Ratings based on 725 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Hotel with plenty of parking

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Found it okay. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Beds always made and towels replaced every day. Feel that furniture was a little tired. Due to arthritis in knees found it difficult to use over the bath shower. Apparently the hotel only has 2 rooms with separate standing showers. The setting is lovely and we would go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Nice room clean and very spacious. Close to everything.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Silsden, West Yorks.

York hotel undergoing kitchen refit.

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: It was clean, comfortable, near the major sites of York in particular the racecourse.
Cons: The kitchens and the quality of the serving staff.
Location: The hotel was within a short bus ride of all the major attractions in York.
the hotel was undergoing a major kitchen refit during January and provided a minimum evening meal menu. Out of 4 courses ordered, 2 were provided coimpletely incorrectly, 2 came cold and there was a considerable wait for them all. The meal was so bad that we dined elsewhere for the other 2 nights of our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pe4

Nice hotel, easy to get to.

Posted Dec 22, 2015
The hotel was nice. Our room had everything we needed in it and was overall very comfortable. We made made good use of the on site pool. This hotel lost some points due to the fact that parking was very tight, and that the cold water in our room stopped working on the second night. We informed reception, but nothing was done before we checked out the following day. This was inconvenient as it meant no morning shower due to the water permanently scalding hot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel on the outskirts of York.

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: Great leisure facilities and comfy rooms.
Location: on the outskirts of York but only a 5 minute cab ride into the City.
Lovely hotel with great leisure facilities and friendly staff. Didn't eat in the hotel as we ate in York which is a 5 minute cab drive away. My room was nice and clean and quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north lincolnshire

Posted Dec 12, 2015
Pros: Convenience of getting into York and good car parking facilities.
Enjoyable stay, hotel very convenient for public transport into York. Friendly staff. Ate in the restaurant in the evening - food good and well presented - not too happy about service charge being added to our Bill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2015
it was a good location for a couple of pubs and easy access to centre via bus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Facilities and condition

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Pros: The location
Cons: See Above
Location: Good Location and good bus service/ transport to Town
I would not rate this Hotel excellent but just OK as there was total chaos during Breakfast. The Staff were running around just not enough to cope with the number of people. The Fruit was not being replenished in time which kept people waiting. When we asked for Tea. The shower flow was so slow that it took ages to have a shower. The bath is old and definitely needs changing. Not worth what they charge for a night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Charlotte from Bridlington

A pleasant stay

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
We had an over night stay which was pleasant. The tv was a bit disappointing as it only had limited free channels. We went to the pub across the road for an evening meal which was very nice as the room service menu was very limited. The hotel staff who cleaned the rooms were very friendly and welcoming when we passed them in the corridors. The breakfast staff were a little formal and the set up wasn't practical, for instance you only had one knife, so if you had toast first, your knife was cleared away so you had to request one for a cooked breakfast. Then if you wanted another slice of toast after, you had to request another knife. There wasn't anywhere you could just get extra cutlery. It felt awkward asking for more things as the staff were very formal and official. There also wasn't anywhere to put your spoon after using it in your tea, except on the table. These are only niggles of course.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by stephen

Mismatch between hotel.com offer and hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
Nice Hotel, pleasant stay, but not as good as it could have been for the start rating/price. According to the hotel, when you book on line, many of the providers sell you a B&B package, whereas the Hotel charges separately for these items, check the small print. Note the frequent use of Service fees on F&B bills