Ratings based on 1,273 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York, UK

Nice city centre location

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Excellent hotel, lovely facilities. Staff very nice. Easy walking distance to the city centre and railway station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Luxury weekend break in York

Posted Mar 13, 2017
We had a fabulous stay here, everything was to the highest of standards. Food, accommodation, and service all impeccable. We will definitely be visiting again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

class establishment

Posted Mar 7, 2017
everything exuded class you expect from a 5 star hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Anniversary weekend

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Beautiful hotel with a lot of character, staff were very friendly and took the time to learn a bit about their guests before hand. Breakfast didn't blow me away but it was nice. The hotel had left us a card and some chocolates as a gift which was a lovely personal touch. Spa facilities were superb and the bar area was really sophisticated. I would definately recommend and look forward to going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Girly weekend away, perfect hotel & location

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: No
Location: Excellent location for station & walking into York
Fabulous hotel, all staff extremely attentive,professional and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Excellent will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with a great location

Posted Mar 4, 2017
A beautifully done hotel with a great location and a luxurious stay in York
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The grand hotel and spa york

Posted Feb 18, 2017
When we first arrived we were told we had to put a £100 deposit on any extras we wanted on top of paying for an expensive suite! We agreed to this however we were then denied the drinks, films on tv, any food because we didn't have a credit card!!! We weren't told about needing a credit card so couldn't even get a drink in our room! We then got to our room and all we could hear until about 3 in the morning were students walking past the room drunk! And to top it off at 9am all we could here was drilling and banging from the construction site currently on the premises! Not what we expected from how much we paid absolutely terrible experiences wouldn't recommend for the money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bury St Edmunds

Great hotel, great location

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: The old world charm, elegance, grandeur and comfort, attentive staff,excellent food and drink.The Grand would be our first choice every time in York.
Location: Excellent location, a short walk into the city centre for shops, restaurants, pubs. The Minster, the Shambles, the Railway Museum & Yorvik centre
We love York and have spent several long weekends and mini breaks in the city, we try whenever possible to stay at the Grand, to some it may seem a little indulgent for a budget break but for us it is the icing on the cake. Old world charm, elegance, grandeur and comfort, attentive staff,excellent food and drink.The Grand would be our first choice every time when staying in York.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great to be Back

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: It central location, within walking distance from train station
Cons: Nothing..
Location: You are beside the river, lots of lovely eating places close by and shops just over the riverside. Park opposite.
Our second stay at this very impressive establishment. Everyone made the stay comfortable and relaxing. Housekeeping a bit too eager to turn bed down at 6pm whilst we were getting ready each night but that was our only small gripe. Needed a flat pillow and that was done immediately. As I say nothing is too much bother. The door staff are so thoughtful too and do make this place welcoming and appealing. THANK YOU AGAIN
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location between station and town

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Very helpful, cheerful and professional staff
Cons: Heating in room too hot even in freezing weather. Turned it off most of time.
Location: Between train station and town. Easy and safe to walk everywhere. Lots of history, beautiful views, cafes and good food.
Love visiting York. Especially when it is a bit quieter in the Winter. The Minster never fails to impress. Visited the York Art Museum this time, very good with lovely little cafe.