Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Trish

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great room, great views, superb food and excellent service! Hope to be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Withernsea

Every courtesy was afforded to us.

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: The feeling of people who take care of the place and the people who visit.
Location: Ideally placed for York, Helmsley and Pickering.
Our two day stay was a joy. Comfy well-prepared room. Lovely breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Picturesque hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
We had a lovely stay on Saturday night. The hotel was having a private party for locals which they had let us know about and also that the restaurant wouldn't be open, but said we were welcome to join the party at £10 a head for hog roast. We didn't show up till after 9pm and I'm sure if we had been earlier it would have been a fantastic spread! Breakfast on Sunday morning offered a good selection of freshly cooked items which were lovely and our request for 'shiploads'of toast was readily met! Overall, a lovely stay and I'm sure we will return in the summer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Wonderful pub, wonderful stay

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Thank you Durham Ox for a brilliant weekend. Room was quaint under the eves with a modern slick bathroom and super comfy superking bed. Lovely food and fab pub. Perfect. We will be back
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cardiff

Nice hotel to settle in after seeing the sites.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
We had a large room in one of their charming cottages. Staff were welcoming and the food was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Stopover

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The location, it is in the centre of a very pretty village and very quiet.
Cons: We prefer our table to be cleared after we have both finished eating.
Location: We only stayed overnight so didn't have much time to explore. We did note there are several National Trust properties to visit.
We chose this venue as a midway stopover for our trip to Scotland. A great find. Sumptuous room and bathroom. Staff are very accommodating and were able to provide a table for the evening meal , even though they were extremely busy. Breakfast was a delight. A great choice of well cooked food, and different beverages, including make your own Bloody Mary with vodka or Bucks Fizz with Prosecco!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

overnight stay at The Ox

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The friendliness of everyone we met and the attention to our needs
Location: Just outside of York so plenty to see and do
We had an overnight stay on 11th July and were very impressed with both the quality of the room and the superb service in the restaurant and attention to detail.The meal was fantastic!Well done everyone concerned we will definitely return.Margaret and Ken Hall
4 out of 5
by Kirstie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended hotel

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed one night. The Blue Cottage was comfortable but had a small bedroom area and was adjacent to the outside seating and dining area so a little noisy. The food was excellent and we had an outstanding rib eye steak each. The beer was as good a pint as I have had anywhere. I recommend Timothy Taylor Boltmaker!The service was good and friendly and the overall ambience of the hotel with its farmhouse setting was excellent. The village of Crayke is in an area of outstanding natural beauty and is itself very pretty.