Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Wonderful pub, wonderful stay

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Thank you Durham Ox for a brilliant weekend. Room was quaint under the eves with a modern slick bathroom and super comfy superking bed. Lovely food and fab pub. Perfect. We will be back
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Great view

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Quiet and great view, good service and great food quality
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cardiff

Nice hotel to settle in after seeing the sites.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
We had a large room in one of their charming cottages. Staff were welcoming and the food was great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffolk


Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The location, it is in the centre of a very pretty village and very quiet.
Cons: We prefer our table to be cleared after we have both finished eating.
Location: We only stayed overnight so didn't have much time to explore. We did note there are several National Trust properties to visit.
We chose this venue as a midway stopover for our trip to Scotland. A great find. Sumptuous room and bathroom. Staff are very accommodating and were able to provide a table for the evening meal , even though they were extremely busy. Breakfast was a delight. A great choice of well cooked food, and different beverages, including make your own Bloody Mary with vodka or Bucks Fizz with Prosecco!
5 out of 5
by Sébastien from angers france


Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
magnifique séjour merci
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overnight stay at The Ox

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The friendliness of everyone we met and the attention to our needs
Location: Just outside of York so plenty to see and do
We had an overnight stay on 11th July and were very impressed with both the quality of the room and the superb service in the restaurant and attention to detail.The meal was fantastic!Well done everyone concerned we will definitely return.Margaret and Ken Hall
4 out of 5
by Kirstie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended hotel

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed one night. The Blue Cottage was comfortable but had a small bedroom area and was adjacent to the outside seating and dining area so a little noisy. The food was excellent and we had an outstanding rib eye steak each. The beer was as good a pint as I have had anywhere. I recommend Timothy Taylor Boltmaker!The service was good and friendly and the overall ambience of the hotel with its farmhouse setting was excellent. The village of Crayke is in an area of outstanding natural beauty and is itself very pretty.
5 out of 5
by Holly from North Lanarkshire

Would go back in a heartbeat!

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely beautiful! We stayed in the Rose Cottage and fell in love with it. Perfect little place to relax and set out on wee adventures from ( recommend walking around Helmsey ). They hold a table in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner for the guests and the food was amazing. Service levels high all around.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Time to relax and unwind

Posted Oct 22, 2015
This was a great place to stay in between a busy schedule. Great room, great staff, and fantastic food at the restaurant. It would have been nice to stay a little longer.