Ratings based on 429 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from rotherham

good location

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: not a lot
Cons: a lot of improvement needed
Location: very good
The hotel is in a good location but the hotel is old and requires a lot of work, We booked in about 1430h. we went to our room and the door knob was very loose, when we went to bed I spragged it with my stick, but the room itself was freezing, I rang reception and they sent up a electric heater, the heater was not strong enough to heat a dog kennel, never mind a bedroom, we had two single beds pushed together for a double and the top cover was all stained, the time we spent in the bedroom we had to keep our coats on, The meals were very expensive breakfast £21 for two and dinner £35 for two. that's £56 for both. went to wetherspoons had a traditional breakfast for £3.30 each. only good thing was the entertainment at night, needless to say we wont be going back there. brian
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cleveland

Our stay at the royal

Posted Apr 16, 2017
It was Easter so it cost £99 for one night in a double room , no hot water , no breakfast the room wasn't very clean and only one bath towel , very run down in need of bringing up to date .will never use this hotel again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Faulty room

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Upon arriving I was excited by the location and view of the hotel. Perfect for walking anywhere in town and a great view with a little park across the street overlooking the coast. The room seemed alright at first but the bathroom had scratches and kinks in the tub and toilet making it seem dirty. The first night we where unable to get hot water in the shower so I told frost desk the next day. The bed also was incredibly noisy, with any movement it make a loud creaky noise that was obnoxious. The walls to the other room where power thin and I got to hear niebhors every conversation as well as a baby crying all night. The hot water was never solved after asking front desk twice so I took cold showers. As well as booking online I got free wifi, and being an international traveler this was the only way I could look for thimgs to do, book tickets etc. upon arrival I was told I would have to pay daily if I needed wifi.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend brake

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Over all very nice weekend nice hotel Would go back parking ok room roof had water stain on it but all ok. Hope to come back soon .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worksop

Nice hotel,not very good for parking.

Posted Feb 24, 2017
I am a disabled person who finds parking near my hotel very serious,the hotel has only four disabled places next to the hotel,not very good.
4 out of 5
by ruth

Dust and polish

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
The bedrooms are a little run down,an are ready for a spring clean.
1 out of 5
by Alison

Checked in and straight out.

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Do not go here. Our executive room had a"view" of the rusty spiral fire escape and was the size of a toilet window. Sloping floor meant you head was lower than feet on the old, low bed. Room had a terrible smell of mould and disinfectant. Reception were quite dismissive; offered 2 other standard rooms. One so small, we could only move one at a time. Whole hotel was chaotic; couldn't cope with a busy Saturday and many people queuing at reception to complain- poor rooms, pool closed and those who had paid for half board were told 5.30 was the only available time. One dirty, slow lift and a warren of doors, dirty carpets and uneven floors. An hour after check in, we were so miserable, we found another hotel. Staff quite hostile when we left. Felt they were used to this happening and said "no refund" as we'd paid hotels.com. Such relief when we left. This hotel should not be allowed to charge such a high price. It seems the good reviews are from guests upgraded to the few large rooms, which may happen on a quiet week night, but be prepared at weekends for a different outcome. Check out is at 10am, which I've never known before. Must take a long time to clear up!
4 out of 5
by maria

not bad at all

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
hotel is a little worn out and does need some money spent on it but our room was very comfortable. real easy check-in and staff were very friendly. id defiantly stay again if the price was right for us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kings Lynn, Norfolk

Scarborough Visit

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Close to the town and easy reach of the beach. Excellent Staff.
Cons: Getting what we paid for!
Location: Beach easy walk or Tram, great views from over the road (with seating)
Disappointed stay, roadworks and noisy pub across the road. We booked a Superior room with sea views and got neither!! No parking but they did an excellent offer at a nearby NCP Car Park which for 24 hours was £3.50. Very close to the 'Tram To Beach' and excellent views from over the road to the South Beach, Harbour and beyond.
5 out of 5
by Heather

Lovely faded grandeur

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in an ideal central location. It is old fashioned in a nice way with a beautiful sweeping staircase and chandeliers. The room we stayed in had a fabulous sea view and lovely ambience. Although the paint was peeling in places this did not diminish our enjoyment of the room. The bar was comfortable and food and drink reasonably priced. We will definitely stay again.