Ratings based on 1,220 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

Great location

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Hotel was great. Staff friendly. Free shuttle into city center. Overall an excellent place to stay. Wish it had been more then a week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice hotel perfect location

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Hotel was nice and in a perfect location where its quiet and peacefull.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Good hotel, well worth a stay.

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Very relaxed atmosphere, just what you want after a long flight.
Cons: Nothing, all OK.
Everything we wanted in a hotel, not too over the top. All Staff were very helpful and all looked happy in their day to day work.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adequate

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Booked 4 weeks in advance for 3 people in a double twin bed. On arrival they said they were booked out and gave us a king size suite with a sofa bed. That's was fine, the king bed was amazing, the sofa bed on the another hand was not so great to sleep on. That's my only complaint.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from rockhampton

Close to beach

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Wotif
Poor cleanliness. Stained smelly carpet. Unclean bathroom. Poor maintenance. Mould in bathroom. Detached bathroom tiles. Restaurant food was excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Hotel by the Beach

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Hotel was clean, staff were nice. Loved the Christmas tree in the lobby. It was walking distance to the Esplanade and shops. Would come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Close to the beach and all facilities.

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Everything was liked, there is nothing to dislike about the hotel.
Cons: I could no think of anything that requires improvement. If anything, maybe the pool could stay open later.
Location: For our stay in Cairns, the location is perfect. Its our first trip to cairns and will be returning next year and will be staying at the same hotel.
Had a great time. Hotel staff always greeted you with a smile and made you feel welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel on the beach.

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Wotif
The staff are very friendly, the room just the right size and walking distance to whatever you could want. A comfortable relaxing nights sleep and helpful staff when you wake up.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room for Improvement

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Wotif
When we first arrived at our room it looked neat and tidy, all the basics were there with a nice view over the mountains. The room slept 3 however we had two coffee cups/ one spoon/ two water glasses...are we suppose to take turns drinking coffee and water? The bathroom sink had mold around it and the tiles on the wall were dirty with who knows what. Apart from this we ordered late night room service which was fast and our waiter very cheerful, the beds were comfy and shower had good water pressure. If I had written this review the night before we left I would have said the best part about our stay was the staff. Although when we checked out in the morning we had the rudest younge lady serve us - which to be honest has ruined our experience with Holiday Inn.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: location, right across the road from the esplanade. Great choice on breakfast buffet.
Cons: Customer Service. Real king beds instead of twin bed style that are pushed together.
Location: Can walk right across road to esplanade, lagoon in walking distance
Receptionist couldn't find booking in his system at check in, was adamant that we did not have a booking. Even after advising we had an email confirmation he was still adamant we didnt have a booking. When we described our booking inclusions and rate, he advised that was not their going rate for that package. He then apparently looked in another screen and finally found a booking. Did not offer an apology.