Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hobart

Overpriced and surprised with others high rating

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Location
Great location, but a tired hotel. Our toilet seat was broken and the hairdryer afixed to the wall did not work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland

Two night stopover on driving holiday

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Very friendly receptionists. Tastefully decorated room. Fairly central to Launceston centre.
Cons: Be nice to have a bath in bathroom.
Location: We visited Cataract Gorge, a must see in Launceston, as well as strolling around the centre. Also visited the Mole Creek caves from here.
Stopped here a couple of nights to explore Launceston & surrounding areas. Hotel is old, but has been tastefully modernised in keeping with its heritage. Room was comfy & clean. Had ground floor room, would've been nicer to have a 2nd/3rd storey room with balcony, as our window backed directly on to carpark. Breakfast room service menu was reasonably priced. Restaurant onsite for evening meals, however, we chose to dine elsewhere both nights (English pub down the road & fabulous Chinese in centre!)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

OK Hotel and in town area location

Posted Sep 20, 2016
This hotel is a walking distant to the city and the hotel is good for a few nights stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Very convenient to the city.

Posted May 12, 2016
A lovely stay, super soft pillows and quiet room. The city was a short stroll away. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geelong

Nice and clean facilities

Posted May 9, 2016
Friendly staff. Hotel is older but very clean and in good condition. No problems with the room or any facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Value for money in a quiet near central location

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Friendly helpful staff. Original hotel has lots of character. Newer parts are spacious, clean and had all that was needed. WiFi reception was excellent (and free). 400 metre walk to Coles. Would stay her again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Request unfulfilled

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Very convenient location, the reception staff was very pleasant, housekeeping was done daily
Cons: shower positioning
Location: main shopping centre is close, Tamar river,
The hotel was booked months ago and we requested the room upstairs but we were given a room that was downstairs and did not nay view or sunshine. The basic things like jug for water was not provided, two cups were not same, no tissue box, the screen in the bathtub made hard to reach the taps to adjust the water temperature, so had to stand in the bathtub to start the water from the shower head and got cold feet before the water ran to the correct temperature. This part was safety issue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nsw

Good position, friendly staff , comfortable stay

Posted Apr 9, 2016
The hotel is very central, the staff were very friendly. Rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. Good facilities including great food in restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland, Australia.

Great location, great value.

Posted Mar 10, 2016
Pros: New rooms and very helpful staff.
Cons: Old carpets on landings. As we stayed on the third floor a lift would have been nice!
We recently stayed at this hotel in Launceston. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The rooms have obviously just been refurbished and were amazing value. Please don't judge the rooms based on the old verandah carpets or stairs. This was one of the cleanest hotels we stayed in on our trip to Tassie. Great location - just a short walk to the Gorge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Good and close to town centre

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Good and clean hotel within a comfortable walk to town. Our only discomfort were some Asian people crying (and fighting?) in the late evening, and some other people smoking and drinking outside our open bedroom window (that we chose to open ourselves) late at night (after closing the window around 11:30pm we did not hear or smell them anymore).