Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown Hamp

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Staff, size (small), cleanliness...
Location: Smith college and its botanical gardens and art museum easy walk. Restaurants abound in town walking distance as well...Child's Park nearby...
Old and dated, heat in rooms during winter is excessive, however crack or open windows. Staff very friendly, plenty to choose from early in morning if you want to grab an English muffin, oatmeal...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from syracuse, ny

pleasant, unassuming and personal

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: We like the ambiance of traditional small inn that has huge fireplace in dining room (typical American cold breakfast fare), nice relaxed feeling.
Cons: We were told that the bathrooms are in process of being renovated.
Location: Smith College, just down the street, has an excellent art gallery. Main Street galleries, excellent cafes and restaurants close by.
stayed in same rooms two different visits and enjoyed both times. Asked about replacing tub surrounds, which are cracked, and light fixtures in bathrooms, and they are in process of updating them. Very close to Smith College and all the charming shops on Main Street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Kyle M. Front Office Manage, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our property. We are in fact in the process of updating sections of our bathrooms. This does include the tile work in the shower/tub. The walls in the bathroom are also getting a fresh coat of paint, also in the bedroom as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Nice location on Main Street. Large fireplace in common area lounge. Reasonable price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from RI

Feels Like a Cheap Motel

Posted Nov 14, 2016
LOTS of mold in the bathroom, beat up furniture, impossible to control heat - overall felt like a cheap motel. We were either stifling or freezing. No matter what temp you set the thermostat, the rooms overheated, but it was much too cold turn the heat off completely. We finally settled on turning the heat on and leaving a window open to balance it out. The mold in the caulking around the tub was disgusting. There were only two good things about this place; the location, which happened to be two miles from the event we were attending, and the size of the suite which was quite large. The front desk personnel were nice enough but seemed quite confused when I made very standard requests. I asked to have our son's name added to the reservation so he could check into the room when he arrived later in the evening while we were out to dinner. She looked at me like I had three heads - and then could only find one key for the room. What a disappointing property for such a beautiful town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Smith College

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here because we were visiting Smith and I remembered that my parents used to stay here when they visited me in the 90s. This place is old and doesn't seem like it has been updated in a very long time. The lobby stunk!!! It smelled a little like cat urine. I think it may have been the carpets. Breakfast was okay. My daughter used half and half in her tea and it was curdled. Our room also had a bad smell. The bathroom was old but clean and the beds were okay...the sheets were clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arlington mA

traditional furnishing, very clean and homey

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: Smith college, botanical gardens, northampton restaurants and bookstores, cool ambience
super service, feels like a comfortable version of home-; walk to town/restaurants; easy parking, great location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Good location for exploring the Berkshires
Cons: Hotel facilities like shower, carpets. Smell of cleaning supplies.
From outside very nice Inn, but inside should renovations took place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, VT

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Orbitz
I have stayed at the Autumn Inn several times over the last 25, and and each time I've felt respected and cared for by staff. The property is well maintained and rooms quiet and comfortable. They have a good breakfast and the massive fireplace in the dining room with antique copper kettles lends charm to one's dining experience. Close by are the Smith College gardens, providing a sweet stroll before breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Autumn Inn

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Wait staff in dining/breakfast room.
Cons: Cleanliness and lots of fresh air.
Location: Good location, lots of shops and good restaurants within walking distance.
Good location and quiet - just on the outskirt of Northampton, near Smith College. Unfortunately, the inn smelt of very stale air as though windows had never been opened. The stale odor was more apparent in the bedroom. Room was not too clean and one bed cover was stained. In the breakfast room, one member of kitchen staff was most helpful and went out of her way to assist everyone, especially us. She made us feel better about the Inn. It was a pity because I had relatives with me from Norway, where everything is exceptionally clean and fresh.