Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historical hotel close to Acadia trails

Posted Aug 30, 2017
This is a lovely historical hotel pretty close to all the popular trails in Acadia. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was quite small for the exorbitant rate we paid. It was also right above the main entrance so was very noisy when people come in and out. The bathroom sink had 2 separate faucets for hot and cold water so when you wash your hands you need to move your hand back and forth which was strange but we got used to it. Our rate also included breakfast which was ok, not great. If we ever come back to MDI we would probably stay in bar harbor which has a greater selection of eateries and is the same proximity as Asticou to the Acadia trails.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Like staying at the home of a friend=).

Posted Aug 20, 2017
What I loved about this inn is that while it has all the comforts of a hotel, it feels more like staying at the home of a dear friend or at once of those English manor homes=). I love this historical inn and will certainly stay there again if I'm in the area. If you enjoy quiet, this inn doesnt disappoint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Great location, staff and food. However the room was disappointing. We stayed at a number of higher end accommodations and this was the most disappointing room and the most expensive. Limited or no amenities - no television, no climate control, no robes etc. Would stay there again if the rooms were upgraded. The food and setting lead us to give the rating we have given but with the above qualifications.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Lovely old fashioned hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: 19th Century charactger
Location: Just off the loop road for Acadia National Park
We stayed in an adjacent property, the Cranberry Lodge rather than the main hotel. Our room was a large suite with a sitting room with sofa and chairs, a very large bedroom with a comfortable bed and table and chairs and an enormous bathroom. Very old fashion and the condition of the windows and walls was a bit in need of restoration. But, it was very very comfortable. The provided breakfast was excellent and we ate outdoors on the terrace overlooking the bay. At night we just ordered room service and indulged in oysters while sitting out on the porch. This was so much nicer than the tourist swarms across the island at Bar Harbor. Would stay again if we visited this area in the future. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Separate hot and cold faucet was annoying as was the noise from an old hotel . On positive side amazing views
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Quick trip to Acadia

Posted Jun 30, 2017
We had a lovely time at the Asticou. The room was just what we needed after a day of hiking. We noted there was no TV in the room but didn't miss it one bit. Instead we swam in the heated pool and played tennis on the inn's court (with racquets and tennis balls provided by the inn). We then made a quick trip to Bar Harbor for a delicious meal. Breakfast the next morning was a good start and we even ordered a picnic lunch to go!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NE HARBOR MAINE

Beautiful views

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Secluded but with beautiful views of the NE Harbor Needs some updating but had lots of character and staff is very nice
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from israel

pastoral stay in a pastoral place

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
i had an amazing room, huge glass windows with a view to the harbor. The room was very nicely equipped, divided into 2 with a small living room and kitchen, and the bed room. The staff was really nice and helpful. Breakfast was great as well. Location is a little far, but with the free shuttle transportation was really easy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good service but Old and dated

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel has a great view of the bay and service is great. We stayed across the street in a secondary building. Some may find it quaint and charming while we found it old and in need of refurbishing. Decor is a matter of taste but air conditioning , insulation, bathroom vanities all were too old and need replacing to improve comfort. The service is great though. Breakfast was excellent and complimentary.