Ratings based on 340 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice mid Feb Break - returning customer !

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Location: Two cracking pubs over the road if you don't want hotel beer.
Great location . 3 bust stops away from the centre . Nice spa area ,great staff .good car park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs an update

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Negatives -Rooms dated and parts of the hotel look tired and shabby . Our first room allocated was very small and the bed was even smaller . Positives- Staff friendly and helpful . Fabulous breakfast and there was plenty of choice. Great location and a short stroll into the centre .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location and facilties

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: The staff were very good and professional - nothing was to much trouble and always done with a smile!
Cons: When the hotel is full parking is tight but you can just about squeeze in somewhere. Don't let sweaty/mud covered runners in for breakfast - grim!
Location: Approx 1.5 miles to central York. Nice steady walk in and back. Taxi approx £6-£8 each way. Bus was cheaper £7.40 return - 3 adults/2 children
Staff were very pleasant and the accommodation (family room) was ideal and spacious. Our son is at uni in York and came to visit. The staff were great and were fine with him joining us in the leisure facilities...etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Next to the race course.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Hotel is next to the race course with a bus stop 200m ish in/out of the city. Tesco 5 min drive away for the things you have forgotten! 2 pubs within 5 mins walking from the hotel for food. We had a room for wheelchair users as it was a last minute booking, it had lots of room for our 2 boys and 2 double very comfortable beds. Breakfast was amazing,fresh fruit,cooked full English, pastries. Assortment of bread and pancakes and waffles with chocolate sauce for the kids! 10 minutes on the bus into the town with various drop off points, costing 2 pounds for an adult. Would stay again as the pool entertained the boys at the end of the day
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Expected better

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Staff were great although the heating did not work , broken glass on carpet and bathroom floor, broken chair that caused injury, iron had broken mains plug. Just quality control on rooms need to be concentrated on. We were promised that manager would be in touch but still nothing . Felt I paid more for a lot less than other hotels I have been to .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb Location

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Location: The city centre is a short bus ride away. The racecourse is behind the hotel and a great place to walk or run round
Overall we were pleased with the location, the facilities and the friendliness of staff at the hotel. One thing that we felt was poor was the bar meal. We have two young children and there wasn't anything they really liked on the menu such as a pizza or simple food. They had fish and chips and really only ate a bit of the fish. Beware when you pay the bar bill though as they add a service charge on that is only described in the smallest of small print in the menu on the bottom of a page near the back. I couldn't read it and I asked one of the bar staff to read it who couldn't. We did get a refund for the service charge when I complained though so credit where its due. Don't let our bar bill experience put you off though. Its a great place to stay and we would go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WLJ

Lovely hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2017
We had a fab stay here. Would recommend asking for view over racecourse.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from middle England

nice hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: A little dated.
Location: Very varied
Enjoyed our stay. Food was very good. The staff very efficient. I felt an information brochure would be nice in the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from east yorkshire

Friendly staff

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Everything was fantastic about the hotel . Breakfast was beautiful.
Location: Short walk into York with a million things to do and see.
We would recommend this hotel . All the staff are so helpful and friendly , they really made us feel welcome . The food in the restaurant was excellent and good value for money too . The pool was immaculate and so were the changing rooms . We enjoyed our stay that much we are going to rebook for my husbands birthday. Parking was brilliant too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location for the races and okay amenities.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Amenities.
Cons: Better bed and sort the hot water out.
Location: Racecourse and reasonable walk into the city.
Decent sized room. Had to wait an awful long time for hot water. Room overheated and no matter what we did to the air-con this didn't change. Bed lumpy and uncomfortable. On the plus side, fairly decent amenities on site and nice views of the racecourse. Our view was that this is overpriced and not up to the standard of previous Marriott's we have stayed in.