Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton, East Sussex

Lovely country hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Location: Situated in quiet countryside but with beautiful villages around. Easy drive to Althorp House.
Very nice stay, comfortable room, very clean, helpful staff. Nice and quiet even with a wedding going on. Lovely buffet breakfast. Would recomend this hotel to friends
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thought it would be lovely

Posted Sep 6, 2017
It was our wedding night and we had booked a year in advance. We also recommended it to friends that needed to stay over and so they booked too. There was absolutely no recognition that it was our wedding night at all although they knew. The room was dull, basic and the bathroom had mould around the bath. I was really disappointed- we had had a wonderful day, everything had gone brilliantly during the day and then it ended like that. The only good thing was the breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Doesn't live up to it's potential.

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Grounds and friendly staff.
Cons: Entrance & Reception both need better signage. Wandered around the corridors until finding the bar. Improve weekend menu & add function room bar.
Location: Used the hotel for a base for Silverstone Classic.
Good location and excellent grounds (Albeit poorly signposted.). Has the potential for being a really good hotel but spoilt by concentrating on being a conference centre. Simply furnished bedrooms clearly geared for single occupancy by delegates; only one bedside unit. Restaurant serves high quality meals Monday to Thursday but menu choice drastically reduced on Friday and Saturday, cannot speak for Sunday. Bar meals served until late but again choice limited on Friday and Saturday. Venue also caters for weddings, for which it is an excellent location. A major downside however, is that the function room does not have a dedicated bar, meaning the only bar/lounge is shared with residents. Wedding guests dominating the area so a quiet drink not possible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Old, tired, overrated & overpriced

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Had an overpriced 'Exec room' (this didn't even include breakfast). Internet up & down, room small & just has a desk at end, making space smaller. Got a totally useless dressing gown & slippers, if I wanted to mooch around the 6ft of carpet available to walk on.. Room very tired, shower woeful, pillows lumpy, phone discoloured yellow but you're able to pick it up & dial 0 for Whitehall. Bottle of 'filtered' tepid water on desk, saying bottled on site. Constant sound of doors banging all night, as the doors are not soft close. Food: Went to bar to eat but was full of around 50 teenagers, so was like a youth club in there. five pound 10 for a pint of Peroni! I ended up ordering room service, food was barely warm when delivered. Breakfast was average at best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Lovely hotel, staff helpful and accommodating. Would stay again. Only disappointment was there was no lift so it was difficult for my parents to get themselves and luggage up the steps. Overall the hotel was great and I would definitely go again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2017
A great stay, nestled in the Northamptonshire countryside and next to the Brampton Halt for good food. Good for cycling and hiking in the surroundings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from shropshire

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Nice Location & Leisure facilities
Cons: Attention to detail in meal preparation
Location: Pub next door was excellent Brampton Holt, would highly recommend the food, not traditional pub grub but one of the nicest pub meals we have ever had.
Hotel in quiet location, clean, friendly with a great little leisure complex. Had a lovely meal in restaurant would have scored them even higher but both our mains, Fillets of Haddock with Bubble & Squeak had multiple bones still in, not what I would expect from an A la Carte restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Countryside hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location, friendliness of staff. Beautiful old building. We were in an upstairs bedroom and could open our window to get in some fresh air.
Cons: Rooms slightly tired looking. Bed was only a double, most hotels these days have kingsized beds. TV reception not great.
Location: Located in the countryside.
The main building is beautiful with accommodation in the annexe. The grounds/gardens are beautiful. Check in was very quick and the staff very pleasant. Everything is well signposted. Had a very nice dinner in the restaurant. Breakfast was buffet style and everything was well cooked. Plenty of car parking space.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
Great room and tranquil setting however food was a bit pricey and they got food order wrong with very little understanding to issue.
1 out of 5
by Elvis Meatball Presley from Graceland, Memphis TN

Avoid this hotel it's a shambles

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
I would advise avoiding this Hotel at all costs. They charged me for a room which had been cancelled within the cancellation period. I had explained to the receptionist and showed her the confirmation emails of the cancellation and yet even after confirming I would not be charged she went ahead and charged my card. No support from the hotel, excuse after excuse with refunding the unauthorised charges. Eventually they agreed they had made a mistake but blamed it on there booking system crashing. I was then advised that they payment would show on my account in 24 hours, again another lie as when I phoned back told it would take up to 5 days. I received no real apology just excuses and I suggest the staff are all retrained on what they should and should not be doing. Furthermore the hotel needs to be refurbished unless you like thread bear carpets, grotty rooms and terrible service when things go wrong. It's the reason it's cheap I guess! You have been warned - Avoid! - Forgot to mention the pub hair in the shower, the only thing good about the hotel is the exit barrier once you have go through it!