Ratings based on 346 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chesterfield

Hotel in harrrogate

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Good location unfortunate they charged £8 for parkimg. Excellent hotel just my poached eggs on toast needed to be softer.!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Nostalgic for old fashioned opulence
Cons: Parking reservation and charges.
Location: Good fro Harrogate town center and also RHS Gardens
Good location, relaxing swimming pool and sauna.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to conference center and town

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Great hotel, quite grand but a little tired! Brilliant location, very central. Used gym and pool on visit, small jacuzzi nice sauna. Breakfast fab!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Aged like a good wine

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Definitely Majestic position overlooking the conference centre with large grounds currently filled with construction of temp conference rooms. Good leisure complex and spa facilities. Room was comfy large standard bedroom. Niggles? Bath side panel detached and not fixed when asked plus very slippy bathroom floor when wet. Cured by asking for extra floor towels. Inside of wardrobe floor needed cleaning. Otherwise 6 very enjoyable days in a hotel worthy of its name.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Nice hotel close to centre of town

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: Close to centre, nice grounds,pleasant staff, clean, comfortable
Cons: Free Parking for guests
Location: Town centre very close for shopping of all kinds. Very nice Park nearby Large variety of restaurants available
Good experience although other guests were initially a little noisy but soon settled down, A wedding party I believe.Very big building lovely grounds
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent option for a Harrogate hotel

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: It is a grand building and centrally located to Harrogate. The rooms were a good size and clean.
Cons: Considering it's a large hotel there wasn't enough supplies or restocking from staff to cope with the breakfast rush.
Location: There is a fabulous park nearby with plenty of activities for children. It's also right behind the conference centre.
Hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel itself has been looked after but still looks jaded in some areas. The dining rooms are massive and there was a wedding party on one of the nights but the noise did not make it up to our room. There is a car park charge for each night which is a bit much considering you've spent a lot of money to pay for a room. The breakfasts are buffet style but they don't always keep up to speed with restocking considering the amount of guests they have. Overall it was a pleasant stay for us on a leisure trip but if we were business people on a tight schedule I would have stayed elsewhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good sized rooms, good location

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Be more aware of your guests reason for staying and be more accommodating. It can be done, I have experienced it many times.
Overall this was a pleasing hotel that I would recommend but with a caveat. Location was excellent, decor of the public areas Grand and the gardens well maintained. The room we were given (a twin room at the end of a wing) was very large but lacked a full length mirror. This didn't matter for us, but if you want to check out your appearance before attending an exquisite dinner, you'd have a bit of a struggle. Breakfast staff got very confused when a few of us asked to grab an earlier breakfast from the cold Buffett stand. The duty manager on each day did oblige (thank you) but the staff seemed to struggle with it. The dining area was lovely and the cold breakfast selection completely adaquate. Unfortunately I do have a big gripe.... I know hotels have conference and banqueting facilities.... I understand that weddings have loud music till all hours, but..... Given the hotel was not full, I cannot understand why we were placed right at the corner wing, directly above the gazebo ... Listening to loud music and repetitive bass lines through till past midnight. This was made worse by the fact we were attending a yoga convention at the HIC just around the corner and needed a peaceful nights sleep ready for an early start. A good hotel manager should've made us aware of the potential loud music on the Saturday night, at the very least, and checked we were OK with it or needed a quieter room location. Conclusion; great location, grand decor, nice grounds...check for loud music!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North of England

Great location short walk to town

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: It's location, size of rooms, staff,
Cons: Rooms could probably do with refurbishing , but beds comfortable and spotless bedding.
Location: Short walk to great assortment of really good places to eat, and shop. A visit to R.H.S.Harlow Carr gardens is lovely way to spend a day .
Lovely hotel with gardens,central to town,good parking. A little worn at the edges, but still showing signs of past grandeur . Rooms we have had were all good sizes, with 2 ! armchairs ,so no need for one of us to sit on the bed to read a book, or watch t.v. Staff very friendly,food in restaurant pretty good standard . Would use this hotel again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in grounds convenient to town centre

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: faded grandeur
Cons: some touch up of paintwork
Location: Harrogate is simply lovely, full of history, antique shopping, Bettys tearooms and Royal Horticultural Gardens at Harlow Carr along with boutiques an
Large comfortable room quiet, comfortable bed and ideal room temperature- not too hot and good ventilation reasonable price
1 out of 5
by Richard

Not a good hotel if you want to sleep or park

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
Very poor sound insulation between the rooms next door and outside and was kept up most the night so had little to no sleep. Hotel looking very dated. No parking for guests during my stay as the small car park was full with delegates for an event.