Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bradford

Friendly pub B&B accomodation.

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Great shower in bathroom, comfy beds. Every member of staff we came across was friendly. A good "vibe" in the pub. Good food & drink prices.
Cons: Wiring around television looked untidy. TV service did not include radio stations. No problem for an overnighter but could be a niggle longer stays.
Location: Beautiful views from beer garden. Easy to find on main road. Near to Whitby.
Great overnight experience. Friendly staff who did all they could to accommodate our dining requests that changed numerous times! Great friendly local atmosphere in pub. Good standard of food. Everything you need for an overnighter. Would use again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from livetpool

Great little hotel just outside Whitby centre

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Friendly staff , great service , great food , really enjoyed our stay snd would definetly recommend
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north east

Comfortable stay with excellent food

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Cosy pub within a short drive of Whitby. Room 2 overlooks beer garden at rear. Everything we needed was provided in room although TV could have done with instructions. There were a couple of cosmetic updates required but nothing to stop us staying again. Meal we had in the pub in night was superb, I had Thai Fishcakes, partner Seabass. Both really nice. This followed by Dime Bar cake and a portion of Salted Caramel ice cream , delicious. Breakfast the following morning didn't let us down, pleasant stay with gorgeous food
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

July 1 night stay.

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Very good. Would recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huddersfield

Weekend at Whitby.

Posted Jul 11, 2016
We were looking for a place to stay whilst visiting Whitby and wanted somewhere outside of the centre, within a short taxi distance. The Plough Inn was exactly what we were looking for. We had a day in Whitby and then came back for a couple of drinks in the traditional pub downstairs before sleeping over in a comfy room. The staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay. Would definitely go back again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Overnight Moorland stay

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Location near Moors, Whitby & steam railway Comfortable beds/pillows Friendly Good breakfast
Cons: Draughty windows. Complicated TV/Satellite. Needs built-in satellite TV. Heinz ketchup & HP sauce not cheap catering sauces.
Location: Handy for Moors, Whitby & Steam Railway
Comfortable overnight stay close to Moors & Whitby
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

A lovely local pub

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: The staff couldnt do enough for you, and were always on hand. Reasonably priced food and drink.
Cons: Maybe an upgrade of bathroom facilities in the room, but overall sufficient.
Location: The seaside town of Whitby just a short drive away, plenty of shops to look around and lovely fish and chips (just dont feed the seagulls!)
It is set in a lovely quiet area just outside of Whitby, the locals are friendly and the food was excellent. The locals we overheard use their restaurant regularly, so would definitely recommend a stay at this Inn. In conclusion it was a quaint and quiet experience which is just what we needed. We would definitely stay there again, and would recommend a stay there to others too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gloucester

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Food good staff good we were given room 1.what a disaster beds are really uncomfortable they need replacing. Constant sound of fan cooler going on and off. It is impossible to sleep in this room. So don't take this room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ROOM 1 NOISY FAN

Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
Did not get any sleep during 2 night stay as room 1 has a noisy fan which goes on for 12 minutes every half hour throughout the night. We did ask about the fan and were assured it would not be operating after the bar was closed, this is just not the case and is mentioned by other travellers in 2014, 2015 reviews! The shower walls could vastly be improved if sprayed with dettol mould and mildew remover There was a quiz on one of the nights which we would have enjoyed but were not made aware of it taking place Excellent location, friendly staff. We did not have any evening meals
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely old pub in a peaceful setting

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Can't think of anything that would have improved our stay.
Location: The Plough is situated in a quiet little village and is very convenient for Whitby and Scarborough etc.
We enjoyed our stay at The Plough very much. It's a very friendly pub and the staff are pleasant and couldn't have been more helpful. Our room was small but very clean and comfortable and suited our needs perfectly. We had a very nice meal there on the Saturday night and the breakfast the follow day was lovely. Top marks !!