Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore MD

Nice old inn on little “harbor”

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Attentive staff, beautiful gardens, clean, comfortable! Fair to slightly above average restaurant & lounge. Age of building yearns for some repair but others may find that “charming”. No television in room and bathroom was very small. We had a good experience but wouldn’t recommend w/o sharing the few negatives.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate New York

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Good location, much quieter than Bar Harbor but close to Acadia. Good restaurant on site.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Nice Inn, great location

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: The location was great and we had had dinner there on two previous years. We were looking forward to staying there, having a good meal and not having
Cons: Service at dinner was only OK. No replacement of silver wear. No popovers or even bread provided on sitting down. I would only recommend the setting
We arrived just a little early, but we're able to get into our room. We are both 71 and our room was on the fourth floor. There really wasn't an elevator for guests. Also, when we arrived with our bags we had difficulty getting in the front door. A little help from the staff would have been nice!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historical hotel close to Acadia trails

Posted Aug 30, 2017
This is a lovely historical hotel pretty close to all the popular trails in Acadia. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was quite small for the exorbitant rate we paid. It was also right above the main entrance so was very noisy when people come in and out. The bathroom sink had 2 separate faucets for hot and cold water so when you wash your hands you need to move your hand back and forth which was strange but we got used to it. Our rate also included breakfast which was ok, not great. If we ever come back to MDI we would probably stay in bar harbor which has a greater selection of eateries and is the same proximity as Asticou to the Acadia trails.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Like staying at the home of a friend=).

Posted Aug 20, 2017
What I loved about this inn is that while it has all the comforts of a hotel, it feels more like staying at the home of a dear friend or at once of those English manor homes=). I love this historical inn and will certainly stay there again if I'm in the area. If you enjoy quiet, this inn doesnt disappoint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Great location, staff and food. However the room was disappointing. We stayed at a number of higher end accommodations and this was the most disappointing room and the most expensive. Limited or no amenities - no television, no climate control, no robes etc. Would stay there again if the rooms were upgraded. The food and setting lead us to give the rating we have given but with the above qualifications.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Charming, but in need of a remodel.

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Orbitz
The Asticou inn has a beautiful restaurant and back deck that looks over an amazing view of Northeast Harbor. It has a beautiful lawn and pool and in the front a lovely porch. The staff was lovely and we had a fabulous dinner. Our room was large and looked out front so there was no view - which was fine, but it was not terribly well appointed. The real horror was the bathroom which was unclean, with a tiny Home Depot reject sink with knobs that looked like they were new 20 years ago. A creaky, tiny, very low toilet, and a bathtub/shower we didn't even deign to use. At these prices, it was really unacceptable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Lovely old fashioned hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: 19th Century charactger
Location: Just off the loop road for Acadia National Park
We stayed in an adjacent property, the Cranberry Lodge rather than the main hotel. Our room was a large suite with a sitting room with sofa and chairs, a very large bedroom with a comfortable bed and table and chairs and an enormous bathroom. Very old fashion and the condition of the windows and walls was a bit in need of restoration. But, it was very very comfortable. The provided breakfast was excellent and we ate outdoors on the terrace overlooking the bay. At night we just ordered room service and indulged in oysters while sitting out on the porch. This was so much nicer than the tourist swarms across the island at Bar Harbor. Would stay again if we visited this area in the future. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Separate hot and cold faucet was annoying as was the noise from an old hotel . On positive side amazing views
4 out of 5
by Tammy

Nice hotel, Not worth $300 a night

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was out of date, disguised as historical. The internet was horrible. If we were able to connect at all, the speeds were unusable most of the time. The furniture, wall paintings, windows and bathroom fixtures used were low grade materials and was clearly aging. These are things that can be easily updated without losing this historical significance of the property. They did have some cool, historical items in the common areas. The bed was comfortable. The staff was okay, not bad but not good. Our room was not ready upon arrival, despite that we showed up right at check-in time. For $300 a night, I would have expected much, much more out of our stay.