Ratings based on 430 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
Efficient hotel if a little dated , good size room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon UK

Talk about an impressive looking hotel

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: It's location, parking and how it looks from the outside
Cons: staff training; hello, good morning, a smile, it all helps !
Location: greart location
Talk about an impressive looking hotel, from the outside. This is a great looking hotel,. I stayed there for 3 days and it was "nice". It was clean, a bit old and sad in places but nice. The only issue was about staff and staff training. Many of the staff were just miserable. Very few smiled or even said hello or good morning. A bit of basic training would go a long way. I would go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Handy location, great breakfast

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: The breakfast. The location. The history of the hotel. The friendly staff.
Cons: The room were a little tired but ... I would rather they stay tired than pay more as they were clean and comfortable.
Location: The hotel is a short walk from the town centre and closer than it implies on some web sites. The Chinese restaurant in the old baths is fantastic.
The cost of the hotel reflects the standard of the room. Our room was large but needed some work to be perfect. The room was clean and I would definitely recommend staying in this hotel. The location was very good and it is easy to walk into the town centre to access restaurants and pubs.There is a charge for the car park and it was a little expensive. The breakfast was very good and the eggs were excellent (eggs sell ant!). I have never had such good eggs at a hotel breakfast and I have used plenty of hotels over the years both here and abroad. I had fried eggs and scrambled eggs as they were both good. All the staff we spoke to were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2017
Lovely old fashioned hotel, spacious and central to town
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north west

Good hotel.

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: The room and breakfast were good.
Cons: More pleasant reception staff and maybe a bit of a facelift but as the hotel is huge, that would cost a fortune.
Location: The location is fantastic for Betty's Tearooms, 10 minute walk away.
The hotel food and cleanliness was very good, most of the staff were very nice the only problem was the reception staff, one particular lady was not helpful at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Majestic from the outside, but

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Felt let down, facilities basic and in bad need of some upgrading. Good maybe for one night only otherwise too expensive
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leamington Spa

Not a lot to say

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Rooms large and clean
Cons: Pretty much everything!
Location: Harrogate is a lovely town, with plenty to see and do
Pretty average, nothing memorable, could be so much more! Reception staff lack lustre and look a bit fed up, maybe something to do with it being a wedding venue. Room very large and clean, bathroom dated. Struggled to get to lift had to negotiate through a mob of wedding guests with our cases! Layout could be much improved
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Harrogate

Posted Apr 3, 2017
A decent hotel near the town centre. Rooms large size. Reasonable parking (£8). Breakfast buffet included. Nice staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby

Not too big to care

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Meals excellent
Cons: Some of the décor is now jaded
Location: Really good location - just a short walk into Harrogate centre. easy access to York, Knaresborough, Skipton, Leeds, etc.
Problem with booking at check in, but friendly staff resolved problem and gave us an upgraded room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Good location

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Location only, but to be fair, we didn't check out any of their other facilities, as we were disappointed with the pool being closed
Cons: Up dating and decorating. The paint work in our room must have had a dozen coats of paint on and was so badly chipped, that it looked quite dirty.
Location: PLenty of bars and restaurants in Harrogate and easy access to Ripon and other places
we did manage to check in early, but noticed there was a note on the reception desk that the pool was closed due to technical difficulties. We were really disappointed with this as the reason we booked this hotel was because of the pool. Parking was easy, lots of spaces when we arrived and cost £8 for overnight stay, but when we checked out the next morning and paid for parking, we were told we could leave the car in the carpark, if we needed to do any shopping etc.