Ratings based on 1,117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet and close to all that Launceston offers.

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: The staff were very obliging was went the extra mile to satisfy guests.
Location: Close to CBD and Cataract Gorge and major highways.
Very quiet establishment close to CBD and tourist attractions. Although my stay was in winter the room was warm, in fact no need to put on the heating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Margate

Great quiet hotel

Posted May 9, 2016
The most lovely greeting and welcome from Alex on our arrival. The children commented on how friendly she was! Great room, clean, large, well equipped. Well supplied bathroom, all very clean and modern. Definitely would choose to stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

OK location, a bit rundown but clean

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Stayed just one night, offseason, end of April. Hotel is clean, staff was minimal
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

Nice hotel.

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Nice hotel. Great location. Lovely helpful staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melb

Wonderful building and great staff

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Wotif
Wonderful stay very comfortable and close to the town
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location, gorgeous room

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Wotif
We had a city view room with a balcony and it was gorgeous. Hotel was in a great location, the staff were very helpful and overall experience was excellent.
4 out of 5
by Rajni

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NSW

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: The bed was fantastic. The view was wonderful.
Cons: Not a lot of room left in fridge for our own drinks that we had bought with us.
Location: The Gorge and Chairlift... Its a beautiful place to visit...
The staff were fantastic... The room was very clean and comfortable...And in walking distance to the shops and the Gorge.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Great view. Wonderful old building.

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Wotif
We would stay there as gain. The staff appeared new to the game and unsure of how the money side worked. The lift scared the daylights out of me. The lack of facilities was the worst. A bar or restaurant aftet a long drive would have been great. The lack of a HOT breakfast wad very disappointing. We were pointed to the cafe down the road. Pethaps an arrangement with the cafe for priority service might help.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2016 by James, Hotel Management
Hi Burgo. Thank you for your review and we are glad that you were satisfied overall and would stay again. We did have a new staff member join us in March. I am sorry if there was an issue regarding payment. It may have been one of those learning curve things but it shouldn't happen again. Just so you know, our lift is serviced by KONE every month and is safe and works well, albeit it is a slow moving lift. We trialed cooked breakfasts in 2014 but found there was no demand. Most people want to eat outside the hotel. It is hard to compete with Cuccina, which has great food, great coffee and is a one minute stroll from the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Plush

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Best bed and pillows ever! Oversized room and spa bath. 2 min walk to cafe for delicious breakfast. 3 min walk to popular Italian restaurant. Staff extremely helpful and friendly and went the extra mile to help organize bookings and taxis etc.