Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north yorkshire

Great place for a weekend away

Posted May 31, 2016
Stayed here for 2 nights, lovely building, friendly, helpful owners and excellent breakfast. 20 minutes drive into York and also handy for Thirsk. Would definitely recommend the Old Rectory and would return again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2016
A very friendly atmosphere and comfortabke accomadation
4 out of 5
by Rainer from Oyten

Individuelles Haus mit Charme und Herzlichkeit

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
Die Old Rectory ist ein fast 300 Jahre altes Haus mit sehr viel Geschichte, ist familiengeführt und daher sehr persönlich. Wir hatten das große Familienzimmer unter dem Dach mit sehr viel Platz, guten Betten, einem großen Bettsofa für die Kinder. Das Badezimmer ist vielleicht weniger komfortabel als das eines neuen Kettenhotels, aber dafür hat es eine Badewanne. Die Wände sind neben dem Flachbildschirmfernseher mit Bildern geschmückt, nur der Teppich könnte eine Reinigung oder einen Austausch vertragen. Das individuell zubereitete englische Frühstück war exzellent und Paul und seine Frau mit den drei Kindern überaus nett. Wer individueller wohnen möchte als in Standardhotels, dem sei die Old Rectory ans Herz gelegt, auch wenn sie relativ kostspielig ist.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warwick

The owners first class very attentive and caring.

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Hot water
Location: Lots to do all round with a car.
Room 1 was comfortable and clean but there was little hot water at the sink in the Bathroom for shaving and washing. Other than that it was good with better rooms below us on the 1st floor. Breakfast good. Location Good.
5 out of 5
by Trudi from Derby

Recory review

Posted Dec 20, 2015 on Hotels
Lovley owners very nice room had free upgrade the beds are MASSIVE. Breakfast very nice different choices. Free wifi. Car park at the back of property. Close to york 20mins away. Use park and ride great.would go back fo defo.highly recomend.
5 out of 5
by Ben from Bridgnorth

Fantastic stay

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
It was a brilliant stay shame about the creaky floorboards and bed (if you know what I mean) ;) great breakfast fantastic food with very accommodating and lovely people who own the place. Even though we were the youngest couple in the place (at 23) we were still treated with the same respect as all of the other guests. Would definitely recommend this for anyone to stay for a quiet weekend or week away.
5 out of 5
by stuart from Midsomer Norton

Highly recommend a stay here!

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of a honeymoon tour we did. This is a beautiful guest house. Every room in the house is wonderfully decorated and the beds very comfortable. The family that run it are friendly and accommodating, they were more than happy to offer advice for day trips and activities. The breakfast was amazing! They offer a full Yorkshire breakfast which was better than the 5* hotel we'd come from earlier in our honeymoon! You need to be prepared to drive anywhere, though, with York (park & ride) being about 14 miles away. Also, you'll need a taxi or to drive to the nearest pub as the village has none in. Don't let that put you off staying here, it's worth the £6 fare to the nearest pub. I would highly recommend a stay here
4 out of 5
by John from Derbyshire

Great Accommodation on Yorkshire Moors Doorstep

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
Silver Wedding Anniversary Trip and our first stay near the Yorkshire Moors. Handy location for visiting loads of places of interest and there is something for everyone within a 50 mile radius. We loved the B & B, it was well presented and a great breakfast was provided to set us up each morning. Paul and Rachael were very great Hosts and were on hand to provide information on places to eat and visit. Just one small issue for us, our room was brilliant but the bed was too hard and so we would suggest talking to the B & B directly if you would prefer a softer bed. We would definitely stay again and all rooms looked really comfortable with quality furnishings. Thank you for a great stay.
5 out of 5
by gavin from Middlesbrough

country retreat

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
Both paul and rachael were really helpful and friendly hosts. Lovely accommodation with plenty of character and a cracking breakfast. Really enjoyed our stay. Thanks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel. Quite far from city centre.

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Nice staff/owners.
Cons: Breakfast on a Sunday morning is far too early. t is unheard of to have breakfast so early.
Location: Beautiful York is just over half an hour drive away.
No provision for evening meal though they were expecting late guests.