Ratings based on 392 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An Enjoyable Experience

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Comfortable clean room and lounge areas. Overall, a good hotel in a good location.
Cons: No complaints at all
Location: Town centre and sea front just a few minutes walk àway but quite a climb down to sea level. There is a lift nearby though so not a problem.
We only stayed one night at the Royal Hotel but wish we had been able to stay longer. The staff were very polite and helpful and our room was lovely and very spacious. Breakfast was very nice with lots of choice. We will certainly stay here again in the future.
1 out of 5
by ian from Sheffield

Avoid Avoid Avoid

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was a complete shambles, ignorant staff, dirty room, luke warm food, dirty glasses. no management to complain to on Saturday, on suday when complained they did not care. I would avoid this place like the Plague, infact the Plague would be more pleasant.
1 out of 5
by natasha from Sheffield


Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Shocking, will never stay here again, until it has the thousands of pounds that need spending on it, staff are rude me unhelpful. Dreadful rooms
4 out of 5
by paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely old hotel.needs a bit of tlc

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Enjoyable stay excellent breakfast.friendly staff
3 out of 5
by Darren from Australia

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed 2 nights good location very old, run down and worn out could be great if some money was spent on it room servicing standard could be lifted but comfy bed and goos view from our room disappoint on no parking for the hotel used a multi story down the road for extra price
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Teshya from leeds


Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
the hotel was a few metres to the beach- very conviniant for us .breakfast was lovely with a lot of food variety.
4 out of 5
by Carl from Alford

Old but nice

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Old hotel but nice good location
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Worst night ever

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: The grand entrance , LOOKS CAN BE DECEIVING .
Cons: All of it , the staff need training and the rooms need redoing I'm disgusted .
Location: Scar bough is a lovely place just the royal isn't !!!!
Saturday night was supposed to be special for me and my partner as I was going to propose , I hD booked a double superior room with sea view and I phoned them personally to confirm this and they told my yes it will have sea view on front of hotel , we checked in the entrance is majestic but that was it the corridors and carpet was mucky the walls were damp we went to our room and my heart sank I was gutted it looked shabby and mucky the curtain was hanging off one bulb worked out of 5 for the main light it was a twin room with 2 singles pushed together I went to complain and got dismissed by the staff as all she was bothered about was finishing work at 9 , I asked to be moved and they couldn't as she said they were full turns out lots of people had complained . We got ready and went to go out I went for a glass of water , I went to turn the tap on and it had a pressure surge and I got soaked so I took my suit of and went out in more clothes , the next morning I asked for a refund and she dismissed me again and give me a wrong email address to contact Britannia how nice of them , there were lots of people before us who had complained and got there room swapped someone ended up with ours and we got palmed off with one of the swapped rooms I'm totally disgusted and I'm in the middle of taking this further as the pictures on your site who I booke with are not what we got false advertising so I'm reporting it to everyone and will especially be writing to the tourist board .