Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Great extensive continental breakfast buffet & nice pool! Very clean!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hartford CT

Convenience at a price

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location, comfortable bed, decent breakfast.
Cons: Clean the bathrooms better. Also, noticed that the pool water looked discolored. If you had kids looking for pool time, they would be disappointed.
Location: Northampton Center is good for shopping, art galleries, and restaurants. The Smith College Museum of Art has a world class collection.
This motel is conveniently located just past Northampton town center. Perfect for visiting Smith College and the wonderful Smith College Museum of Art. The room was not fancy but the bed very comfortable bed. The bathroom was not spotless and more care should be paid by the cleaning staff. It seems pricey but then the location determines cost and it is convenient. The continental breakfast is pretty good with enough variety with fresh fruit, bagels, muffins and a waffle maker.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

BE CAREFUL IF YOU PLAN TO STAY IN THE SUMMER!

Posted Jul 13, 2017
I've stayed there a few times as it is within walking distance of the Academy of Music, Smith College, and Downtown. And the pool is absolutely LOVELY and private WHEN IT'S OPERATIONAL! Only once in 3 stays has it been open. I even called 2 weeks in advance this June to make sure it would be open and I was told it absolutely would be. When we arrived I was told there was a problem (a leak of some sort). I could not book another room as we had to be at a concert within an hour and the town was booked up. When I asked the management to credit us one night's stay as compensation they refused. My feeling is they should have called all incoming clients 48hrs in advance to warn us of this situation and to give us the option to change hotels if we wanted - THAT would've been good service and would have made me a very loyal customer at their hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient to town but not as advertised.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Convenient. Barely okay but not more for that price.
Cons: Put in elevator and fill the pool water offer protein with breakfast. Preferably warm like scramble eggs in chaffing dish and bacon or sausage or ham.
When there for an overnight. Hobbled in with a cane from bursitis of the hip and was given a room on the second floor and told to go over there and go up. NO ELEVATOR, no offer of assistance to get my luggage up the stairs-no landings. Oh well, I figure this is good for me - a little challenge. At least there was a rail to hold and rest against. Besides I will enjoy the pool in the morning. Morning get on swimsuit, go out back to beautiful seasonal pool but apparantly summer is the wrong season - empty! Go in for breakfast and look around for some protein to start my day. None visible except for sugary yoghurt and three hard boiled eggs for a room full of people. Have coffee, a roll and piece of fruit and leave. Won't be back.
4 out of 5
by Sarah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Nancy

Mixed experience

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Room was comfortable but very much in need of updating and there were ants on the bed and in the bathroom. This was reported to desk staff, who "made a note." Sure hope so! Breakfast could use some cut fruit and sausage to round it out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Nice, convenient, low-budget hotel near town

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly, check out was a breeze, everything worked and that the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms clean. Good breakfast.
Cons: In such an old building, I doubt the carpets will be upgraded or the bathrooms made larger but a girl can dream.
Location: On Rte 9, with the rooms in the back so no street noise. Smith College right there. 10 minute walk into downtown Northampton. PLenty of free parking.
Don't be fooled by the outdated drab exterior. For the budget-conscious, this is a perfectly suitable place to stay while visitng Northampton. One of the only hotels that isn't a chain outlet or in the middle of a mall-like parking lot. Everything works well. It's clean. Staff are friendly. "Continental" breakfast is more than expected, with a very nice dining room, 24hr coffee/water/tea, and a massive 100+ year old fireplace. My window looked out on flowering trees and an old copper-roofed mansion rather than onto a parking lot or wall of a downtown building. It's cheap, you get one key for the room, the locks work, the heating works, the windows open, the bathrooms are clean, the water pressure is great. Cable TV, a printer/computer station available, wifi, in-room safe, comfortable beds. I stayed 2 nights.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was very nice and clean. The service was very friendly. The breakfast was nice. We did not like any of the pillows on our bed though. They were all very thick where I prefer a thinner pillow.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bittersweet experience

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is OK but for the prize the rooms are sold I would expect a better service, and the owners were spending a little money to change at least the carpet of the lobby than is the first thing that you see, and to move the disposition of the desk area/vending machines in a less than this primitive way. The person at the reception was incompetent, and left us wait 10 min. as she was listening at a potential client, without any sign of attention. Then she couldn't figure out the room (for which I had personally called to be sure that I would have had a room upstairs). All together the hotel provide service and breakfast was OK (there the woman handling it very nice and professional). We go to visit our daughter in college and it is not the first time we have been in this Inn. You pay the location but I can see if something else would come by they will loose all their clients if they continue to play cheap for renewing even the basics.
4 out of 5
by Christine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels