Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lincolshire

Old school charmer

Posted Mar 24, 2017
It's been a while - it's certainly old school and the room in the roof was just that - not easy when you are 6 foot three - all clean but it was the blast of cold air when i walk in wasn't great and WiFi and TV were flaky. Sorry not my cuppa - but thank you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

nice room, poor food.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: the room.
Cons: the food
Location: n/a
would stay again as the room was nice, however I definitely would find somewhere else to eat.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Avoid restaurant!

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Stay was clean, comfortable and stylish. The restaurant on the other hand was overpriced, lacking atmosphere, food poor and we were the only diners there. Didn't see anyone to pay them so waited til checkout when service charge had been added! Had to argue to get it removed! Avoid!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
Fabulous quirky place secluded but close to drive to facilities. Lovely comfortable room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A delightful place to stay

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: All of it, it's a beautiful place to stay, the staff are wonderful, they can't do enough for you.
Cons: The cold water tap didn't work in the Henry Horton bathroom
Location: Although the hotel is situated in quite a rural area, there is a convenience store and a pub about 2 miles away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gloucester

Very old building with uneven floors.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Room hadn't been cleaned on arrival, soon rectified with upgraded room. Food ok but overpriced. Tired feeling to the building. I won't be staying again. Staff were very nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

A French Farce!

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Building was once beautiful.
Cons: Everything
Location: Rural village, close to Northampton, Althorp House, Silverstone
Online pictures and reviews led us to book one night. Arrived to a very tatty drive, plant pots full of dead flowers and weeds and a sunken garden that had sunk to new lows. Very sullen young man on reception, no good evening, hello just key and wi-fi codes thrust at us. Shown to room which was clean apart from carpets which were very stained. We had stupidly booked a table for dinner. We were the only two there, the menu was a real mish- mash trying to be Spanish (I think). Went for what we thought the safest option after being asked 'what you eating'. Chicken a la creme!!!!! a grilled chicken breast scored like pork crackling, drizzled in olive oil and basil, a minute ramekin with 4 button mushrooms in a cheese sauce and a mound of frozen chips, Chicken a la creme I think not. Two mouthfuls and we left it. Went to pub we had driven past just up the road for happy humans and a drink as hotel bar was in darkness and closed. Returned an hour later (9.30pm) hotel in darkness. Let ourselves in couldn't find any light switches so tentatively went up stairs to our room, needless to say not a member of staff in sight. Good night sleep. Now for the breakfast experience and yes it was certainly that! Dire, awful service, half an hour wait for toast and a teacup and more. This is NOT a 4* boutique hotel that maybe it once was as there is certainly evidence it was nice in the past . No identity, service, trained staff or welcoming environment. Owners shame on you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tunbridge Wells

Comfortable bed and great breakfast.

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
Breakfast was brilliant. We were not in a lot and didn't need much more than bed and breakfast...literally. The room was big enough to have a small couch for comfortable sitting to read which I had hoped to do. The price was right? for the room without a view!
4 out of 5
by Felicity from Scotland

Small country house hotel with charm.

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly staff. Have stayed there before. The hotel is a little tired in places, but value for money. Think the food in the restaurant could be better & better menu. In all enjoyed my stay and the staff made me feel very welcome especially Martin & Amy. The hotel is an old building with charm, but does need a little attention in places.
3 out of 5
by ANITA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels