Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First rate break

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Very nice hotel for a leisurely break, second visit. Will be back again. Staff very helpful. Breakfast excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Large,elegant hotel, excellent location.

Posted Aug 18, 2015
We wanted a relaxing short break at a place with character and with leisure facilities. The hotel fulfilled both criteria admirably. The room was large and comfortable. The staff were attentive and friendly. The facilities were spot on and the entire place had a relaxed and peaceful atmosphere - well, until the fire alarm at 4 00 am! Even that was handled professionally and efficiently. Would stay there again without hesitation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: Staff and public rooms
Cons: Bedrooms need refurbishing - not 4*
Location: Very central
Why are you asking me to repeat myself - bedrooms are not 4 star - public rooms and staff excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leigh, Lancashire

Nice Hotel, Good Location

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Our stay was quite pleasant, It was easy to find and the staff were welcoming. Little disappointed that we had to pay for parking on site even though we were staying in the hotel, also this wasn't mention on check in. The room was nice and clean, a little basic and looked quite tired and old. Location was great, only 5 minutes walking distance to centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large rather unattractive hotel close to town

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Close to town centre
Cons: Only one lift working ok for us on first floor but our friends on third floor had to carry bags down on check out morning.
Location: Lots of bars and shops close by
We stayed in premium room on first floor large and light with windows that actually opened good modern bathroom but not enough tea bags and milk!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NCL

Great hotel in a fantastic location

Posted Aug 10, 2015
This is the second time my wife & I have stayed here & I hope to stay many times again. The hotel may be seen as some as a little dated although this hasn't been reflected in the bedrooms. The staff have always been fantastic, very welcoming & always with smiles on their faces. For such a large hotel with a pool & spa facilities to be in the centre of Harrogate is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Very good breakfast with lots of choice Big spacious rooms with good added extras to use during the stay Good decor in premium rooms Pool and jacuzzi very good and staff very friendly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Braintree, Essex

Photo far from reality

Posted Jul 26, 2015
The hotel seen better days, on arrival there was no parking space, the bathroom smelt of urine and the cleaners left window opened to air it a bit. Later on that night we have discovered that the WC soil pipe was leaking. The room was big and spacious even for our Borzoi. However the hotel staff did not inform us of any dog friendly areas in the hotel and did not know whether we could dine on a bar with a dog or not so we did. Dinner was lovely and to my surprise my long drink was served in a pint glass. The gardens were full of equipment from previous event and we could not use hotel grounds to exercise the dog. Also we were told that the breakfast will be served at 7am but was served at 8am so we were delayed for our next appointment. The breakfast and car parking charge were refunded on our departure due to our complaints. We would not have booked the hotel if we would have known we could not use the grounds. Over all experience was not to bad but we will not be returning nor recommending the hotel to our friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Nice hotel to stay for Crime Writing Festival

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Cons: To not have loads of marquees and stuff going on all over the gardens which effectively barred me from one of the hotel's key features.
Location: Pump House museum is nice, BED is good to eat at for a bit of an unusual place to eat. Jamie's is nice but totally overpriced.
Hotel was very nice. Single room comfy not poky - 4th floor so good view as well. Excellent shower and nice breakfast. This was not one of the newly fitted rooms but in spite of that it was lovely - I did worry a bit when read about all the comments of tired decor and so on. The staff were really helpful (brought me two extra pillows as I like to be propped up high) and found out info on how to get a bus to RHS Harlow Carr near Harrogate. The ony thing that marred it was the fact that the HOme and Gift show was on two days after I was there so they were busy setting up marquees in the garden. THis meant I was not able to walk around the gardens (one of the reasons I chose this hotel) which was a big shame, especially as the weather was lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Lovely place, well situated, but pre-book the spa

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Fantastic room and warm service. We really enjoyed our stay but were disappointed by the spa as we tried to book as soon as we arrived only to be told it was fully booked and that we could therefore not have a treatment. Only the spa packages guarantee a treatment and there was no way of booking online that we could see. This was disappointing as we were looking for a spa when booking our break. Otherwise as I say it is a great place.