Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Cons: Car park restricted due to building work.
Nice hotel. Great location with an easy walk into York centre. Staff were all very good. Restaurant service was good, breakfast was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chester

Handy Location

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: Nice touch of providing fresh milk in the room fridge to make tea or coffee
Great Location for walking into York with free parking in the Hotel car park. There is some building work going on in the basement which made breakfast noisy, but did not impact too much on our stay. Comfortable room, great breakfast and lovely staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Allan from Vero Beach

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent, comfortable, hotel, staff was friendly, courteous, accommodating, even with construction going on. Excellent location with just a short walk to the center
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anita

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert H

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice public rooms. Staff very helpful and friendly. Hotel did not have a lift. However, bellman carried the bags to the third floor. Very nice breakfast. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Patrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great mix of nostalgic luxury & modern facilities

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: I loved the ambiance, décor and situation in relation to the tourist area.
Cons: Sadly my room was too hot and close to the next one. Sound and movement from my neighbours was invasive, even the bed moved when they walked around
I enjoyed a nice relaxing weekend in York. This is a great hotel for such a break due to the short pleasant walk into the city centre, very luxurious communal rooms, friendly attentive staff and high standards of catering. The live singer in the bar on Friday evening was most welcome, perfect balance of entertainment without being intrusive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gino from The Grange

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
This is a lovely hotel in a perfect location for seeing the medieval section of York. The hotel is in a former home and has beautiful public rooms and a lovely dining room. There is no elevator which may be a problem for some visitors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark from Wigan

Sightseeing stopover

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
Spent one night at the hotel after sightseeing in the city. Hotel is really nice has a great relaxed atmosphere and the decor is superb. We didn't eat at the hotel but after spending the evening in the city we returned and had a drink in the hotel bar. Room was very good, clean and had a bit of character. Our room was in the "old" part of the hotel and not the new annexe. Breakfast was splendid and my partner had the vegetarian breakfast which was also really good! My advice would be get there early to get a car parking spot and ask to be in the older part of the hotel. It's only a 5min walk from the hotel to the city walls. Great place would recommend!