Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derby

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Car parking was a nightmare. Was told by expedia I didn't need to book a space but on arrival discovered I did! Found one spot which actually belonged to another guest. Was given a key for another slot in the morning but there was no padlock. That evening found a car in in my allocated space! A space that I had paid for The spa sauna was a lovely respite from two days of working.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leicester

close to gift show

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: the gardens
Cons: complete redecoration
Location: central location for resturants
breakfast is appalling. the place is very shabby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

city centre location

Posted May 8, 2016
Pros: friendly and very helpul staff
Cons: a lick of paint here and there
really good location 5 minute walk to bus/train stations.Good shops and restaurants, Harlow Carr not to be missed
3 out of 5
by Judith

A pleasant interlude

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
I was pleasantly surprised by the helpful and pleasant attitude of every member of staff with whom I came into contact and the bar food was good. The parking wasn't as bad as I expected although it became annoying to feed the parking meter first thing in the morning & then to move the car to another parking spot after 3 hours. The breakfast was a disappointment & the atmosphere was rather like a works canteen, although the staff worked very hard. The telephone in my room didn't work, so I had to go down 3 floors to speak to reception.
5 out of 5
by Robert from Bedale

A charming hotel in a beautiful spa town

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
Staying overnight for business with my wife as a guest. Hotel is in a great position for sight seeing, shopping and eating with plenty of on street parking. Some of the décor is dated but that's Harrogate and that's the charm. Staff are funny, eccentric but again that's the charm of Harrogate.
4 out of 5
by Catherine from Shrewsbury

Fabulous Harrogate

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
I went to Harrogate on my own to see family and friends. It has much better shops than where I live (near Shrewsbury). The town is beautiful with flowers everywhere and it doesn't have empty shops everywhere like most town cantres. I spent an afternoon sunbathing in the Valley Gardens and walked through the Pine Woods to Harlow Carr RHS gardens - both well worth a visit. Plenty of places to eat and drink, we ate in Hales Bar.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not overly impressed!!

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
Not impressed with bathroom quality - shower was very slow to drain and could probably do with updating. We only stayed one night and were annoyed by the fact that house keeping tried to come in before 9am (whilst we were trying to sleep) and then again at 10:30am - especially as we believe they could have waited until after the 11am checkout time - this made us feel like we were rushed to check out! Wifi also wouldn't connect!
4 out of 5
by Sheina from Perth

Central stay in traditional hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
Good service with excellent staff. A traditional feel to the hotel, old fashioned service where queries accommodated quickly. Ideally placed venue. Would return
4 out of 5
by Ian

A Night Away

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
Just remember to call hotel and book a parking space as soon as you reserve a room, a request does not equate to a confirmed booking. Although in areas the hotel is a little tired we had a very enjoyable stay. Room was a good size and nice and warm. Leisure facilities including pool, sauna and steam room were nice to have as the weather wasn't great during our stay. Everything very clean and breakfast was good if a little slow.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location, bit run down and dirty

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Had an alright stay, hotel was located close to centre which was good. Hotel bathroom had A LOT of mold. But the room was comfortable.