Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean/Comfortable/Convenient

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to historic York centre.

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Great little guest house worthy of all the accolades .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

glad I picked this one

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Very nice room that was exceptionally clean. We had room 3 and it was perfect for couples. Service was right side of attentive without being intrusive. Requests were met and breakfast was perfect (main reason for choosing this place). Bonus is free parking as York can be expensive
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Parking and city centre convenience

Posted Apr 30, 2012 on Hotels
Very welcoming bedroom,good breakfast. Nice welcome from the owners,cup of tea and and plenty of pointers where to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Heleen from London

Beautiful B&B with friendly service

Posted Apr 5, 2012
Pros: We liked the decoration, friendliness of staff, breakfast.
Cons: bathroom was on the small side
Location: Well located, easy access to the city centre (about 15 min walk, but buses go past or you could get a taxi)
Great b&b, we had a beautiful room (number 4, the one with the four poster bed). We liked the little details in the room, e.g. they had a list of DVD's you could borrow for free, a computer in the hallway for guests to use, etc. The hotel was beautifully decorated, staff was very friendly and helpful about the tourist attractions and breakfast was very good. The bathroom in our room was small but functional. Everything was very clean. Also the location was good, about 15min walk to the centre. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Tower guest house, York.

Posted Dec 15, 2011 on Hotels
This is a great place to stay and my girlfriend and I would recomend it to any couples wanting a leisurly weekend in York. Our room was spacious, well equiped, nicely decorated and very clean. The host was very friendly and personal and most helpful. The whole building is very well presented. Breakfast is cooked to order and of good quality, with any extras available to help yourself to and we couldn't want for anything else. The parking is very convenient and we were welcomed to leave our car there all day on the day of checkout. The location is ideal being around 10-15 mins walk to the city centre and it is easy to find your way around. The booking process was easy as well and i was contacted by sms the morinng of our stay to confirm aproxamate arrival time, upon which we were greeted with a cup of tea while we filled in the paperwork and were issued our room key. All in all I think this is a great place to stay to acess the many attractions of York and we would deffinately stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Mid America

Hospitable, accommodating, reasonable, treasure.

Posted Dec 2, 2011
Location: Any neighborhood that one would feel comfortable walking a distance or taking a bus. The buses go just about everywhere and this is a city of very very welcoming friendly people. Drop in the over 60 peoples' center...you won"t be bounced out. Great place for those to gather and share a lunch or cup of coffee or tea. Talk to your feet, listen to your stomach, respond to the warmness of others, and praise God each stop. Enjoy
With a short bus trip for our check-in we were met by a most pleasant and welcoming owner. Tea and cookies were immediately served us as we collected ourselves from a day of flights and train trips. We were provided answers to our questions of the city and our stay at the Tower Guest House. Breakfast was made to order and in a lovely stately room which reflected the period of the building. Great showers, bed and comfortable room temperatures. Our hosts (the owners) were truly ambassadors of the city; they love it and we do too. A must return. We were given a ride to the train station. Each day we walked to the old city center and that was very comfortable. Take in the ghost walk and really a pub or 2 or 3 along with the bakery with the super scones...the tucked away old churches, etc. Let your imagination and the day take you away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Staying in the Tower

Posted Dec 1, 2011 on Hotels
I chose this Hotel(or is it a guesthouse?)from previous reviews which we found to have been very accurate.The owners (Tony and Diane)are very friendly and our stay was as pleasant as we hoped it would be.The location happened to suit us to a tee because our daughter who we were visiting lives in a house a few doors along the street.Its a fair walk into the 'centre' but we knew/liked that but its not going to be to everyone's liking.The neighbourhood is generally ok but the '4' was due to a nearby property having a couple of guard dogs that did bark as we passed nearby when walking down the street to where our daughter lives(most visitors won't experience this as you'll most likely walk directly away from the Tower towards the centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kim from Lancashire

Ideal for a visit to York

Posted Sep 19, 2011
At the Tower Guest House you will receive a lovely warm welcome with a brew and biscuits from Diana. Plus great tips of what to do and where to eat. We stayed in the attic room; it was very clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. There is tea and coffee facilities in the room, chocolates and biscuits were replenished daily. It is only a 10 minute walk from the town centre. There is a small car park which was very handy indeed. Overall a great place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by William from Toronto

Adequate Stay

Posted Aug 29, 2011
Our stay here was "adequate". The property is smaller than it it appears in the photos. All of the rooms seemed cramped, particularly our room and bathroom which were crammed with the requisite amenities but in a very tight space. However, the property seemed spotlessly clean. The breakfast was quite good. The location is within walking distance of the centre of town but it is a fair hike, at least 20-30 minutes along a heaviiy trafficked street. Overall, our stay was what I would describe as "adequate".