Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Can't wait to go back!

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
We loved the Gillygate pub and will definitely be back to stay again soon. The rooms are lovely and modern, very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great and the staff were really friendly too. Very reasonable rates in a great location - what more could you ask for?
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wright Battye Chambre.

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent location for the wonderful centre of York. Had the "Wright Battye chambre" four nights for our wedding anniversary. Named after a former landlord it is very large and well appointed.Super breakfast included, and good selection of cask beers!Polite and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by Cheryl from Huddersfield

shopping weekend

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
Great food, great staff. Room lovely and big. 2 mins from centre. Lots of places to eat nearby. Have eaten there before and thought we'd try staying. Will stay again.
3 out of 5
by Anne from Melbourne

ok pub

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
This was a nice pub close to the centre of town and the York Minster. It was within easy walking distance of all attractions. The room was fine however it was very noisy facing onto the street, and when we closed the window it was too hot. The breakfast service was very slow and the food just adequate. The staff were very friendly and pleasant however.
3 out of 5
by Sue from Hertfordshire

So disappointed - check carefully before booking

Posted Aug 9, 2015 on Hotels
The room was spotless and all new, however, it was in a converted 'shed' beside the beer garden and the room next door (garage doors) contained a loud machine which was on day and night cooling the cellar. We said immediately the noise from this machine made the room unsuitable (and this was during the day), and it kept me awake most of the night. We shut the curtains to stop people sitting in the beer garden looking in, but there was nothing to be done about the noise, and no other rooms were available. The next day I was so exhausted it ruined our visit which we had to cut short.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay at the Gilligate. August 2015

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Pros: Situated in a very good location, within walking distance of the shops and close to all the amenities and sights within York.
Cons: Just a small matter of being unable to close the bathroom door !!
Location: Excellent location close to shops and local attractions
Made very welcome by the pleasant and friendly staff. The room was comfortable and clean with a spacious bathroom.
3 out of 5
by Gary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Andrea from Oceanside, CA

Great Experience

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
It was a perfect location, just outside the wall of York. Shambles was an easy walk, the train station was also within walking distance. The Gullygate was recently updated- lovely! The Staff was wonderful and very helpful! The "Full English Breakfast" was great! We would stay here again!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great pub stay

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: It has a cool courtyard/patio. The food and vibe were great.
Location: Walk about a block and you are in the old town of York.
This place is very cool. It is a pub so don't expect it to be quiet. Food was good and staff was very friendly. We got there early and our room was ready. They watched our bags all day the day we left because we had a late train out of town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Kind staff, facilities not good. Identity crisis.

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Location. Comfortable bed. Staff. Good breakfast.
Cons: rubbish bins missing non-ensuite room Pub goers in my bathroom! lacking electrical outlets loud rooms loud toilets
Things you likely want to bring with you if you stay here in room 3: Bathmat (none provided) Slippers (you have to go across the hallway to get to either the toilet or bathroom) Flannel (none provided) Extension cord (only plug in the room doesn't reach anywhere close to the bed) Ear plugs (room is on street. Not their fault. Loud repetitive music from bar is their fault) Mace (going to take a bath or shower requires you to go out of your room and down the hall. Loud male voices were out in the hallway for a period of a half hour. Not a very comfortable feeling for a female traveling alone) A university bathroom bag (you can't lock your own bathroom, so you better take everything with you each way) A sense of balance (no handhold for the tub or shower) Rubbish bin for the bathroom or toilet room. (None provided) To be fair the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The people working were very helpful and polite. Everything looks to have been recently refurbished. However a lot of details are missing in adverts such as the fact that my bathroom was not en suite and simply anyone can walk upstairs from the bar, which happened. When I expressed my disappointment in the fact that the bathroom was not en suite my other option was room number seven which was out by the beer garden. Literally looking onto the beer garden. Just.. No.