Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Great family run pub/B&B

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: Very friendly, warm and helpful staff with very good rooms and food they were very pleased to supply.
Location: Very little for us to comment on as this was just an overnight stop whilst on our way from Essex to Glasgow.
The family seem to have thought of everything to make the guests as comfortable as possible. There was no formal checking in. When we introduced ourselves, we were welcomed and were simply shown to our room. The room was very bright, well furnished and had a large corner shower cabinet in the bathroom. The hamlet was quiet and pretty. The bar didn't open 'til 7pm but the drinks were very reasonably priced as was everything on the menu. Our meal was delicious with nothing fancy for fancy's sake and real home cooking. They family kept us amused with tales of their life history and family. The breakfast was amazingly complete, with fruit, cereals, fruit juices, continental or full English, toast and a full selection of preserves. The full English was cooked to order and obviously had quality local produce used throughout. -Excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle Upon Tyne

Traditional English Country family run pub

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Warm friendly welcome, excellent food and value for money. Mrs Stroud (Sorry we didn't get your first name), you kept us entertained all evening!
Cons: Nothing...please don't go changing trying to please the masses.
Location: Raby Castle, Barnard Castle, High Force, North Yorkshire Moors.
If you want a Premier Inn, or a Vintage Inn style pub then don't go here. This is a great traditional British pub with real character and indeed characters running it. We arrived and were welcomed by one of the pub's owners and taken to our lovely large room with high quality oak furniture and a large ensuite shower room. The room was well equipped with a proper tea/coffee station and plenty of supplies. The evening meal was in the pub and fantastic value for money and extremely well cooked. Piping hot, on a hot plate (I hate luke warm food). My Ribeye steak was cooked to perfection and served with home made chips and fresh veg. We spent an enjoyable evening talking with one of the owners who was far more entertaining than sitting watching Britain's Got Talent, she really should write the book she talked about...it would be a best seller. We slept well and had plenty of hot water in the morning. Breakfast was cooked to order and again a high standard with a superb selection of Jams & Preserves. I can't fault the character, quality or value for money. Sadly these style Inn's are disappearing fast as we become a chain franchised plastic mediocrity. We need to retain these places as part of our heritage and not turn every wonderful village pub into a gastro chef pretentious and expensive restaurant. If you want to see what British pubs should be like then go to the Four All's near Richmond for a warm and friendly welcome and service. Brilliant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sunderland, UK

So close to a 5* rating

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Very friendly and comfy
Cons: Not to send out food which is not correctly cooked
Location: Bowes museum, Barnard Castle, Thorp Perrow Arboretum, High Force Waterfall
I would stay there again if I wanted to stay in the area, it was a very enjoyable stay with only a couple of minor flaws e.g. the room and bathroom look spotlessly clean but there was a lot of dust on the light fitting in the bathroom. Our room was large comfortable and very well furnished, although it could do with WiFi The food is good home cooked food and plentiful but they do tend to send out food which is not right then ask you if it is ok, otherwise it is good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln

Lovely light and spacious room

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Quiet location, spacious bedroom.
Cons: Hot running water in the room would be helpful - the shower was excellent, though.
This hotel was a lovely surprise. We usually stay in Richmond when in this part of the world, but thought we would try the Four Alls and were delighted with the spacious and light room, and very comfortable bed. There was an excellent breakfast (all included in price) with a great range of cereals, and also a good menu for those wanting a cooked breakfast. Excellent value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jones from Cambridgeshire

Lovely placed to stay

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels
We were made very welcome. Rooms was excellent, as was the evening meal and breakfast. Would recommend staying there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rob the lawyer from Manchester

Superb value , great food

Posted Feb 16, 2014 on Hotels
A very pleasant family run hotel. Clean room , friendly service and a bang on full English for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely location, the rooms were fantastic

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff, comfortable and quiet rooms. Great location
Cons: I dont want to criticise as we really enjoyed it, but a minor internal facelift and a few more comfortable chairs to the pub could work wonders
Location: Stunning scenery and lots of lovely villages
We stayed here whilst competing in the national cycling hill climb championships. They were extremely accommodating to our needs and are not strangers to the weekend adventurers. The rooms were perfect with storage, a comfy mattress and good en suite. Cant really grumble, they ticked all the boxes. We did not sample the evening food as we already had plans. However, they seemed genuinely disappointed that we didn't sample a full cooked breakfast, which to me shows pride in their food. Recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by mrs barkworth from sheffield

The Four Alls

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel excellent value for money. Portion sizes at the restaurant are brilliant. Lovely hosts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter and Debs from Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, UK

Great Rest at the Four Alls Inn

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Pros: Food and peace and quiet and lovely comfy bed with white Egyptian cotton bed linen. Nice outside garden. No problems parking.
Cons: Tv had set top box and was a bit small and if you are always on you phone or need wi fi it is only available in the pool room, no anywhere else.
Very helpful people, what a great chef fess, good size portions, all homemade food! The bedroom furniture was very modern light solid oak I wish I could have fit it in my suitcase. If you want peace and quiet and good food this is the place for you. Lovely quiet village no shop no bus no trouble.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dorothy from Norfolk, UK

Lovely place to stay

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Pros: The whole place
Cons: There wasn't any
Location: Not far from A66 in a quiet little village
Landlady and Landlord extremely friendly, given a warm welcome. Stairlift available. Room cosy and very clean, bed very comfortable. Garden to sit in and nice walks available. Food excellent and plenty of it, breakfast included in the price. We would certainly stay again if we travelled in that direction.