Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by olive

Would go again

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Pros: Peaceful location lovely grounds.
Cons: Maintenance required on outside.
Location: Near york beautiful city and Northampton which has an excellent shopping high street.
Hotel food was excellent. Warm and comfortable rooms. Great breakfast. The outside building requires maintenance but inside is lovely.staff were professional and helpful. Good location that's quiet and convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Luxurious country hotel for anniversary treat

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: Room (4) was traditionally delightful, large and with a large bathroom. We had a lovely meal in the relaxed restaurant and super choice at breakfast.
Cons: The only disappointment was the shower. It looks lovely and there was plenty of hot water but the pressure is low.
Lovely hotel with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. There was a function the night that we were there but we were hardly aware of it.
4 out of 5
by Lisa from London

great location

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels
great comfy room
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overnight business trip

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel was clean - staff were helpful - food was good - all in all I'd be happy to stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alison from West Midlands

Luxury at an affordable price.

Posted Jul 13, 2013
Pros: Room
Cons: Some tatty corridors.
Location: Peaceful yet close to amenities.
Wonderful grand old building with total peace & quiet in a lovely location. Refurbished room elegantly decorated. Some corridors still a lttle faded but are obviously in the process of being upgraded. Friendly helpful staff; great breakfast; fantastic value for money at £85 per night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike from London, UK

Lovely location near the North Yorkshire Moors

Posted Jan 4, 2013
Pros: Staff - really warm, caring and provided super service
Cons: Rooms had old fashioned decor, but more than made up for this with size, comfort and views
Location: Location - stunning views of the North Yorkshire Moors and about 10 mins from northallerton and the fast train line to London
Stayed at the Solberge for one night after proposing to my girlfriend. Lovely location and hotel, staff were super, breakfast was delicious with the local sausages to die for!. The rooms have very comfortable beds, great bathrooms and are very large with fab views over the north Yorkshire moors. Great value but for those looking at high end luxury the rooms may disappoint as they are a bit old fashioned.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2012 on Hotels
Nice hotel, friendly staff and a very nice location. Things which let it down - lock on my door was hanging off (though they fixed it straight away) the food whilst well cooked was rather bland, breakfast took ages to be served and my bill was inaccurate (some random drinks added) which took about 20 mins to sort in the morning making me late. These are niggles though the hotel is very pleasant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent service!

Posted Jul 11, 2012 on Hotels
We stayed here as a treat for our first wedding anniversary. The room was advertised on hotels.com as superior, such rooms supposedly had views over rolling countryside. Our room (16) had views over the (defunct) Silks bar outdoor area. It was, however, clean & comfortable. Bar prices were high & a large wedding party on the Saturday night made getting served difficult. Could there have not been a separate bar in their function room? The staff & food were excellent. They continually gave updates as to the status of our service, Timo in particular was extremely professional, in spite of being the only waiter (initially) on the night of the wedding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sally from Huddersfield

Beautiful retreat

Posted Jun 25, 2012
This is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. The staff are friendly and food is very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Durham

Hotel undergoing improvement. Superb food

Posted Oct 18, 2011
The Hotel is being updated and the part that had been completed were to a very high standard. Our room had not been updated and was tired (but we were comfortable as we had a great value for money last minute deal). The staff were very good but the food was absolutely superb and very good value I thought. 3 courses for approx 30 pound per head. Good things ahead for this place I am sure