Ratings based on 1,012 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SrS

Aging motel, not hotel

Posted May 23, 2017
Bad moment give me facing parking floor just behind what I parked, aging of all..... only breakfast is good n staff not really polite as well
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2017
Staff, couldn't do enough for you very friendly and helpful, the pool very clean and food was excellent, ideal place to stay if you're going to the races 🐎. I had a great time and would definitely come back..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Disappointing

Posted May 17, 2017
Hotel on good bus route into the city. Sunny decking and garden over looking the race track. Breakfast good. Dinner waitress unfriendly and served without a smile. Our room smelled of cigarettes! There was an adjoining door through which we could clearly hear our neighbours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexico

York

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: It is located on a horse race track so it is surrounded by a garden
Cons: The heat was too hi
Location: You could walk to visit the city but is a 30 min. walk. better take a cab
York is wonderful the cathedral and old town is magnificent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lee on the Solent

Nice hotel conveniently situated close to York.

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: A good location, convenient for the centre. Pleasant room, friendly staff.
Cons: Maintaining a clear dress code for the restaurant.
Location: The Minster is a must, also the railway museum, free! Jorvik very good. Walk the walls.
With limited and expensive parking in York centre, free parking at the hotel and an excellent bus service were much appreciated. The room was pleasant, comfortable and clean. Breakfast in the restaurant was very good although spoiled by a number of young women being allowed to take breakfast in their night clothes. The hotel should decide if it is in the market for tacky hen parties or offer facilities where reasonable standards are maintained. We, and many others in our party found the acceptance of such reduced standards offensive. We have never encountered similar issues in previous stays with other Marriott hotels either in U.K. or USA.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bingley

Good location and plenty of room

Posted May 15, 2017
Lovely weekend and good location and excellent breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice for York

Posted May 14, 2017
Overall, great hotel. Upkeep is nice and the rooms were beautiful and clean. Depending on where your room is, you may have to take a long walk or a lot of stairs. Downside is no free wifi in your rooms, only the public areas which are a long walk away. Frustrating. Hard to find parking and no breakfast included with reservation unfortunately.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wiltshire

Nice hotel good location

Posted May 13, 2017
Typical Marriott quality. Staff very friendly. Will probably stay there again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

Good Location

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: The hotel benefits from very efficient bus links into York City Centre. The No 4 runs every 10 minutes from stops just outside & opposite the hotel
Cons: The dress code of some staff and guests, especially young women guests wearing pyjamas into breakfast, was offensive and not controlled by management
Location: Great location; wonderfully historic and well preserved city. 'Must sees' include the Jorvik, York Minster, Railway Museum and afternoon tea in Bettys
A good B & B stay, which followed-on from a weekend stay booked directly with the hotel for a Royal Naval Reunion. We only took breakfast in the hotel due to the expense of food & wine compared to nearby pubs which provided better, more varied menu choices and range of wines/real ales. The hotel nestles next to York racecourse and has beautiful open outlooks from most rooms and a huge garden area with tables & chairs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Overnight stay

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Stayed here overnight en route to the North East. Room was small and awkward to get into with two sets of doors in close proximity. Clean and presentable the room was small and lacked storage space. Hairdryer didn't work. Would probably avoid staying here again based on our experience.