Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geelong

Grand Historic Launceston Home

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: History and originality
Location: Walking distance to Launceston city
We always like to search out the more historic and quirky places to stay as we tour the sites, and this grand ol' manor fit the bill. Full of the friendly owners collections of Victorian antiques, we got to stay in one of the upstairs four poster bed rooms, with spectacular views over the city, in a room stuffed full of intertesting bygone era treasures. Complete with a perfectly modern ensuite including a big cast iron bathtub.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Charming, comfortable stay

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: Nice, personal touch from staff; comfortable room; location suitable to explore Launceston on foot or by car.
Location: Hotel is a 10 minute walk from local restaurants and shops. Cataract Gorge is an easy 5 min drive or Beauty Point and Tamar Valley 40ish minutes drive
Although we didn't spend much time at our accomodation, it was a comfortable place to wind down and rest after long days touring Tasmania. Everything we needed was available, although we were told on arrival that breakfast wasn't available due to staff being absent. We'd planned to be out early, so this was no issue for us and not an ongoing issue that would affect a future decision to stay. Staff were particularly helpful, I'm sure anything I needed would have been catered for within reason. As I needed to print some park passes etc, I was given access to the computer to print these off and negotiating different check out times was no problem for us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't recommend this place

Posted Feb 28, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is really a house so I'd call it a B&B except they don't include breakfast in the price. Proprietor asked me if we wanted breakfast and I agreed. When checking out he said it was $14 per person for breakfast. Not only was this high for the value of a continental breakfast, but he was deceitful in not disclosing ahead of time. The house is up on a hill away from the city and the room accommodations are unorthodox with respect to layout and entry/exit.
4 out of 5
by Vikki from Eltham NSW

Old world charm

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels
Old world charm and very convenient location. Our family room was large and beds very comfortable. Owners Paul and his wife are very friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by Lisa

Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Nothing
Cons: No power when we got there and run down facilities total to off for price
Facilities: Run-down; Value: Rip-off; Service: Rude; Cleanliness: dusty & cobwebs;
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Wouldn't Recommend Staying here

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: We liked the fact that it was once a Beautiful Old Heritage House and the gardens that surrounded it were quite lovely.
Cons: Needs a major overhaul.
Location: Wonderful location and things all in walking distance.
The location was excellent but unfortunately the facilities were quite sad and tired. . The kettle didn't work, there was no plug for the hand-basin, no bath mat was provided, the curtains were broken, there was paint peeling off the window frames and it was in dire need of a major facelift. For the price, we were expecting a bit better.
2 out of 5
by Wendy from Australia - WA - Perth

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: I needed a bed and they had one.
Cons: Place is old and tired. Reno to our room was embarrassingly amateurish. Worse than I could do. Basin was coming off wall. Bed & floor creaked a lot.
Location: Really Hard to find
Facilities: Run-down, Not fit for leasing; Value: Old dirty very tired; Service: Almost non existent; Cleanliness: Grubby, Hair in shower basin; The service was poor. Paul the host wore dirty clothing at brekkie.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: History, location and ambience
We enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
by Frank from Adelaide S.A.

Comfortable overnight stay

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: It was different from the usual hotel. Close to Launceston shopping and touring (if you have a car)
Met by friendly front staff. Offered a choice of available rooms. Interesting decor in rooms. Nice touch. A little different from many hotels/motels.
4 out of 5
by Irene from Australia - TAS - Regional TAS

Posted May 21, 2013 on Wotif
Cons: House is tired and needs renovating. The wet areas were spread around the room and the spabath was hard to get into.Design of the room was poor.
Location: Perfect
Facilities: Tired, Old; Value: Over-priced; Service: Professional, Respectful, Courteous; Cleanliness: Clean, Neat; Host was lovely. House is old and beautiful but needs more upkeep.