Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton, East Sussex

Lovely country hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Location: Situated in quiet countryside but with beautiful villages around. Easy drive to Althorp House.
Very nice stay, comfortable room, very clean, helpful staff. Nice and quiet even with a wedding going on. Lovely buffet breakfast. Would recomend this hotel to friends
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thought it would be lovely

Posted Sep 6, 2017
It was our wedding night and we had booked a year in advance. We also recommended it to friends that needed to stay over and so they booked too. There was absolutely no recognition that it was our wedding night at all although they knew. The room was dull, basic and the bathroom had mould around the bath. I was really disappointed- we had had a wonderful day, everything had gone brilliantly during the day and then it ended like that. The only good thing was the breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Doesn't live up to it's potential.

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Grounds and friendly staff.
Cons: Entrance & Reception both need better signage. Wandered around the corridors until finding the bar. Improve weekend menu & add function room bar.
Location: Used the hotel for a base for Silverstone Classic.
Good location and excellent grounds (Albeit poorly signposted.). Has the potential for being a really good hotel but spoilt by concentrating on being a conference centre. Simply furnished bedrooms clearly geared for single occupancy by delegates; only one bedside unit. Restaurant serves high quality meals Monday to Thursday but menu choice drastically reduced on Friday and Saturday, cannot speak for Sunday. Bar meals served until late but again choice limited on Friday and Saturday. Venue also caters for weddings, for which it is an excellent location. A major downside however, is that the function room does not have a dedicated bar, meaning the only bar/lounge is shared with residents. Wedding guests dominating the area so a quiet drink not possible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Old, tired, overrated & overpriced

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Had an overpriced 'Exec room' (this didn't even include breakfast). Internet up & down, room small & just has a desk at end, making space smaller. Got a totally useless dressing gown & slippers, if I wanted to mooch around the 6ft of carpet available to walk on.. Room very tired, shower woeful, pillows lumpy, phone discoloured yellow but you're able to pick it up & dial 0 for Whitehall. Bottle of 'filtered' tepid water on desk, saying bottled on site. Constant sound of doors banging all night, as the doors are not soft close. Food: Went to bar to eat but was full of around 50 teenagers, so was like a youth club in there. five pound 10 for a pint of Peroni! I ended up ordering room service, food was barely warm when delivered. Breakfast was average at best.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Country

Not as good as expected

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: The facilities were very good. Swimming pool, sauna, tennis courts etc
Cons: Cleanliness, I don't like showering with mould crawling up the sides of the bath and grime living on light fittings and doors.
Location: The location was excellent, the hotel stands in lovely grounds and a walk to Brampton Halt which is a pub and has a steam railway nearby.
A lot better of family and friends met and stayed for a family wedding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Lovely hotel, staff helpful and accommodating. Would stay again. Only disappointment was there was no lift so it was difficult for my parents to get themselves and luggage up the steps. Overall the hotel was great and I would definitely go again
4 out of 5
by Dawn

Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
stayed her before and went for a better room this time - which was noisy and not as comfortable as the last one. Also I don't mind hotels charging more for some things but I thought a large wine at 11.50 was excessive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2017
A great stay, nestled in the Northamptonshire countryside and next to the Brampton Halt for good food. Good for cycling and hiking in the surroundings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from shropshire

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Nice Location & Leisure facilities
Cons: Attention to detail in meal preparation
Location: Pub next door was excellent Brampton Holt, would highly recommend the food, not traditional pub grub but one of the nicest pub meals we have ever had.
Hotel in quiet location, clean, friendly with a great little leisure complex. Had a lovely meal in restaurant would have scored them even higher but both our mains, Fillets of Haddock with Bubble & Squeak had multiple bones still in, not what I would expect from an A la Carte restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Countryside hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location, friendliness of staff. Beautiful old building. We were in an upstairs bedroom and could open our window to get in some fresh air.
Cons: Rooms slightly tired looking. Bed was only a double, most hotels these days have kingsized beds. TV reception not great.
Location: Located in the countryside.
The main building is beautiful with accommodation in the annexe. The grounds/gardens are beautiful. Check in was very quick and the staff very pleasant. Everything is well signposted. Had a very nice dinner in the restaurant. Breakfast was buffet style and everything was well cooked. Plenty of car parking space.