Ratings based on 801 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Good location and nice staff.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: There is baggage storage. The pool is lovely. The photos on the website reflect the hotel exactly how it is. Good air conditioning in rooms.
Cons: A few bench seats outside the front of the hotel would be great for when you are waiting for a bus or cab. There were always people milling around the
It was a last minute decision for her to come with us. I called the hotel to arrange a ground floor room. It was not a problem at all. Overall we had a good stay. The hotel is rated four star? Maybe a three star. We have stayed in both and it is not four star. According to star ratings this is the description of requirements “Properties which achieve a deluxe guest experience. A wide range of facilities and superior design qualities is typically complemented by service standards that reflect the varied and discerning needs of the guest” We would stay again. The positives. Good location and easy walking distance to the esplanade and shopping areas. It’s about $6 for a cab. My mother in law couldn’t walk far and the staff were helpful and would order her a cab. Nice to have a newspaper to read. Newspapers daily in the foyer. The reception staff were great. Nothing was a problem. There is baggage storage. The pool is lovely. The photos on the website reflect the hotel exactly how it is. Good air conditioning in rooms. Well priced breakfast. BBQ area was great and we used it a few times. Good free WIFI. The negatives. We needed to drag the bedside lamp over to read the instructions for the safe. It was in a cupboard and too dark to read. My mother in law left her passport with reception as she couldn’t see the instructions either. The phone ring tone is very low. We couldn’t hear it when our mother in law called and vice versa.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aiea, Hawaii

Wouldn't recommend this motel to people we like

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Location is central
Cons: The people minding the desk need a refresher on good customer service.
Location: Not far from Cairns Central mall where you can find about anything.
Condition of motel is just average, but our experience with staff was definitely sub-par. The night manager or person who checked us in gave us confusing directions on the location of our room, and neither of us really understood what she was trying to tell us. The day manager was unfriendly and sarcastic. My wife left a hoodie in our room, and when I called to ask them to hold it for us I was told nothing had been turned in, and they couldn't enter the room after someone else had checked in. When I pushed the manager to double check, she said that no one had checked in yet, and went to the room to search, finding nothing. The next day the housekeeping manager called to say the hoodie had been located, and she was very nice. All in all, not a good experience at the Coral Tree Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel 10 minutes from the Esplanade

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Cons: The staff could be a little warmer (even if it is Queensland).
Good hotel close to the Esplanade, very clean, nice pool. I would recommend it to everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

Convenient hotel close to beach & downtown

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Nice place with pool, bbq, free & easy parking but no lift so we had to carry our luggage up to 1st floor. The woman at the desk when wr checked in did come to help us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Good for the price

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Wotif
Clean hotel, 15 mins walking distance from CBD. Reasonable facilities. Staff were good and assisted when required.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant ,handy to everything

Posted Dec 17, 2016
A very comfortable stay,close to beach and all city amenenties
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

A bit disappointing

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Wotif
Cons: See above
Picked on Wotif as a 'four star' mystery hotel; the hotel is quite dated as was the room I had; rusty soap dish and drain in bathroom floor; old tiles, tired looking and dated as mentioned already. My room was on ground floor beside the pump room and could hear water pumping/running intermittently all through the night. The very small patio was all fenced in and backed onto a wooden fence about 1 metre away. I don't think it was worth the $100/night and not sure if 'four star' has any meaning or relevance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United States

Wonderful hotel in the heart of Cairns

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Orbitz
I was in town on holiday for a few days and stayed at Coral Tree Inn. The staff was the kindest I experienced during my travels in Australia. The hotel room was spacious and in a quiet area. The hotel is also within walking distance of various grocery stores, restaurants, coffee shops and pubs. I look forward to returning to Coral Tree Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from qld

nice comfy hotel and handy to everything

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: swimming pool
Cons: maybe get a selection of foxtel channels
very clean hotel and handy to everything,excellent staff and well maintained
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Older Style - YGWYPF

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: Firm bed
Cons: Echos from the corridor outside
As you walk into the hotel the scene is a welcoming one with a comfortable lounge setting and small restaurant catering for breakfast. At the time of this writing the buffett breakfast is $20 which is great for the big eater or those about to go exploring early. Beyond is a pool which is surrounded by the rectangular aspect of the building. My room (2nd floor) followed the prison cell model of rooms branching off a long narrow corridor. This made for some echoing as guests left in the early morning. The room was a standard hotel room with a small balcony (east facing which overlooked the pool), double bed and ensuite. There is a small fridge, cups and plates, cutlery but no microwave. The (very cheap) television had terrible reception which frequently broke up...no big deal if TV is not your thing. Lastly, there was no street noise and access to central Cairns was a 2-block 10 minute walk. No eating or drinking places around the hotel. You get what you pay for.