Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

A French Farce!

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Building was once beautiful.
Cons: Everything
Location: Rural village, close to Northampton, Althorp House, Silverstone
Online pictures and reviews led us to book one night. Arrived to a very tatty drive, plant pots full of dead flowers and weeds and a sunken garden that had sunk to new lows. Very sullen young man on reception, no good evening, hello just key and wi-fi codes thrust at us. Shown to room which was clean apart from carpets which were very stained. We had stupidly booked a table for dinner. We were the only two there, the menu was a real mish- mash trying to be Spanish (I think). Went for what we thought the safest option after being asked 'what you eating'. Chicken a la creme!!!!! a grilled chicken breast scored like pork crackling, drizzled in olive oil and basil, a minute ramekin with 4 button mushrooms in a cheese sauce and a mound of frozen chips, Chicken a la creme I think not. Two mouthfuls and we left it. Went to pub we had driven past just up the road for happy humans and a drink as hotel bar was in darkness and closed. Returned an hour later (9.30pm) hotel in darkness. Let ourselves in couldn't find any light switches so tentatively went up stairs to our room, needless to say not a member of staff in sight. Good night sleep. Now for the breakfast experience and yes it was certainly that! Dire, awful service, half an hour wait for toast and a teacup and more. This is NOT a 4* boutique hotel that maybe it once was as there is certainly evidence it was nice in the past . No identity, service, trained staff or welcoming environment. Owners shame on you.
3 out of 5
by ANITA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by IAN from Cheshire

Need some TLC

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel getting tired. Trying to be something it unfortunately isn't. Wi-Fi poor. Food overpriced & just OK. Think trying too hard to be a Michelin starred restaurant & coming up short unfortunately. Hard not to like the place though, just needs a sprucing up in my opinion.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Restful

Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stay for a good night's sleep. The staff was kind and helpful. The full breakfast was delicious and fortifying for the day ahead.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield/London

3 March 2016

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Cons: The bar area could benefit from more comfortable arm chairs rather than the dining tables & chairs.
Location: Plenty of bars & resturants in nearby Northampton Centre, chose an excellant Thai restaurant for evening dinner.
A pleasant mid week stay albeit a little too quiet for our taste. The room was clean comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. I left behind my reading glasses, the staff were proactive and resourceful in getting these returned to me. Thank you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't be fooled by "Boutique Hotel and Spa"

Posted Mar 3, 2016 on Hotels
From the outside, you may appear impressed, the images on the website make the hotel appear very nice indeed..... but it couldn't be any further from the truth. The hotel is in desperate need of updating, the decor is old and everything appears to be done on a shoe string. My room was 'tired', the furniture was old, special mention to the 'lap top table' which appears to have been purchased from a shopping channel for a tenner, it was bent, wobbly and unusable so I had to pull furniture around to enable me to work. The windows are old sash windows and you get a constant cold blast. The bathroom, the shower was a single jet due to the shower head in desperate need of a clean and the whole thing needed ripping out. The tiny little fruit flies in the room became annoying very quickly, the food in the restaurant was VERY expensive and even though I was on business I could not bring myself to spend the money based on a restaurant in a hotel that cleanliness was questionable. The frustration in this booking is the listing and images are mis-leading. A real shame and for £95 B&B ... certainly not good value ..... OH and the long life milk served for your cereal is horrible and the scrambled eggs on toast (possibly the simplest thing you can make) was over cooked hugely .... served like it had been thrown on the plate. Will I be returning ..... I'd rather sleep in my car
3 out of 5
by Gabriel from Warrington

OK Hotel, give the restaurant a miss

Posted Feb 5, 2016 on Hotels
Ok Hotel. The restaurant was quite pricey and the food was not great
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lincolnshire

Not as the web site portrays.

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: no idea just passing through
Dreadful. Hotel on a busy main road, kept awake by traffic noise, very small room web site shows beautifull rooms, not ours glad it was only one night, Hotel in need of major refurbishment, it could be nice, rooms with dirty carpets chipped furniture, drafty windows., no hairdryer, no disabled facilities, dinner was expensive but ok, good wine but expensive, the spoil it all they allowed screaming children in the restaurant and allowed a customer to plug in his phone while we had dinner, never again, Breakfast was just as bad terrible food and bad service
5 out of 5
by Christopher

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 21, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by terence from Milton Keynes

Posted Dec 6, 2015 on Hotels
Very comfortable room and great breakfast