Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Nice B and B, great location!

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Lovely stay at Farthings. 2 night break and walked into town both days taking 10 mins. Highly recommend for its location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Welcoming staff, clean room, good brekkie.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Welcoming and friendly proprietor. Clean room with most modern comforts (it's a bit on the small size, but adequate size enough for a short stay). Good breakfast, options, tasty and quantity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockport UK

Beautiful, Friendly, Caring, Stunning Residence

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: A beautiful place to stay. You wont want to leave. Stunning rooms, amazing breakfasts, perfect location with very friendly owners.
Cons: You cannot improve on perfection! This IS the only place to stay when visiting the city of York
Location: Each and every one of York's visiting attractions and their heritage is a maximum of 10 minutes walk from The Farthings guest house.
From the moment we arrived, we just knew this was going to be the best B&B that we have ever stayed at in the UK. Our hosts Helen and her fab mum were so kind, friendly and thoughtful throughout our stay...so much so that we didn't want to leave! Nothing was any trouble for them to make our stay a truly memorable one, with them jumping through hoops to make sure you had a lovely stay. A wonderful location with every one of York's amazing attractions and historical sights a mere 10 minutes walk at most. Very spacious comfortable rooms with beautiful decor. So quiet when you consider you are in the heart of the city. Even your parking is taken care of throughout your stay. You wont need your car again whilst visiting the city that has SO much to offer and so much to do. We thoroughly recommend The Farthings... We WILL be back soon! Whilst we valued Expedia's help when searching for a place to stay in York, we wont need their help again for The Farthings is the only place we would ever stay in York or its surrounding areas. Even the city itself is so easy to get to and a must for visitors with endless things to see and do. These include the Castle and its fine museum with a self guided tour that takes you back in time in its historical streets. The amazing Railway Museum, stunning Cathedral or even just walking the city walls. We even visited Dick Turpin's grave! Not something you do every day!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Great Hotel in a Lovely Area

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
The Farthings was located in a quiet residential area, but only about 10-15 mins walk from York city centre - the best of both worlds. The room was very clean, as was the rest of the hotel, and the staff were most friendly and helpful. Only thing to be aware of is that not all rooms have en-suite toilet/bathroom, but this never proved to be an issue and the bathrooms were kept as scrupulously clean as the rest of the building.
5 out of 5
by Naomi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant and friendly

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Lovely B&B with period character, very good value for money with some nice additional touches in the room. Friendly owner and great breakfast. Would have happily paid more than I did for overall stay. definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely guest house

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Lovel guest house with fantastic hosts
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Very clean and friendly. Close enough to to all of York attractions
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good choice

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable; lovely cosy dressing gowns available to use. Breakfast was delicious with a wide choice. Host was very welcoming.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from york

GOOD B&B

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent service warm welcome had good stay Highly recamend