Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kings Lynn, Norfolk

Scarborough Visit

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Close to the town and easy reach of the beach. Excellent Staff.
Cons: Getting what we paid for!
Location: Beach easy walk or Tram, great views from over the road (with seating)
Disappointed stay, roadworks and noisy pub across the road. We booked a Superior room with sea views and got neither!! No parking but they did an excellent offer at a nearby NCP Car Park which for 24 hours was £3.50. Very close to the 'Tram To Beach' and excellent views from over the road to the South Beach, Harbour and beyond.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N Yorkshire

Good value for money

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was very good.
Cons: Better signage to find your room number, we had to keep helping a chap to find room 122.
Location: Good central location.
Have stayed here a few times and realise it all depends which room you're allocated. Had one poor room but mostly we've been lucky.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Lovely hotel very clean room was lovely and clean can't fault it only thing is bar man was doing two jobs so had to wait ages for drink
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Great location

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Very convenient for town. Great views. Very pleasant staff. Charming old building. Main staircase inside was beautifully decorated for Christmas.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

we will never stay there again

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: the entertainment was good
Cons: learn them how to serve a nice cooked meal
Location: plenty good shops,lots to do and see
we had to park our car in a private car park in town, this cost us £10.50, the breakfast was almost inedible, grossly over cooked hard eggs bacon sausage, no internet available for the3 days stay, overall a bad experience, they should send their staff to Newcastle airport Britannia for a training session as every thing there is superb .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woking

old charm hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The exquisite staircase.
Cons: The additional cost to use the swimming pool
Location: Great location right in the centre and five minutes walk from Scarborough railway station
This was a lovely old fashioned hotel with a beautiful sweeping staircase and friendly staff. It is in need of some repair and the reception area was literally squeezed into a tiny corner causing a lot of congestion during check in. They have a swimming pool however use of which is at an additional cost (£4 + £1) which I thought was wrong so didn't use it on principle. The majority of residents were older and I think it is best suited to that clientele but anyone wishing to stay there will be comfortable. Location was good. It lies literally off the main high street and is five minutes walk from the station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An Enjoyable Experience

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Comfortable clean room and lounge areas. Overall, a good hotel in a good location.
Cons: No complaints at all
Location: Town centre and sea front just a few minutes walk àway but quite a climb down to sea level. There is a lift nearby though so not a problem.
We only stayed one night at the Royal Hotel but wish we had been able to stay longer. The staff were very polite and helpful and our room was lovely and very spacious. Breakfast was very nice with lots of choice. We will certainly stay here again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely old hotel.needs a bit of tlc

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Enjoyable stay excellent breakfast.friendly staff
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Worst night ever

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: The grand entrance , LOOKS CAN BE DECEIVING .
Cons: All of it , the staff need training and the rooms need redoing I'm disgusted .
Location: Scar bough is a lovely place just the royal isn't !!!!
Saturday night was supposed to be special for me and my partner as I was going to propose , I hD booked a double superior room with sea view and I phoned them personally to confirm this and they told my yes it will have sea view on front of hotel , we checked in the entrance is majestic but that was it the corridors and carpet was mucky the walls were damp we went to our room and my heart sank I was gutted it looked shabby and mucky the curtain was hanging off one bulb worked out of 5 for the main light it was a twin room with 2 singles pushed together I went to complain and got dismissed by the staff as all she was bothered about was finishing work at 9 , I asked to be moved and they couldn't as she said they were full turns out lots of people had complained . We got ready and went to go out I went for a glass of water , I went to turn the tap on and it had a pressure surge and I got soaked so I took my suit of and went out in more clothes , the next morning I asked for a refund and she dismissed me again and give me a wrong email address to contact Britannia how nice of them , there were lots of people before us who had complained and got there room swapped someone ended up with ours and we got palmed off with one of the swapped rooms I'm totally disgusted and I'm in the middle of taking this further as the pictures on your site who I booke with are not what we got false advertising so I'm reporting it to everyone and will especially be writing to the tourist board .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Used to be so nice

Posted May 9, 2016
Contrary to reviews the woman on reception was excellent, chatty, helpful and pleasant. She was proud to tell us our budget room was one of the hotels refurbished rooms. First impressions of the room was that it is a loft conversion and you had to watch your head when getting in and out of bed, but it really isn't a problem. When we lifted the toilet lid however it hadn't been flushed! Contrary to Expedia website the free wifi is only in the lobby not in your room. I called back to reception to complain about the toilet and lack of wifi only for another young lady who was exiting the back office to jump into the conversation I was having with reception. The staff were going to see if we could change rooms but were told by this individual that the hotel was full and there was no point looking. Furthermore appeared to take great delight in informing us that the hotel website clearly stated ground and first floor for free wifi only. This turned out to be correct but an attitude like hers should not be customer facing. Disgusting. Nobody came to look at the toilet that did actually flush but did not remove the "products" unless operated 4 or 5 times. The sink was also very slow to empty. Every hotel has problems and it is not the fact you have a problem but how you deal with it that the customer remembers. We cancelled our table in the restaurant for the evening. We also found out that a bottle of house wine is £13.99 but in the sister hotel around the corner (The Grand) £9.99