Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice clean hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Everything. Especially being able to lock up car in secure location.
Cons: nil
Location: Drove to Lower Head, visited Pilot Station - very interesting. Drove over Bridge to Beauty Point, another good location
Good location, good restaurant, good friendly staff. Best sunset I have ever seen.
4 out of 5
by Murphy

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
beautiful apartment with a stunning outlook the only disappointment was the cooking equipment which was falling apart and insufficient no frypan and no colander.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Wotif
Lovely friendly staff, clean spacious room, good food. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland

Brilliant room with fantastic views

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Views and room sizes
Cons: Reception was a tad unprofessional.
Location: Great walking path and trip to lighthouse.
Huge rooms with a great deck overlooking the Tamar river. Full kitchen, laundry facilities. Reception at the bar a bit odd. Great stay. Would highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2017 by Sharee Hogan, Hotel Management
Dear Helen, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am disappointed to read that reception was unprofessional and can assure you this is not the standard we aim for. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Sharee Hogan Hotel Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the place to stay!

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
We were very disappointed with our stay at Peppers. We were put in an apartment which was only accessed by stairs via a stairwell with a fire door that slammed continually. There was no secure parking for this apartment, whereas other apartments had secure parking. It was advertised free WiFi in the room, but it was only accessible in a Bar lounge. In the room there were instructions on how to switch the TV to Foxtel (pay TV) and when we had no success with this, rang reception who sent someone up to help who also couldn't follow the instructions! They later called us to say because Peppers was under new management it had been cut off!! There were no blankets provided and the doona was far too hot for summer, however on the second night a requested one was provided. Tea, coffee, washing powder and dishwasher liquid wasn't topped up for second night and even though it was requested at reception on the second night, they said they'd see what they could do because that was housekeeping's problem. Said they'd call us but never heard! This was the final stay of our trip and a real disappointment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, I would first like to apologies for any inconvenience caused throughout your stay and would like to reassure you that our staff pride themselves on excellent service. Our team at Peppers York Cove cover all departments and our Restaurant and Reception area run as one. Our team in the Restaurant are trained to offer assistance in all aspects of our hotel. We offer all free to air television and wifi in our retsuarant, bar and lounge area.we offer at our hotel. Peppers York Cove offer complimentary parking to all of our guests and spare spaces located at our underground car park can become available upon request should you wish to utilise these. We are workingclosely with our House Keeping team to ensure that all amenities in our rooms are fully stocked prior to arrival as well as throughout the guests stay, and to make sure that all kitchen facilities and stock is kept clean and tidy upon return to their room. Again I would like to apologise ans hope that we are able to welcome you back in future. Kind Regards Sharee Hogan Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a short stay in George Town

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: the rooms
Cons: dining
I've stayed here before so I knew the rooms are really very good. Didn't have time to use the pool. T restaurant is beautifully located, but unfortunately, during the week at least, the food is quite standard and limited in choice. so eat out or make your own food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Sharee Hogan, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am disppointed to read that you didnt enjoy the restaurant, but am really happy that you enjoyed the location and your room. Kind Regards Sharee Hogan Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Amazing views over York Cove

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location and setting
Cons: increase staff numbers. Replace a number of pots/frying pans that look like they've reached their useful life.
Location: Town Centre, East Beach near Low Head is great for young families.
These spacious apartments are set with a nice outlook over York Cove and has all the facilities including a huge fridge, dishwasher, laundry and cooking facilities. The outdoor heated pool was a hit with the family. They seem to be severely short-staffed, with the restaurant staff also doubling up as reception staff and answering phones, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Sharee Hogan, Hotel Management
Dear Sam, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will certainly look into the pots/frying pans in all our rooms. We pride ourselves on the up skilling of all our staff across all facets of our business but will certainly take your feedback on board. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
4 out of 5
by Bryce

Sad to hear it's closing

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
Nice quiet stay in enormous suites with great views.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Bryce Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am pleased you had the chance to enjoy our wonderful views, we certainly have some of the best in Tasmania. We hope to welcome you back to Peppers York Cove in the future. Kind Regards Sharee Hogan Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Out of the way hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2016
The hotel doesn't have a proper reception and the only way to check in is to check in at the bar of the restaurant, if this is closed then there is no way of check in in or out. The hotel is the only thing around the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Sharee Hogan, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Our staff are up skilled in both Front Office and Food and Beverage to offer our guests the best customer experience. We have an after hours check in and out for all guests that require after hours assistance. We are situated on the Tamar River with amazing views and a central point to the Tamar Wine Route, the Low Head penguin tours are a 5 min drive. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Sharee Hogan Hotel manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First night in the Tamar

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Position - view - access to open inviting restaurant.
Great room - although expected a balcony as the photos for that particular room showed a balcony on the expedia website also showed full view of waterfront. We did have a partial water view and part of the carpark which was no problem except it was disappointing re balcony. Hotel staff were very nice and advised it looked as if the general photos for the whole hotel had been used on each individual room description. However t\room was really good - v. clean - spacious & great value for money. Restaurant and staff were lovely
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Sharee Hogan, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for choosing to stay with and enjoyed our restaurant views and offerings. I am pleased you found our rooms clean, spacous and value for money. We have had the adjuasted the photos to show each rooms correctly. Thank you for posting your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Sharee Hogan Hotel Manager