Ratings based on 648 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford UK

Walking distance to York

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: Very clean and friendly staff.
Cons: Rooms need redecorating and maintenance issues addressed.
Location: Good outlook with Racecourse at the back of the hotel. Direct route to walk into the City.
Disappointed with the hotel, looks tired and needs revitalising. Room was very clean but needs refurnishing, fabrics worn, floors squeak, toilet did not flush easily, no air conditioning and windows had restricted opening and the nights were warm. Good outlook to the racecourse and easy to walk into York. Staff were friendly, breakfast buffet was good however evening menu was not very imaginative and was not great. We ate at a nearby hotel on the second evening and this far exceeded the quality at the Marriott. This hotel could easily have valet parking as there was plenty of parking space that was free which is a great benefit. Confusion over Expedia booking as reception were not aware we had breakfast and wi-fi included and we were going to be charged again for these which did not instill confidence at the start of the trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Great location out of city but super bus service.

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Lovely facilities, lovely garden area. Tranquil. Good pubs nearby. Great spa. Great breakfast. Only drawback was the cost of a small glass of wine!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lakes

Not a 4*

Posted Aug 27, 2015
This hotel has a great location and clean but that's about it... Very dated, not 4* standard, restaurant food very overpriced for average food and just doesn't have the finishing touches a 4* would normally have. Premier inn standard but with a pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
excellent facilities and location would certainly recommend to friends and family
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Great family room for one night stay-over. Youngest really enjoyed access to swimming pool. Only downside menu slightly disappointing so decided to go elsewhere for evening meal, however plenty of good eating places around in city or in surrounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views of race course

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Staff were thoughtful about our room and as there were functions all weekend had allocated us a room away from this, so we were not disturbed. Good choice of room service menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really nice hotel close to the city

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: Restaurant and helpful staff.
Loved this hotel!! Very friendly staff and good facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bolton

Good facilities but outside the city walls.

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: Nice smell! Good parking. Excellent pool area.Large bed. Fridge.
Cons: Do not charge for wi-fi. It is just not acceptable in 2015.
Location: About 20-30 minute walk to the city walls.
This is an excellent Marriott hotel.It has a lovely smell throughout ........honestly ! The pool area is excellent. Location wise is ok but I would stop a little closer to the centre next time.The only thing that irked me was being asked to pay for wi-fi in our room which I was not prepared to do.It would actually stop me from staying here again. A shame because otherwise I couldn't fault the hotel or the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Very nice nice hotel, friendly staff. Good location to the York race track. Lovely bar, beautiful garden.😊
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2015
The staff were outstanding & room nice would recommend staying here - not too far from city centre