Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north yorks

Central position

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Location: Central location with lots of bars and restaurants close by if you don't want to eat at the hotel.
Just had a good 3night stay in this hotel. The staff were polite and friendly. Our room was clean and spacious. The breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious. The price was good value for money. We've stayed here before and not been so lucky with our room, but overall I would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doncaster

Good location

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: Good location, friendly atmosphere.
Cons: More entertainment and more bar staff.
Location: As we were on the train the shops were very handy and the eating houses. Scarborough Castle easy to walk to.
Having stayed here before we were disappointed with our room. Friday entertainment only on from 8.45 pm - 9.30 pm, very unhappy crowd. The manager did attempt to put music on but it was rubbish! We were told by reception check-in time was 3 pm when in fact it was 2 pm. Sunday night was a Rod Stewart tribute and he was excellent but reception didn't mention it when we specifically asked what entertainment was on.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Reception and bar lounge area
Cons: Staff efficiency
Location: Great location near the beach restaurants bars and shops.
We stayed for two nights in a standard room, which was clean and comfortable. Breakfast tasted good and there was a good selection, only down side was that the staff made a mistake and said we hadn't paid for breakfast when we had, but the mistake was soon rectified once we went to reception to clarify. This was annoying but didn't impact on our stay. The hotel is undergoing a refurbishment at the moment but again this did not effect our stay in anyway. I would recommend a cheap comfortable hotel and a pleasant break.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whatstandwell

Best avoided

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: The building only
Cons: The staff could be taught what a customer is.
Location: The location of the hotel is good for the town centre and trams to the beach.
The staff were not helpful or friendly.The superior rooms are less than averageThis is an hotel for budget coach parties who will accept low standards.Our room was not cleaned properly,the entire shower plumbing unit was loose on the wall and leaking,no bath mat for the slippery tiled floor,no shower cap very small bath towels,nearly all the handles on the cupboards and drawers were missing. A truly disappointing and unacceptable weekend that in NO way could be recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel convenient for beach, sea front and tow

Posted Nov 9, 2015
comfortable hotel, getting there with the decorations. Very good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cristina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Paul

tubbish

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
Not good
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

albergo non consigliabile

Posted Nov 3, 2015
L'albergo in posizione ottima e basta. Camere sporche , materassi distrutti e macchiati. Nonostante la richiesta di sostituzione , questa non è avvenuta. Stoviglie della colazione da scegliere in quanto non bene pulite. Ultima perla il giorno prima della partenza . Alla cortese richiesta di stampare i nostri check in mi è stato risposto che i loro terminali non avevano connessione internet. Complessivamente una pessima scelta.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very tired hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: Not a lot
Cons: It needs a good tidy up
Location: Nice location close to the sea front
What a shame that a large organisation like Brittania can't spend some money on this beautiful building. Holes in the ceilings, carpets curled up and wrinkled with duct tape keeping them down. Door handles falling off and cracked floor tiles in the bathroom. Very disappointing
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Martin from Stoke on Trent

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed for a 2 night short break.The hotel is in need of some tlc to restore to its former glory. Our bedroom was rather dated with sloping floor and poorly fitting door that allowed alot of light and draught under it. Breakfast was included in our stay,the food was ok but of a fairly low quality and the coffee was awful. On a more positive note the bar and lounge was quite pleasant and staff in there were very helpful.