Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oldham

Very grand hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Location, clean
Cons: More staff at breakfast
Although staff were friendly I did not feel very welcome as the building was intimidating and the breakfast room was too busy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a majestic stay.

Posted Dec 31, 2015
The hotel looks amazing from the front and the entrance hall is very impressive. A standard double room was disappointingly dull. A plain room with a hospital looking bed which was too small and very uncomfortable. A smoke alarm that flashed above the pillows all night disturbing our uncomfortable sleep. The wallpaper was peeling and every metal surface in the bathroom was rusty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lincolnshire

Posted Dec 5, 2015
First time at Majestic but from now on - No other than this one _ it was wonderful - everything was wonderful - especially the staff . Well done to all .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: The reception staff
Room smelled of paint so had to have windows open in winter. Scaffolding outside- gave myself and the decorator a shock when I came out of the bathroom naked! I was not warned that building works would be carried out early in the morning or I would have kept my curtains drawn( being on the 4th floor- privacy wouldn't normally be an issue!) A plug in radiator in the room which smelled of burnt dust when used, no other form of heating. I had arranged for someone to collect a very important parcel from reception. They had to come on 4 separate occasions before they received the item. The receptionist who took the parcel went off duty and didn't label up or pass the details onto the new reception staff. It took 5 phone calls to get this sorted! Breakfast staff were efficient and polite and breakfast was faultless. Ate in the bar one evening but they forgot 2 main parts of the meal so that by the time the missing items appeared the food was cold. Wouldn't go back to this hotel. I stayed at the holiday Inn before and will return there when I visit harrogate again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk East Anglia

Well Situated hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: More staff
Location: Location good,shopping & Dining
Our stay was pleasant although the weather was not.Our first visit to Harrogate & The Majestic did not disappoint.On checking in we were told that we were upgraded,the room was lovely,clean & quite big though not as big as our friends,they had not been upgraded.We had lovely white bathrobes & slippers (they did not). Breakfast was buffet & very good although we waited quite awhile for tea& coffee. In parts the hotel is very tired in places & need more staff as there was waiting at the bar as well as breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by paul from Mansfield

Satisfying stay.

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
Great location for central Harrogate. Would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tyne & Wear

Tired hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2015
having booked a premier double room I was genuinely shocked at the small size. It was very cramped and didnt match the what I have come to expect from the price that was paid. A very lack lustre experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from macclesfield

one night only for family celebration

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: see above
Cons: outside appearance
Location: ideal for our needs. we only visited family
very satisfactory. breakfast excellent, nothing more to say
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Peter from Coventry

Exceptional restaurant staff

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
Restaurant staff have been brilliantly trained to deliver exceptional service. Room on the 4th floor a little tired but never had such immediate hot water!