Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the city walls with parking

Posted Jul 2, 2017
However, our room was very hot and VERY noisy, even with the window closed. Otherwise an OK hotel in a good position.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Rooms are not well maintained and had a bad smell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln

Great location.

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: We had a large, clean room with a comfortable bed. The staff were friendly and we had a well-cooked English breakfast.
Cons: Noise from the very busy main road and buses stopping right outside.This is a listed building so apparently double-glazing cannot be installed.
Location: Great location just outside the city walls especially if you are going to the Barbican Centre for a concert. The city centre is within an easy walk.
The B&B is above a pub (which wasn't noisy). We chose it due to its proximity to the Barbican Centre which we had booked to attend a concert. Unfortunately we had a room at the front which faced out onto a very busy main road. Also there is a bus stop directly in front of the pub so had to be careful with passengers on double-decker buses looking into our room.
4 out of 5
by Chris

Nice pub, comfy bed & good breakfast

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
Nice pub, comfy bed, good breakfast and close to the city walls (about a 10-minute walk to the old town centre proper). small room with tiny TV, but clean and fine for what we needed (a bed for the night). Lots of nicer pubs in town, but friendly staff and good beer. No complaints.
4 out of 5
by Andrew

Great for walking into York

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff made us very welcome and free parking so close to York city centre was s real bonus especially as we arrived early for check in but could still use car park while walking into city centre. Room was comfortable and clean although old sash windows were very rickety and didn't keep much draught or noise out, but Street did go quiet fairly early so no problem sleeping. Breakfast was excellent but didn't eat any other meals here due to unfortunate smell from drains permeating whole of ground floor including all 3 bars. Hopefully this will be sorted out by next visit
5 out of 5
by Lucy

Very impressed

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
I spent two nights in the Waggon and Horses as a single person in a double room. The staff were friendly and helpful - especially during breakfast. In the past I've been made to feel an 'outsider' when staying above pubs (local places for local people!) but it was the opposite here; very welcoming. The room was clean and well kept & although slightly out of the city centre, easy to find with some great resturants along the way
4 out of 5
by Jackie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Siobhan

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely B&B, friendly staff , breakfast good although dining room very snug! central location everything within easy walking distance. I think we paid too much for room £175 for 2 nights bit pricey on reflection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City centre overnight stay

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: All of the things outlined above.
Cons: The only slight grouse was that the water in the shower and sink was only lukewarm at best. Staff promised to address this.
Location: Fifteen minute walk into York centre. Plenty of eating places on the way in and public transport available.
We were made very welcome. The hotel suited our needs, the staff were pleasant and helpful and the accommodation was clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were good, with plenty of choice. Car parking was if required.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Yorkshire

Convenient location

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Convenient location , reasonable pricing and huge breakfast.
Location: At the city walls almost and a straight walk up to town.
The pub itself does not open until 3pm but when we arrived about midday it was possible to leave our car in the very tiny car park to go and explore the city. It's about a 10 minute easy walk up to the centre. Our room was pleasant, very clean, warm with adjustable radiator. Breakfast was amazing with a very varied choice and set us up for the trip home. Only four stars because of the cramped car park conditions.