Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was closed and has been for weeks.

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Why on earth are Expedia still taking bookings for this place? We arrived at 8:00pm after a 5 hour drive only to find a sign on the door saying it was closed and try an alternative hotel. The alternative hotel said it had been closed due to a burst water main and had essentially been abandoned. Thanks
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chesham

Leemimg bar stay.

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Bed linen was good but bed sloped to the middle. Clean room but toilet handle was broken and so it wwas not working. Breakfast was good value.
4 out of 5
by spencer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by ANN from Padiham

Quality of Service not good.

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
room to small smells from shower room food was not edible booked in for 2 night only stayed 1 very 3 disapointing
4 out of 5
by Andrew from Penrith

Good

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly pleasant place to stay. Good value for money
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: The room was light and airy and the bed was comfortable. Plenty of gel, etc.
Cons: The hotel has a very real problem with staffing
Location: Wensleydale Heritage Railway and other local walks and sites of historical interest
Management and staffing was a total shambles. Check-in was OK but my TV did not work. The problem was solved very promptly by fitting an aerial lead!!! I later discovered (long after dark) that the mirror/shaver mirror did not work. With windows open on a warm night there was a lot of traffic noise despite being at the back of the hotel. Other than this the room and facilities were good value. On arrival I found none of the advertised real ale available and was told that "real ale is a bit of an issue at the moment". If so why is it being advertised? On arrival I was told that breakfast was from 07.30 and agreed that I would require mine at about 08.00. As nobody was available when I arrived in the dining room I again asked about ordering at about 08.15 but it was 08.35 before it arrived. The single pot of coffee available was lukewarm and stewed as it had obviously been standing since well before I arrived. As I left at 09.15 (at least 15 minutes later than planned) there was still nobody at reception so I was unable to pass on any complaints.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
room was very hot but a fan was provided. the toilet did not flush during the night - we were told in the morning it could be water pressure as it "returned" to normal in the morning
3 out of 5
by J B from Redditch

Average hotel near A1

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Their computer went down so they could not find my room. They were about to close the kitchen at 20.00 so I had to order a meal in a hurry. The food was not outstanding but adequate. The staff were quite helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Lovely area to stay in. For a cheap need somewhere to stay in that area it's great. They have events on every Saturday which if we didn't have a 3 year old we would have enjoyed. Music went on late into the night.
4 out of 5
by Alison from Dunblane

Relaxing overnight stay.

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
Had overnight stay in the White Rose. Ideal hotel as close to A1 and has character which you wont find in Motorway hotels.The food was lovely,we both had gammon with mustard gravy. All freshly cooked and home made chips which I haven't had for years. The staff are lovely and very friendly. The breakfast was very good and staff supplied tea and coffee with refills as requested.