Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northampton, MA

Nice staff and great atmosphere

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere
We got a balcony queen on the third floor. We really enjoyed the balcony for drinks conversation after we left the bars which were all within walking distance from the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by The Hotel Northampton Management Team, Hotel Management
Hi Michael - Thank you for the great review! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Northampton.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Classic hotel in city centet

Posted Oct 16, 2017
The Hotel Northampton provided just what we were looking for. A comfortable room in a historical, classic hotel very near Northampton's city center. Many good restaurants and points of interest are in easy walking distance. The hotel staff is attentive. The hotel architecture is interesting. The room was comfortable. We were pleased with the balcony off of our room and made good use of it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by The Hotel Northampton Management Team, Hotel Management
Hi Paul - thank you so much for the great review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel classic historic building

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Great spot in a fun town with lots to do. Hotel is a classic place. Staff outstanding can not wait for my next visit
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by The Hotel Northampton Management Team, Hotel Management
Thank you! We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Pittsfield, Ma

Wedding Bell Blues

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Convenient location. Generally nice appearance. Staff were gracious and helpful.
Cons: Balance out the needs of wedding folks and other guests or, inform other guests that there will be a large wedding...etc. etc. etc.
Location: A number of decent restaurants and shopping areas within walking distance or a short drive of the hotel.
There was a wedding in progress on our arrival. The parking lot was full. The wedding party was allowed to completely take over the first floor of the hotel and into the second floor. They were loud and obnoxious for several hours. Around bed time, the wedding revelers were up and down the corridors making a drunken amount of noise which included at least one party goer vomiting within ear shot of our room. There was not much of a balance between our comfort and the raucous celebration of this wedding. They were allowed to take control of the comfort of many other guests. NOT OK.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by The Hotel Northampton Management Team, Hotel Management
Hi Michael - thank you for your review, and we are sorry to hear that your stay was not the greatest. We will pass along the information to the evening staff to make sure they are walking the hallways more at night to keep the noise levels down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the center of everything

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Location was great. Parked the car in the hotel lot and didn't have to drive anywhere.
Cons: We were disappointed the Wiggins Tavern isn't open for dinner on Sundays but the clerk at the front desk give us a great recommendation.
Beautiful historic hotel in the center of Northampton. Easy walk to shops and restaurants. Calvin Theatre right across the street. Lovely outdoor patio. We had a room with a balcony. Great view of the main street and mountain in the distance. Lobby area was full of charm. Big fireplace and lots of seating. Our room was very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by The Hotel Northampton Management Team, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you on your next travels!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great hotel in heart of Northampton

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Pleasant, beautiful, historical, excellent location. I try to stay here whenever I am in town but the cost can be prohibitive.
Cons: I wish that there was a water fountain on premises. There is a ice machine on every other floor.
Location: Jake's Saloon is across the street for brunch, as well as the concert venue. A block or a little more away from all the other restaurants
Excellent and easy check in. Good parking lot so you can just park and then walk around downtown since it's only a block away from restaurants. Beautiful facade with excellent foliage and plants, they really take care of the exterior of the building.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Hotel Northampton Management Team, Hotel Management
Hi Amanda! Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate how you've taken the time to write a thorough review, pros and cons, so we know how we are doing. We will pass along your suggestion of a water fountain to the owners, and also hope to see you again the next time you are in town!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, young staff

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Seems like the management isn't very experienced. Spent 3 nights there and had to change rooms each day. That was partly my fault, because I made the reservations piecemeal, but....really? Otherwise, it's a decent, typical Historic Hotels of America hotel, i.e. Cool building, great location, shortcuts in things like the bathrooms, and friendly but poorly trained staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Hotel Northampton, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We will forward your concerns to staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Nice hotel walk to shops and theatre

Posted Aug 29, 2017
I love historic hotels. I visited a friend in the area then stayed over in this charming conveniently located hotel. Breakfast and shopping in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Hotel Northampton Management Team, Hotel Management
We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and breakfast in the morning! We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Great location and wonderful staff

Posted Aug 23, 2017
A great location, right in the middle of Northampton. Easy walk to restaurants, shopping, and Smith College. Our room was very clean and comfortable, and the staff was very careful to see that we enjoyed every minute of our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Hotel Northampton Management Team, Hotel Management
Hi Susan - thank you so much for your review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, clean and quiet.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Cons: Weddings in the lobby.
Hotel is nice, clean and quiet and we would stay again. Bartender in the lounge was great!! The only negative that you need to walk through a weddings cocktail hour in order to get to guest restaurant/lounge. Certainly a bit awkward.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Hotel Northampton Management Team, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate the feedback, and hope to see you again!