Ratings based on 1,191 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceptional

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Exceptional. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Front of house Staff very helpful and courteous.restauarant a little dissapointed. Easy walk to town centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Pleasant stay

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Closento city centre
Friendly staff and easy check in. The room was clean, tidy and had a big bathroom. very modern. Would come back and recommend to friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hobart

Weekend Away

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Keeping up with the Mantra concept.
Cons: Beds/mattresses. Maybe regular review of beds be made every couple of years.
Location: Location was very good easy access to most roads to get to places.
Hotel well situated and welcoming. The room was a little small but had all the features associated with Mantra. The bed was old and very "lumpy". Having dinner at the restaurant was easy. Food and wine choices were pretty good. An all-round positive experience apart from the bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Excellent breakfast

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Pillows were not as comfortable as I would have liked.
Location: Great location
We had a wonderful stay at Mantra Charles. The staff were very friendly, polite with local knowledge. Breakfast was fantastic with lots of options. The rooms were smaller than expected but very clean and comfortable. The toiletries were replaced each day as were the tea/coffee in room. It was a bonus to have free parking at the hotel as it was an easy walk into town from the hotel. We loved our stay and would recommend the hotel highly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel's close to amenities like shops, restaurants

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: excellent
Cons: maybe a wheelchair.
Location: shops, restaurants
excellent staff, they're very helpful when one of our companion experienced health problem and needed a wheelchair. Staff from the counter made contacts to hospital ( unfortunately the customer, an american, was not qualifed for medical attentions as related to us by the staff) but the staff was able to get a wheelchair. Our appreciation to the counter staff, as well as to the restaurant staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hobart, Tas

Lovely rooms close to town centre

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: As above
Cons: Nothing I can think of
The Reception staff were very efficient & our room was ready when we arrived. The room was a nice size & an added bonus was a small kitchenette with 2 hot plates as well as a microwave & full set (for 2) of crockery & cutlery. The bathroom was quite large & very modern & clean with a walk in shower. I was impressed that unlike most hotels with a King Size bed the pillows were big enough to cover the whole width?? We only stayed one night but will definitely stay here the next time we need accommodation in Launceston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Good hotel for travellers

Posted Jan 3, 2017
This hotel is very good value for money. The decor is modern and breakfast was included in the price
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good rooms but will not stay again

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Clean room
Cons: Service attitude and $ hungry policy
Location: A bit of distance from central area, but not too far.
I keep forgetting Mantra is so much commercially driven hotel and I have thought this before I shall not stay at Mantra ever again. While the room is comfortable and clean, one can see the endless effort by hotel trying to squeeze out every single dollar they can. Example is credit card payment fee for all cards including visa, master or Amex etc. or high fee for wifi where nowadays it is mostly freely provided even in a public street. Staff attitude in restaurant was also disappointing, rather than trying to provide best service for the customer, I can feel they are more interested in what $ they can generate. Of course, $ is its primary goal being a private company, but when it is not based on a long term win-win strategy but on short-mid term win-lose, it puts me off. Shall try to remember never stay at Mantra again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Wotif
Comfortable, straightforward, easy. Shame about having to pad this review, that's kind of a downer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Wotif
A fabulous experience. Look forward to staying again.