Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

beaut place to stay over

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: food really good local brews brilliant and breakfast very quick in being served
Cons: no one in reception when we arrived and bar staff helped need to be a little more empathy or training with people skills
Location: captains cook birth place waste time go to his boyhood museum
all good no major problems quite warm as you go upstairs
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney. Australia

Very comfortable hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Nothing really to dislike.
Cons: Should keep updating to meet all client expectations.
Location: Whitby, the Cleveland Hills all in short distance for exploring.
We stayed at the Highfield for two nights before going to London then home to Australia. The room was not very big but very comfortable and so clean. The staff were lovely young people and a pleasure to talk to. Breakfast was enjoyable and set one up for the day. location is good if touring the North East, obviously a car is essential . Tom and Stella Thomas
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2016 by Reception, Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review our property, it is always great to hear when a guest has enjoyed their stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

Condition of the Hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: Maintain noise-free environment for the hotel guests, particularly when the bar/pub closes. Replace the dirty and smelly carpets
Location: Location of the hotel is good and accessible.
It was very noisy particularly late night/early morning due to bar/pub. We could not sleep at all until around 1_00am; after more than 5 hours driving. The carpets on the stairs to the bedrooms are loose, dirty and very smelly. Also are the carpets on the landings. Staff are very good and welcoming. Unfortunately, cannot say the same for the hotel. The rooms just okay. but not 3-Stars standards.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2016 by Reception, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property! We welcome all feedback here at the hotel as it helps us to identify the areas we need to improve on.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

average

Posted Jun 23, 2016
average breakfast average bathroom no staff on at reception
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2016 by Reception, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property! We welcome all feedback here as it helps us to identify where we can improve
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Frienly staff

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Very friendly staff... But room quality was average.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Midlands

Excellent value

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: A very comfortable 1 night stay, friendly and helpful staff and excellent value for money.
Cons: Bathroom and carpets looked a bit shabby, and the breakfast service seemed understaffed and understocked, but hard to find serious fault at £27/night
Friendly staff on arrival, room swipe entry wasn't working but was quickly transferred to an alternative room which was very clean, comfortable, and warm, and had no issues with noise. The room and corridors were in need of a bit of freshening up, but have stayed in far worse for a lot more money, so would happily stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Dennis B.

Did what it said on the tin!

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Ebookers
The first room, bed was lumpy, they were happy to change my room, second room was very comfortable. Most of the staff were very nice and happily accommodating, one particular person was not, but there was an apology so no more to be said. Open friendly, sports type pub area, but my room was away from the noise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2015
room smelt of damp, I had to ask for an air freshener. The beds were rock hard.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near park

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Over all the Hotel was value for money the food was good like wise the service was good as well. The room was clean and was far enough away not to be bothered my noise from the bar. The only down side was a few tiles of in the bath room and it needed a little TLC all thou was clean
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NEWCASTLE, CONSETT

Handy hotel, Ideal for our purpose very friendly.

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: pleasant and friendly staff good food and accomodation well worth the money that we paid, We will be back.
Cons: Nothing very good value for money and excellent food.
Location: located just out of the town centre but still close enough to enjoy middlesborough, good town,bars and shopping facilities.
Booked for a get together with some friends, Arrived to a pleasant and welcoming environment, room was nice food good and service really good with a pleasant man serving us a very nice full english breakfast, We shall be returning to middlesbrough in the summer for a 50th birthday party and shall be booking into the same hotel then. Good and practical and very close and easy for the town centre without actually being in the centre of town.