Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota

Convenient Downtown Hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: Central location.
Cons: Softer beds.
Location: You are in the center of town near many restaurants, shopping and the palace with it's museum an park.
We stayed for the second time in March 2016 at Alfa Hotel. We keep choosing the hotel for it's convenient location in Downtown Karlsruhe. You can walk almost everywhere in the immediate center in less than ten minutes and most of the tram lines pass nearby. The hotel is very clean, the rooms have sufficient space, breakfast has a satisfying standard, the staff is very helpful and some speak some English. If you want to criticize something it would be the small bathrooms and eventually the hard beds as well as the tight parking spaces in the garage. The rooms to the street can be quite noisy during the night on weekends. We still will return for sure for our next stay in Karlsruhe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Turkey

Close to the Center

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Right in the center, clean, helpful staff. The restaurant proposals of the lady receptionist was great. But it takes a bit of noise from the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location, nice rooms, NOISY

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Location, large rooms.
Great location. All the city center restaurants and pubs are right in this area. The rooms are larger than normal for German hotels. But the restaurants and pubs make for very noisy nights. Even with windows closed it keeps you up. Good thing is that every room had a small stand up fan. Put it right by your headboard and you can drown out the noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Canadian from Canada

Central for Karlsruhe explorers

Posted Apr 4, 2013
Pros: Favourites -- were the central location in Karlsruhe, the friendly staff, comfortable room and the Bio Store across the way
Cons: The least favorite was all the noise that erupted outside in the evening, and continued all night long while we were trying to sleep.
We had a little trouble driving to the hotel as the streets around it are narrow and we weren't sure if they were one way streets or for walking only, however, once we arrived we found we could park our car in an underground parking area. The hotel is conveniently located and we could walk to all the major attractions in Karlsruhe. The staff were very friendly and always helpful. We had a three person room so it was nice and spacious. Across the street from the hotel was a nice sized Bio Store. This was great for us vegetarians as we were able to buy delicious healthy food. All throughout the day, it was quiet and we felt very comfortable. We would have been very happy at this hotel except for one thing. About the time we were ready for bed the neighborhood seemed to wake up! Then there were people laughing and talking loudly, music playing; and this went on all night long in the pubs close by. The hotel staff did supply foam ear plugs so guests could deaden the noise somewhat.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Göttingen

Schön zentral und von 3 Diskotheken umzingelt.

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Das Frühstück war i.O..
Cons: Alle Fenster im Hotel brauchen einen vernünftigen Schallschutz.
Location: zentral. Man kann überall zufuß hin.
Alle Zimmer zur Blumenstr sind zu den Diskotheken gerichtet: Gebrülle, Gekreische sehr laute Bumsmusik erschüttern die Fenster und den Körper. Für Freitag bis Sonntag dieses Hotel unbedingt meiden oder nur Zimmer zur Bürgerstr akzeptieren. Da ist die Bumsmusik deutlich leiser. Ab Montag war es dann ruhiger.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

繁華街に近い交通の便利が良いホテル

Posted Sep 12, 2016
9月に宿泊しました. 部屋は清潔で,従業員もフレンドリーで快適です. 繁華街にも近いので,買い物にも便利です. しかし,部屋に冷房がないのと,冷蔵庫がないので, 夏は少し不便かもしれません.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from München, Bayern

zentral gelegen

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: die gute Lage
Cons: eine automatische Lüftung im Bad und ein Bett, das den Namen verdient!
Location: In der Fußgängerzone neben einem Bio-Markt. Zu Fuß kann man zahlreiche Geschäfte, Restaurants, Bars Sehenswürdigkeiten und Straßenbahnen erreichen.
Das Hotelgebäude ist gerade einmal 25 Jahre alt und liegt sehr zentral. Das Zimmer war großzügig geschnitten und lud mit einer Couch zum gemütlichen Sitzen zusätzlich zum Stuhl. Das Badezimmer war klein, aber ordentlich. Durch die großen Fenster war das Zimmer hell und einladend. Ohropax gehören zur Grundausstattung, was definitiv nötig ist, wenn man bei offenem Fenster schlafen möchte. Bei geschlossenen Fenstern war Lärm jedoch kein Problem. Auch innerhalb des Hotels war alles so gedämpft, dass man nicht belästigt war. Der einzige wirklich große Nachteil war das Bett, das bestenfalls einer Jugendherberge entsprechen würde - eine 10cm-Matratze auf einem BRETT!!! Von einem 3-Sterne-Hotel könnte man doch einen Lattenrost erwarten?!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Das Hotel diente dem Aufenthalt meiner Großmutter, die mich in Karlsruhe besuchte. Sie war überaus glücklich mit dem Hotel, dem Service und insbesondere mit dem Einzelzimmer, was groß und schön eingerichtet war.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wenn man nicht schlafen möchte, ist alles prima.

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Sehr freundliches Personal und ein sehr liebevoll hergerichtetes Frühstücksbuffet, auch wenn der Frühstücksraum selbst etwas steril war.
Location: Wenn man das Karlsruher Nachtleben kennenlernen möchte, ist das Hotel vermutlich die ideale Ausgangsbasis.
Unser Zimmer befand sich direkt über einer stark frequentierten Kneipengasse, in der sich bis weit in die Nacht hinein viele Menschen auf der Straße getroffen, gestanden und unterhalten haben. Nachdem unser erster Eindruck vom Hotel bei der Ankunft sehr positiv war, waren wir entsprechend vom Lärmpegel in unserem Zimmer sehr enttäuscht.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in zentraler Lage

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: Sehr freundliches Personal und gutes Frühstücksbüfett.
Wenn man das Glück hat ein Zimmer hintenraus zu erwischen, sehr gut. Vom Trubel aus der Einkaufsstraße, den nebenan befindlichen Spielsalons und der Beleuchtung ist dann nicht viel zu merken und einem schönen Aufenthalt steht nichts mehr im Weg.