Ratings based on 1,299 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

An excellent 5* hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2017
All the staff had a positive attitude - nothing was too much trouble.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Great location, great staff, great hotel.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: The staff, the location, the rooms and creature comforts. It is every member of staff whom I came across that keeps me coming back.
Cons: Nothing at all.
Location: Lots to do, centrally located to all there is to do in York.
Wonderful all round. Stayed here three times and now has become a hard habit to break.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best of York

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Cons: Room service
Location: Everything is so close by- you will never need a cab
The Grand Hotel & Spa in York is so beautifully situated for those unfamiliar with York & traveling by train - really just across the street ! Our room on the first floor was so much more ballroom than normal English sized hotel room that we were completely spoiled to anything else we encountered from there on. The downstairs staff was just lovely & very helpful & informative, they helped us define the first "must sees" in York on our too short stay. The only reason not to get a full 5 stars was the last mornings room service order... after such sumptuous offerings for breakfast buffet downstairs, we were surprised that our room service order the next day was so very literal ... poached egg... no toast/ cracker; coffee- 1 cold cup, plus our spartan order cost $58 / £45 ! Get dressed & have the "Continental " downstairs that offers absolutely everything you could come up with for breakfast on the menu!! Over all, this is such a lovely hotel. I look forward to returning & spend MUCH more time in amazing York & surrounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

If you want luxury, stay at The Grand!

Posted Apr 23, 2017
We had the most wonderful weekend staying at The Grand Hotel for our 10th wedding anniversary. It lives up to its five star rating in every way. Friendly staff on arrival go out of their way to make you feel special. On check in, our room was upgraded to a suite due to availability and at no extra charge. The suite was fit for a king... The swinging point for us when booking The Grand over any other York hotel was the bathroom, and this did not disappoint... High ceilings. Huge windows. Roll top bath. His and hers sink. Stunning double walk in shower. Pure Luxury. The super king bed was extremely comfortable and it was lovely having the extra space with the lounge area in the suite. Two desks. Coffee table and luxury coffee facilities. Loved the velvet chairs. Up to date magazines. Plenty of space to make yourself feel quite at home. Courtesy umbrellas. We chose not to eat evening meals at the Grand as we wanted to explore the city, but breakfast was lovely. The restaurant staff are exceptional and so polite, promptly seating us at our tables and bringing tea and coffee. There is a generous selection of continental foods, however, the serving dishes for the cooked breakfast seemed rather small for the number of people being served and so quickly ran out... I'm sure this would be rectified by having larger serving dishes... Very tasty though! We also loved wandering down to the relaxing pool in our complimentary bath robes. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely staffs and good location

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Location: Very near station. However, night is not very safe with lot of drunken kids finding trouble!
Staffs are very helpful! Clean Near station Quite
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Truly a 5 Star Hotel!

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING!
Cons: It would be nice if there were more TV stations to choose from.
The hotel was absolutely spectacular! The rooms are beautiful and the service is superb. The nightly turn down service was also much appreciated. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanted a luxury stay in York!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brough

Beautiful hotel near station and shops restaurants

Posted Apr 12, 2017
We had a lovely stay beautiful hotel friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

An absolutely wonderful experience!

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Gorgeous rooms, first rate restaurant, convenient location.
Location: Tucked away from traffic but close to the downtown core and to York Minster.
The service at the Grand Hotel and Spa was outstanding. From the moment we were greeted upon arrival until the cab door closed on departure we were treated with the utmost courtesy in a warm and engaging manner. The room met all of our needs and was extremely comfortable, the service and food in the restaurant was excellent, and the recption staff and concierge were the definition of helpful. The most appropriate accolade I can think if is that we will absolutely be staying here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlisle

Grand Hotel and Spa, York

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Comfortable environment, attentive and polite staff. Comfortable lounge area where the staff really look after you.
Location: Very easy walk to centre of city for shopping and the cathedral. Railway Museum and a stroll or cruise along the river also convenient.
Easy walk from railway station to be greeted and welcomed to the hotel by the concierge and the staff at reception. Impressive building and was also impressed by the interior which contributes to the five star feeling about the hotel. Very comfortable room and all the staff I found polite and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great place to stay in York

Posted Apr 8, 2017
"Lovely hotel, great location near train station and town center.