. English breakfast included.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Great location, and great Staff

Posted May 18, 2016
This is a great place to stay for anyone looking to explore York. There was street parking that we got a permit for and all of the places of interest were within walking distance. Jason was very informative and the breakfast was great. Breakfast room was a little small and there was a wait for a table. I noticed other guests having the same experience. Perhaps having guests preschedule dining times would be helpful, as some of the other b and bs we visited did that. In general, it was great, and I would definitely recommend it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

A delightful stay close to York

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Close proximity to York, comfortable, clean.
Stayed only one night in this very cosy B&B, our host was very friendly and helpful, were also able to offer a gluten-free breakfast which was much appreciated. Within close proximity to York, was easy to find, very happy with our stay.
3 out of 5
by Sandra from Nr Exeter

Nice quiet stay

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
The guest house was fairly easy to find, about 10-15 mins walk from the train station. In a good location on a fairly busy road, so I expected it to be noisy, but it was really quiet even though my double aspect room was at the front. I didn't hear any traffic or noise from other guests so was pleasantly surprised and slept very well. The small reception area is on the first floor by the breakfast room and I was surprised that the owner who met me at the front entrance did not carry my overnight bag up the flight of stairs, I have never experienced that before as it's usually one of the first welcoming things the host does. The room was nicely decorated with crisp white bed linen. It was very a very comfortable and clean room with generous tea bags, mini ironing board, iron, tissues and with good lighting. The radiator in the bathroom didn't work so it was quite cold in there. It didn't worry me as I could leave the door open to keep it warm, but a couple sharing the room would find it uncomfortable. The English breakfast was well cooked but the sausage was tasteless, it would have been nice to have a local Yorkshire sausage. Additionally, the radio played in the kitchen over breakfast was far too loud and was quite distracting. There were a lot of tourist leaflets available so you couldn't be at a loss of where to visit either. Overall it was a quiet and peaceful stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay jilly

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Lovely place and perfectly placed. Would recomend it.