Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
23% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Ohio

The door locked....

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: The door locked We did not find any bed bugs....
Cons: Fix AC Fix wifi Clean units Replace stained bedding and carpet Update rooms
Location: Best thing to do is get back on I-90 and keep going wherever you are going...
Outdated, maybe last furnished in the early 90's probably more like the 80's sometime Dead bugs on the floor Stains on bedding and carpets Shower did not work Advertised as having air conditioning, it did not work Advertised as having wifi, it did not work
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Try someplace else in this town

Posted Aug 28, 2017
First off, the physical sign says "Rodeway Inn", so we circled the place a couple of times before realizing it was H and H. Mentioned this to the clerk... "You had us going for a couple of minutes." Neither a smile nor an apology from the desk clerk. Then found a number of things wrong with the room. Could barely get the door shut, as it was sagging on its hinges. Couple of lights didn't work. Bathtub faucet dripped. Worst of all, the AC couldn't manage to blow cold or cool air. Unfortunately we had already brought our stuff in the room and we're too beat from walking in the Badlands to go back to the office to ask for a different room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OH

The room had mold and smelled TERRIBLE.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: get rid of the mold by the sink the wall was bulging and taped with white duct tape. the tub floor was cracked the carpet was filthy the place smelled
Location: nothing was nearby as the location was on the edge of town
The night manager was tired and looks like he is tired of the situation but he was civil. The AM manager was rude and gruff. Breakfast was only for two hours and they were out of food within 1 hour. The manager response was we had so many people it's just gone. So dry cereal was the choice but the milk was out. She failed to even refill the coffee when it went dry so there was no coffee even though there was an hour left to breakfast. This was the worst experience we have had with bookings with Expedia. The ratings are usually close but this location should get zero stars
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by greg

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bates Motel

Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Hotels
I want to know how to get a refund! We had no other option or we would have cancelled our reservation. A/C didn't work; light bulb out in the bathroom; NO hot water. Originally gave us a room & key with someone already in the room. HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE! Felt like the BATES MOTEL... Felt sorry for the older woman working the counter at midnight.
1 out of 5
by Paul

Sorry motel

Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
I did not stay there. I made a reservation, but could not find the motel before 10:00. I then called motel twice for directions and by the time I did find it, manager was gone for the night. The reservation was made for H&H El Centro Motel, but name on motel was Roadway End. A key was left, but bed had not been made and soap and bathcloth had been used. Left note on envelope with keys, went and found another room. Came back next morning to talk to manager. He did not come in. By 7:30 I left and have not been able to talk to anyone.
1 out of 5
by Jerry

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
The first room the bed wasn't made. Instead of making the bed they had us move to a different room. We reserved a non smoking room. This stunk of smoke. The air conditioning didn't work. Outside was 100 degrees. . The toilet didn't work right, we had to keep hooking the chain back in the tank to flush the toilet. No one was there in the morning to check out.
1 out of 5
by Lynn

Should've slept in my car..

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
Worst hotel experience EVER! Had to call and wake up hotel owners to unlock door so we could check in. Was greeted with profanity as to how bad owners day was. Room was dated and a/c unit in the wall was loud and didn't blow out any cool air. Bed felt like a boxspring with a dent in the middle. Woke up still HOT after 4 hrs of sleep and it was cooler outside than it was in the room. Bathtub had a constant flow of water.. not a drip.. but couldn't hear it over the a/c.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Sketchy but Cheap

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: No traffic noise and it's cheap. I wasn't necessarily expecting a lot.
I wanted to stay as close to the Badlands as possible, but availability was limited when I booked. I think the lodging options in Kadoka are limited anyways, so I don't know that the Rodeway would be any better/worse than other motels in the area. When I was assigned my room, it was clear that it had not been serviced. The bed was unmade and a card key was left on the table. I asked for another room from the office manager. He was neither pleasant nor unpleasant. The second room I was in had a broken hot water knob in the shower - the knob was literally resting on the tub's edge - so no shower for me unless I wanted to ask for yet another room. I was just passing through, so I opted to stay in that room. A lot of appliances seemed to be plugged into one adapter plugged into one outlet. I had to unplug the fridge in the middle of the night because it was so noisy. The breakfast was fine, though, and the room was otherwise clean and seemed secure. You get what you pay for.