Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Pros: Pretty, elegant and clean.
Location: Pretty view and environment.
House is very elegant, pretty, clean and cozy. Host is friendly and breakfast is very impressive. She also provide the necessary informations we want. We do enjoy our stay very much.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lafayette, IN

Charming Victorian.

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Location: Sweet downtown area with some nice quaint shops.
Excellent breakfast served in the beautiful dining area. Maureen was pleasant and friendly and attended to our every need. Nice sized bath for an older home. Plushy towels and bathrobes were a nice touch.
5 out of 5
by Garland D

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is a Jem!

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
One night stay on the way to east coast.Arrived early afternoon, and Maurine assisted us with a map on accessing the walking trail at the edge of the town. Small town with beautiful old homes. Trail was scenic.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Endroit très chaleureux

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
Accueil chaleureux, bel endroit et bien situé (on peut aller se promener à pieds dans la ville). Très bien insonorisé. Déjeuner extraordinaire fait par l'hôte. Le seul bémole est la toilette dans la même pièce que la douche ce qui complique les matins où il y a plusieurs personnes et pas de climatiseur (seulement ventilateur)
5 out of 5
by Neil from Williamsburg VA

A Great Night in St. Johnsbury

Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for one night while on vacation. Great location, beautiful house, classy rooms, good breakfast, excellent knowledge and tips from the proprietor, almost everything one could ask in a B & B. Yes, the bathrooms are shared, but they are in great condition and everything you need is provided. The room, without air conditioning was a trifle warm, but to be fair, we were in the room in the front of the house that got the most sun and the day was unseasonably warm. The fan that was provided alleviated most of the problem, especially after the sun went down. I think these are the tradeoffs you make to stay in a beautiful historic house that hasn't been ruined by inappropriate modernizations. While you're in the area, make the trek (about 20 minutes each way) to the Bread and Puppet Museum, it's a memorable experience! All in all, we would return anytime.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The night before Thanksgiving

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels
We stopped here on our way to a vacation in Canada. It proved to be an ideal location for our trip. Our hostess was very accommodating, as were the student guests who were also present, and this was the night before the holiday with relatives arriving. We had a great recommendation for dinner at a place close by, and a wonderful full breakfast the next morning. A young relative even helped shovel out our car-greatly appreciated! If in the area, we would definitely consider staying here again.
4 out of 5
by Louise from Belmont California

Great food

Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels
The hostess provided the best breakfasts of our trip and promoted great conversations around the table.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Middleboro, MA

An architectural find!

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: The hostess was willing to share her knowledge of architecture with us.
Cons: Some of the interior decoration appears to be a work in progress, could be a 'turn-off' to some guests.
Location: St. Johnsbury offers interesting history as an old Vermont mill town-- lots of antique stores, book stores, organic markets.
A real find in American architecture of the early 20th Century, this Queen Anne, built in 1898, is being lovingly restored by its present owner. The guests can accept the occasional chipped paint on the baseboard and slightly off-center walls and floorboards when one considers the attention to detail being given by the owner to finding the authentic wood match of the paneling, the right wallpaper and drapery-style --all to fit the era of the house's origin. By evening I was buried in 'coffee table' books about this uniquely American home-architecture! Our hostess shared time with us over breakfast (my husband & I always enjoy this personal time with our B&B hosts). She sent us off with a delicious breakfast plus a bag containing the rest of that morning's freshly baked bread..Before departing St. Johnsbury, a quick trip around the town turned up an organic market where I found cheddar cheese and fresh apples to complete our snack-bag; we were now well-stocked for our journey to Quebec City!