Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Horsham UK

Nice hotel, good sightseeing base

Posted May 19, 2017
Very nice hotel, handy for the station and a great sightseeing base. Hotel has been refurbished and is in very good condition. Service a little variable, particularly in the main restaurant but staff very friendly and accommodating overall. Rebranding from old Royal name has been a backward step as has lost identity as a long established premier York hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pilton Somerset

Convenient for the city

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Saw the Minster, climbed the tower, walked 2 kitkat fingers in the city. Walked the wall. Took the ghost bus. Visited the railway museum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

It's the little touches that make it special.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Small thing, but a magnifying mirror in the bathroom!
Location: Great location for the city of York.
A three night stay for a family funeral, made much easier and less stressful with a luxurious hotel. Room was a little small (narrow), but still had space for a king size bed and a table and two chairs! Very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was huge, and well stocked with thick robes and toiletries.The only thing I wish they had had - a magnifying mirror in the bathroom! It was the little touches that made it special - the 'tuck box' in the room (re stocked daily with chips [crisps], chocolate biscuits and candy), and a mini fridge with fresh milk for the essential morning cup of tea in the delightful china mugs! Staff went out of their way to help you. The sitting areas were large and comfortable. The garden room where we had coffee and cookies was busy, but you did not feel as if you were all squashed together and the high ceilings made for very little over heard conversations. Parking was easy, they have their own lot. A daily charge, but there were plenty of spaces available, and once we had parked up, we didn't use our car until we checked out. Check out was smooth, and we were given water for our journey along with a delightful tin of old fashioned mint imperials - as I said, it was the little things that made it special. We would stay here again for sure, and highly recomend it to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by RMansell, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and the recommendation. Delighted you enjoyed the Principal and please visit again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Greeting on arrival excellent, room just lovely, all staff very helpful and friendly, breakfast great, location next to station just so convenient
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by RMansell, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing the hotel. Please visit again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location wirk excellent view of York Minster

Posted Mar 21, 2017
The interior is excellent, the style is subtle but still grand. It is a warm, inviting hotel adjacent to the wall with excellent views of York
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Principal York Hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Well appointed and well run
Cons: They booked us a taxi in the morning with a firm called Silverstream. They never turned up on time so we had to go next door to the station.
Location: Excellent for train travel
The room was excellent, wonderful fittings and attention to detail
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, beautifully styled and the staff com

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Lovely hotel, beautifully styled and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. It's very convenient for the centre of York and parking is only £5. It's been recently refurbished and it's very nicely done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from gloucester

Great location

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Nothing
Every thing was just great staff good helpful and frendly
5 out of 5
by Jane

Lovely visit to York

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Really lovely hotel. It has been refurbished and they have made an excellent job of it. The staff are efficient and friendly. We were upgraded to a Junior suite which was a superb room with views of the Minster. The swimming pool & jacuzzi were of a high standard as was the breakfast. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels