Ratings based on 289 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for a city break

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Interesting period property. Had a car park
Location: Very close to city centre. The Star on the river great for dinner
Very welcoming staff who kindly upgraded our room. Lots of nice touches with fresh milk in the fridge and White company toiletries. Easy stroll into the city and walks along the river. Would definitely recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for the price. Close to City centre - 10 minu

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Ebookers
Georgian building, old & tortuous, no kind to disabled. Good food, good service. No bar.
1 out of 5
by Hannah

DO NOT BOOK. Dirty rooms, rude staff!

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
I booked the "Luxury" Grange Hotel for a special occasion and they made sure it was certainly not that! We were kept waiting upon check in, as our room was not ready. After travelling all day to get there this was not the service we expected. On top of that, we were told that as there was no space in the car park we would have to find somewhere else and pay. When checking in to our room, there was someone else in there (!) which was a disconcerting start to our stay. Our room was extremely grubby, the menus provided had old, dried food on them and there were stains all over the carpet - not what you expect considering this hotel is supposed to be luxury and 4 star. When I complained about this the staff were very rude and offered me nothing - they just consistently declined to do anything about the service and the disgusting room. Room was really disappointing and terrible value - I've had better stays in Travelodges. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Walking distance to town

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: nothing
Location: see report above
Very good hotel. Staff were very helpful, and friendly. Excellent place to stay if you want to see the city walls and cathedral. Easy walking distance to the shambles and shops too. Three persons in our party, and all nearly 70., so could walk everywhere with ease. (No Hills to climb). bathrooms were excellent and modern. Very clean, and the rooms were comfortable and well serviced. Hotel has lift, but the porter is more than willing to take your case to your room, and tell you all about the local sites to see. Advisable, as the hotel is a bit of a Labyrinth, and one can get lost in the corridors. Parking can be a problem though, but when we arrived, there were three empty spaces, so very pleased. Hotel dining room was booked out for a function. The lady on reception then arranged for a table in the back room, so that we could enjoy a meal on our first night there. Food was excellent, and priced lower than most hotels. Overall, a great stay, Hotel was easily 4 star, and the staff were 5 star.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Great hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Quiet and very comfortable. Also in the perfect situation as it is a 10 minhte walk from the centre!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Expensive, noisy room, indifferent staff

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Near to York Town Centre
Paid premium rate excluding breakfast for very ordinary double room. Asked for king bed but got 2 x singles pushed together. Kept awake by other guests treading on extremely creaky floorboards and sound travelling through apparently very thin walls. Water seal hanging out of shower panel. Very small car park so had to park other side of main road and then move car before 10am to avoid charges / ticket. On 2nd day room key did not work, reception staff very indifferent to re-enabling it. After complaining, manager offered to include breakfast free of charge which was gratefully accepted but left with feeling this was still poor value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whitby

Quiet well run hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Location: Not too far from the centre of York and easy to get to without having to battle with the inner city traffic.
Ticked all the boxes. Nice staff, relaxing lounges, very well appointed rooms and excellent food
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from preston

great hotel...

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
friendly staff...great location 5 mins brisk walk to the walls of York city. we ate lunch in the restaurant...very nice...breakfast excellent..we had a room at the front..the busy road was not a problem for noise. would definitely stay again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
No complaints. Excellent hotel in brilliant location for York centre.